We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the most exciting New Year's Eve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Bar & Grill

Joe's Bar & Grill
131 Wailea Ike Pl, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
(808) 875-7767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe's Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 41 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Wailea Ike Drive
Description: Located above the Wailea Tennis Center, Joes has panoramic ocean views on one side and vistas of Haleakala on the other. Internationally acclaimed Chef Bev Gannon masterminds the menu, while husband Joe Gannon is credited with the theatrical lighting and inspiration of this popular dining spot. Wonderful comfort food, with a gourmet streak such as slow roasted prime rib, with mashed potatoes, our BBQ ribs, and Joes favorite meatloaf. Fresh local fish is also offered nightly including appetizers such as the ahi carpaccio and calamari. Don't forget about the "World famous crab dip"! The Seafood Pot Pie with fresh fish, shrimp and scallops is another favorite. Children are welcome, offering a fun kids menu and special drinks like the green gecko. One of Wailea's best Mai Tai's, crazy martinis, and and exceptional wine list from well known producers as well as smaller boutique wineries.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not the most exciting New Year's Eve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Loved the atmosphere (until a very loud and distracting family were seated beside us) Loved the decor, the menu and feel but honestly the food was almost a unanimous "miss" for all 5 of us. We felt a little rushed too - maybe 8:30pm was a bit too late for sleepy Wailea, but it was New Year's Eve after all and we did have a reservation for that time. To our server's credit, he did ask if my dinner was ok, after he noticed that i barely ate any of my seafood stew - which was thick and sweet & not very good. Not that anything was terrible, it just wasn't good and seemed a bit formulaic rather then cared for. Would not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    107
    58
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go for the meatloaf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went to Joe's one night while staying at the Grand Wailea on Maui. It was just around the corner and we were looking for someplace quiet and different. I had read online that they had good meatloaf so I was intrigued. My wife can eat fish anywhere and I saw they had several options. We called ahead for reservations on a Monday night but did not need them. The place was slow and quiet which was exactly what we were looking for that night. The waiter was friendly and did recommend the meatloaf which was one of the house specialties. He also said the mahi was his favorite fish dish. We took his recommendations and we were very happy we did. The meatloaf was BBQ covered and was full of sweet and tangy flavor. The portion was huge so I would probably skip the salad the next time. My wife's mahi was delicious. It was crusted in pumpkin seeds which made it different than many others she had tried here on Maui. We recommend. Joe's for couples looking for a quiet dinner off the beaten path.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant and bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Loved the ambiance beautiful setting inside but open walls to the views. Darling location off the beaten track. Close to the The Fairmont and Grand Wailea. Great servers, incrediblly delicious desserts. Everything was spectacular at this restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“dinner at Joe's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Service was pretty good, had the ribs which were amazing and a massive portion, I finished it, but I shouldn't have...so much food....but sooo goood, it was pretty low key and casual but good food, a bit high priced, but hey, its Maui

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A great place, very good food, good value, nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is our third time here. It is a beautiful setting but only if you go early. The staff are very good and Joe always comes by and says hello. The portions are very big, excellent value and very good food. I had fish, mahi mahi, and it was excellent. So were dishes my family had as well. The wine list is very good and fairly priced. My son had a burger and it was terrific (not usually a fan). The other couple we were with also enjoyed their food, one had soup and fish the other I can't recall. Overall for the quality of the food, the value and the service, it is great value in Wailea, which tends to be very expensive. Also for new years, you can order off the menu, which is a big savings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.