We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great South Maui beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulua Beach

Ulua Beach
off Wailea Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Wailea
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best snorkeling spot in Wailea.
Houston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great South Maui beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice, small, shielded beach. Great for snorkeling and body surfing. Wind doesn't seem to effect as much as other beaches in South Maui.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    78
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great reef for snorkeling...both north and south entries. South entry great for beginners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Both north and south entries have good opportunities to see fish, turtles and great coral. South entry great for beginners.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This beach is a sandy spot looking west to Molokini. The water has an easy sandy entry, and shade can be had in several spots. The snorkeling area is well defined and has a good amount of coral where the fish and urchins are present. I could hear whales singing the entire time I was in the water, as long as I was quiet and not breathing too loudly.

There is good parking and the facilities include fresh water showers and bathrooms. When I was there the parking lot was full and there were plenty of people on the beach, but not overly crowded. Quite a few scuba divers were using this beach for shore dives on the day I was there, although I am not sure what they were doing since this did not appear to be a great place to dive. Perhaps they were learning how to dive and taking advantage of the easy access, the drop off area and the sandy bottom.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Good for beginner snorkelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

On our second Maui trip, did not want to miss Ulua. There are 3 experienced snorkelers in our group and 2 non-experienced. By that I mean - deathly afraid of putting their heads in the water! Felt this was a great place to take them. Wonderful sandy beach, and if they did not want to snorkel could at least jump in and get their feet wet. One tried snorkeling; one made it about 1.5 minutes and laid in the sun. Again, great place for both camps. We had a honu come right up to us! (The profile pic.) I have had this happen at Ulua before, but it is always a thrill. I find it is easiest to spot them if you look at the water line from time to time rather than just looking down. Parking was not a problem. We arrived about 9:30. I am sure it is more difficult if you arrive later. Better to get there early any way, the winds/current pick up there in the afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sure bet for a turtle sighting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This beach is a little jewel right in front of the Wailea Elua Condos. The water is usually pretty calm and easy to wade into. A reef is adjacent to the beach and provides excellent snorkeling opportunities; we see turtles at least half the time. There all also lots of fish, eels and some corals. Last time I was in the water there I saw a frogfish!
There are bathroom facilities and lots of parking on the way down to the beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulua Beach also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Ulua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulua Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.