We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keawakapu Beach

Keawakapu Beach
Wailea, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 attractions in Wailea
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Pasco, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My in-laws have a condo on this beach, and it's the best! The beach is long, mile plus walks in the morning to start your day off. It's long and flat with turtles crusing along if you keep your eyes open for them. Whales during the winter as well. Easy access for people who are visiting just the beach. Check it out if your in the Kihei area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Right outside our door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This beach was right outside our condo complex door. The beach has really good snorkeling on the north point. The waves were not too big for our family. It was never too crowded, even when it was busy. Very diverse, lots of couples and families.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great walking beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This beach is great for walking! It is flatter than most, so it is easy to stroll along. There is plentiful parking at both ends, but I recommend parking in the large lot at the north end, across the street from the beach access entrance. Parking at the south end is mostly taken up by local residents. There is a 'shower' available to clean off your feet when you exit. We have observed many weddings taking place on this beach. It IS public with great views!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite beach in Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

After our trip our friends agree, this was the best beach we visited in Maui. Beach is quite long so there is a lot of open space. We were able to get a parking space in the lot at the south end of South Kihei Road. Clear water and sand for enjoyable swimming.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach around Kihei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed this beach while we stayed in Kihei. It's exactly what we'd imagine a Maui beach to be. It was great for a sunset stroll (after pupus and drinks at 5 Palms), then a nice swimming beach a few days later. If you're a walker, this beach is long enough to keep your interest, and as you get to the south end, it connects up with the Wailea beach path that fronts all the hotels. There are multiple public parking areas. Starting from the North, you can park in the gravel lot by the Mauna Kai condos, or continue down the S. Kihei road (stay right at the fork) to the end and there's a nice parking lot with a shower. Or take the main road around to Wailea and take the Ulua Beach parking (watch for the yellow gates to your right, otherwise you'll miss it). This last one is technically Ulua beach, but it connects up to Keawakapu if you walk north. As mentioned by other reviewers, it can get pretty windy mid afternoon (as with most of Kihei). We prefer this beach since it much less crowded than Wailea (by far), and Big Beach.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keawakapu Beach also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Keawakapu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keawakapu Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Keawakapu Beach to your Saves list