We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise everyday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polo Beach

Polo Beach
Wailea, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$103*
and up
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Wailea
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
toronto
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Paradise everyday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Since we stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani, we visited Polo beach every day! Most visitors here were guests of the hotel, however, all beaches in Hawaii are public so anyone can visit.

We didn't care whether our loungers and umbrella were set up in the front rows or not because it was never really crowded (compared to Aruba). The waves were pretty gentle; just rough enough to go boogie boarding which was SUPER fun! It was my first time boogie boarding (you can rent a board from the hotel or buy one and then pass it on to another family) and I had an amazing time along with the kids. There was amazing snorkelling on the right side of the beach while you are facing the ocean. We saw giant sea turtles and lots of fish. On the beach, you can rent stand up paddle boats, kayaks and other water toys. I don't think they are affilliated with the hotel.

Since the hotel is right behind the beach, there was easy access to bathrooms, outdoor showers, and restaurants.

Listening to the ocean was very soothing...I wish I was still there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    35
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
plano, tx
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great spot with snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

great beach.not too large. good snorkeling. water was fairly calm most days. saw dolphins and whales right off the beach.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Polo Beach is in front of a hotel that I've never stayed in. However, I have often rented kayaks, paddle boards, etc there. We have rented lounge chairs and umbrellas and had lunch (too expensive!) in the hotel cafe. Lovely beach. One day while we were sitting on the beach we were given a slice of pineapple. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awful smell Good parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The sandy beach was nice and the waves where great for body surfing but we .couldn't sit on the .beach very long cuz of the bad smell. We moved on to another beach after a while.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Extra Soft Sand + Lawn Chairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Seems like a great beach for sunbathing as lawn chairs are free to use (umbrellas cost $10). The sand is soft and there are great views of whales on the horizon. Waves are not ideal for body surfing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polo Beach also viewed

 

Been to Polo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.