We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ho'olei at Grand Wailea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ho'olei at Grand Wailea to your Saves list
Ho'olei at Grand Wailea
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   146 Ho'olei Circle, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

What can I say that hasn't been said. This complex is incredible! There was nothing we found lacking in our 9 day stay. We traveled with our four children ages 19 to 21 over New Years. It was spacious, modern, comfortable, clean and a great location above the pool.Our unit was 81-5 rented from VRBO. We had top of the line appliances, (lots of wine glasses) and arrived to a spotless unit. The beds were so comfortable, we really were in paradise. Every morning my husband and I would enjoy a coffee on the lanai and then go for a walk and enjoy the beautiful scenery of Maui. We took a lot of day trips with the kids and hit a lot of different beaches! The gym is small but clean and had enough machines you don't have to wait. The pictures don't even do this place justice. We really enjoyed then kitchen, lanai living room set up. The pool area was fantastic and we enjoyed outstanding massages. Robin Williams was at our pool and staying at the complex too which was kind of cool! 9 days wasn't long enough we weren't ready to go home and we definitely plan on returning! As a side note I left a small jewellery bag there with Tiffany earrings, necklaces and two expensive watches and was quite distressed when I realized I had left it behind when I arrived home. Maui Rental Group Fed Ex-ed it to me here in Canada with everything intact. Very professional and reputable. We had an fabulous vacation and this unit was definitely the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our third Christmas at Ho'olei and we can't say enough great things. Staff went out of their way to help from everything from dinner reservations to child care. We did brunch at the Grand and it was worth every penny - each year the selection changes but is always top shelf. Recommend Spagos and Duo for tasty dining and great service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We love the condos at Ho'olei and the Grand Wailea Hotel, but we felt the selection of food and the quality has really gone downhill in the last year and the selections are not healthy choices at all. To begin, our amenity basket left in the condo was a very nice gesture, but filled with fatty and sugary snacks. A box of dark chocolate covered macs is nice, but it would also be nice to have some fresh pineapple, mango, etc. instead of chips, nuts, candy and other unhealthy items. The food at the hotel in the more casual restaurants and around the pool was not great. The choices were not very healthy and the food sometimes arrived soggy and inedible. The food offered the children at Camp Grande was - as my granddaughter described it - gross - fried and unhealthy. Not all kids eat unhealthy fried food and that's all that is offered them on these menus. With childhood obesity so bad, more parents are trying to teach their children to make healthy choices. Vacation is not a time to let go of those lessons and these poor kids got no healthy choices around the pool, pool restaurants or at the Camp. We were very disappointed. We did not care for the lunches we had to eat when we spent the day at the pool and for such high prices, the food selection and quality should have been better. So, if the Food and Beverage Manager - Craig Kahila - at the hotel would do some work on these menus and the quality of the food, we'd be much happier when we return next year. The neighboring hotels have much better restaurants also. Other than that, we loved the entire trip and every minute of it and the service and very nice people at the condos and hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was our third year in a row at Ho'olei, and I still can't think of a better place to go with my wife, three kids, and two parents. The 7 of us just love Ho'olei and the Grand Wailea. It really has something for everyone individually and plenty for everyone to share in. Highlights again included the luau at the Grand Wailea and multiple dinners at the Humuhumunukuapua'a restaurant, as well as many meals made in the condo, with food bought at the nice Whole Foods near the airport. The ocean beach with warm water and super-soft sand, the big pools and slides at the Grand Wailea, and the lovely pool right at Ho'olei were again all fantastic. Running with my dad in the early morning every day was again a personal highlight for me. And the kids loved riding the free golf-cart shuttles when they weren't up for walking up the hill back to the room after a busy day at the pool.

With the 7 of us, we've found that some condo layouts work better than others, and we were disappointed, perhaps from some confusion when we made the reservation over a half year in advance, that we were given one of the 2/5 rooms. The resort was very full, but they did manage to get us a better place after a few hours of working things, and their service was super nice in helping us move everything we had already unpacked. 63-1 worked out great for us, with a big inside table that all 7 of us could sit at. It has the extra bonus (unique for the property, I think) that the smaller downstairs bedroom had 2 bunk beds, sleeping 5, rather than a regular 2-person bed.

A few differences for us this trip:

- The unit didn't have boogey boards in a closet (as we've had in other times), and instead of purchasing for the week at the Grand Wailea, we rented from a shop in Kihei. That worked out well, with better quality boards.

- While we really like staying locally because of all the great amenities, we took one day trip to the Iao Needle and the other spots near it, like a cool park / garden with different areas recognizing each of the different cultures that make up Hawaii.

- We got hit by a tropical storm. Can't do much about that. We were super fortunate that with the way the wind was blowing, we were able to sit out in the lanai and watch the storm while cooking on the grill and tweeting/facebooking to our friends that we were in the middle of a storm. Other lanais got totally drenched. Overall, fortunate to have very little destruction on the property and across the island, but the runoff really made the water crappy - bits of landscaping beauty bark and all kinds of other junk getting washed into the ocean. We didn't go into the ocean much the rest of the trip, focusing on the pools instead.

- Speaking of the runoff, as all locals will tell you, all those smells that get into the water attract sharks. You just don't go in after a storm. Well, lots of folks are there exactly to go in, spending a lot of $ and time to be there. As a result, you get shark attacks. There was one just 1 beach away from the beach the Grand Wailea is on. The beaches were all shut down for a day once that happened. Another reason we didn't spend time in the water later in the week.

- On past trips, we've always purchased the multi-day rental card at the beach gear rental spot at the Grand Wailea. We love the sit-on-top kayaks, the stand-up paddleboards, and snorkeling right there. Unfortunately, a combination of windy days early in the week and then the shark attack shutting things down meant we never did those things. Unfortunate, but we still had a lot of fun doing other things.

- On our final full day, I got up early and took a surf lesson up in Kihei. While the beach there wasn't good for hanging out (all rocks, no sand), it was just a fantastic area to learn to surf and for beginners to practice: really smooth, even breaks with a really long course, meaning you can catch nice, long surfs. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, getting a place higher up the hill gives you a better view and less road-noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Yes, it's expensive; Yes, it's got late check ins; and yes it's not in Lahaina. But, it is directly on the water with fantastic views of the neighboring Islands, mountains, the north shore and lush landscaping. It has some of the greatest hotel staff people we've ever encountered whose only goals seem to be solely to make sure your wants are net or exceeded. Their two signature restaurants offer great food, service and atmosphere.

Get bored of eating in or being spoiled, take a walk up or down the beach path to several other resort hotels and their fine restaurants and bars.

Want to exercise? So much to do, so little time. The pools are awesome, paddle board, snorkel, kyack, take a stroll, scuba dive - all available on property.

The rooms are open, spacious and very comfortable. Don't worry about the bed - even though it's so comfortable, this is Maui, you'll not want to waste time inside.

Best of all, after all that's available, it has the best dessert ever at Alan Wong's Amasia. Try their Maui Gold Pineapple Shaved Ice or their "The Coconut" and you will be back for more every night.

Just wish it were not so expensive to get there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

From the moment we got there we were welcomed and greeted with leis and the true aloha spirit. The staff was excellent and very welcoming. Chellsie gave us a tour of the facilities and the immaculate condo we were staying in. The staff has made our trip a memorable experience. I would definitely come back again. At times I didn't want to leave the condo with all the luxurious amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ho'olei resort in Wailea and were blown away with the stunning view, immaculate architecture, and outstanding service. The staff were all extremely accommodating and friendly. They even called for a shuttle to take us between the two properties so we didn't have to walk. I highly recommend staying at the Ho'olei if you are planning a trip to Maui. Truly the most amazing vacation I have ever taken! Much mahalo to Chellsie and the rest of the staff at the Ho'olei who took care of us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ho'olei at Grand Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'olei at Grand Wailea

Address: 146 Ho'olei Circle, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ho'olei at Grand Wailea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the outstanding amenities of Maui's most celebrated oceanfront resort with the charm of tropical residences, Ho'olei at Grand Wailea is located adjacent to the world-class Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort on Maui's southern shore. Each of our two-story villas is a private world of luxury – boasting finely appointed interiors, modern kitchens, private elevators, attached garages, and exclusive services. Bask in glorious western ocean views or the picturesque beauty of the Wailea Blue Golf Course, which surrounds our accommodations on three sides. Soak up the sunshine on pristine Hawaiian beaches or enjoy countless water sports - from scuba diving to whale watching. Enjoy privileged access to championship golf and the luxurious spa at the nearby Grand Wailea. Ideal for extended stays, family reunions, or weddings, our vacation villas offer comfortable luxury in a lush mesmerizing setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ho'olei at Grand Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Olei At Grand Wailea Hotel Wailea
Ho'Olei At Grand Wailea Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho'olei at Grand Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.