We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday nights = stolen stuff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Little Beach

Little Beach
Wailea Alanui Rd., Makena State Park, Wailea, Maui, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 attractions in Wailea
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Sunday nights = stolen stuff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We decided to go to Little Beach for the Sunday night sunset and fire dancing. The beach itself is quite pretty. As other posters mentioned, it is a nude beach, but as long as you're prepared for that, it's fine.

We didn't have a great experience, though, as some people in our group had our stuff stolen right off our blankets the second we walked away - including two iPhones, clothing, purses, etc. So, don't leave ANYTHING behind to go watch the fire dancing, no matter how close you are to the action - it took them no time at all to get our stuff, and they were clearly pros at it (they had our iphones turned off the second they took them so we couldn't use find my iphone or anything). So, a word of warning - if you go to attend this event, make sure you keep your stuff with you at ALL times, no matter how close you might think you are to it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    39
    18
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sunday nights are like a scene from the movie "The Beach"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On our recent trip to Maui, we were lucky to meet a local couple the best local travel advice. Little Beach is known as a nudist beach but on Sunday late afternoons, the locals reunite to play the drums and perform some pretty neat firedancing. Don't waste your time on the overly touristy luaus, little beach is better than that. It's a place where anything goes so take that into consideration if you are traveling with kids.

Little beach is located in the Makena State Park. The park entrance is the same for Big Beach and you will be required to climb a rock to get access to Little Beach. If you plan on checking out this place, I also recommend bringing a flash light, a couple of beach chairs, and a cooler with your favorite beverages. We just chilled out by the beach and enjoyed the show.

Overall one of the best kept local secrets of Makena.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sunday at sunset is quite a scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Yup, clothing is definitely optional. Setting that aside for a moment, Little Beach is indeed fairly small, but it is a very attractive Maui beach with nice sand and water. There's even some cover in spots under trees by the cliff. The day we were there, though, the surf was pretty rough with somewhat heavy late-breaking waves. No idea of that's typical, though. Was a good spot for bodyboarding.

As for the other stuff, Sunday evening is definitely a trip. There's a ton of people, and of all types--nudists, hippies, locals, tourists, looky-loos, creepers, families, burnouts, squares, beach bums, etc. The rhythms coming from the drum circle are pretty awesome. And things really get going at sunset, with fire breathers and dancers igniting the twilight sky. It is one heck of a party, and probably not something many people get to experience many other places in the States.

If you do go, I recommend bringing a flashlight, because the hike over the rocks back to Big Beach and the cars, while relatively short and easy, would be a bit of a nightmare in the dark. Also, the parking lot can be pretty packed, so you might want to get there earlier in the afternoon, hang out at Big Beach, and then head over to Little Beach as the sun gets closer to setting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little Beach is clothing optional NOT Big Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I just saw a review about Little Beach from Retrosurfer1959 - I think it was a simple type-o but they mentioned that Big Beach is clothing optional - not the case - it is Little Beach that has the "relaxed" dress code. Big Beach is actually Makena State Park and is a wonderfully large beach with life guards, out house and great sunsets. Little Beach is next door and you much travel over the top of a rocky path. If you're going to LB - check out the drum line and fire dancing on Sunday nights.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhnaks
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Clean, peaceful, and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Big Beach (it really is big) and Little Beach are Maui's best kept secret. It's well worth the drive if you happen to be in Maui. We chose Little Beach as we wanted to go for all-around tan. This necessitated a small hike over the volcanic rock cliff. Nothing most people can't do but we would strongly suggest wearing sandals over flip-flops and definitely not bare feet due to the sharp rocks. We were there during the shoulder season last October so it was not crowded. The sand was soft, deep and clean. You must take caution if you venture into the water due to the strong waves and currents. Parking can be a problem due to the limited spaces in the parking lot, so get there early.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Beach also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Little Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Little Beach to your Saves list