We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spot in Wailea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Elua Village

Save Saved
You added Wailea Elua Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wailea Elua Village
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3600 Wailea Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Maui Condos From $206
Calgary, AB
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Spot in Wailea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just returned from 6 nights at the Elua Village. This is our second visit to this spot and we love it. We rented unit 1703 which had been recently renovated. The kitchen and bathrooms are all redone. The location is fantastic, beachfront but set far enough back from the walking path you have privacy. There were five of us, three adults and two children and the unit size was perfect. We spent much of the holiday out on the large lanai which had several seating areas. We didn't feel as though we were on top of each other. Also have a ground unit we were able to easily walk down to the beach. There is construction going on at the resort next door but we didn't hear any noise at all. If you are looking for what we think is the best spot in Wailea this is it!

Room Tip: Units closer to the main road at the top of the resort are up quite a steep hill which doesn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Elua Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Aloha.....I am glad to hear that you had another memorable stay at Wailea Elua Village. You are so right in calling it the "Best Spot in Wailea". You have beautiful beaches, shopping opportunities, and many exceptional dining options to choose from, all within walking distance of your condo.

Mahalo
Matt Smith
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    22
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
46
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a perfect place to take in all that is great about Wailea. Gorgeous condos are tastefully arranged on a gentle hillside right in front of one of the best beachs in Maui (voted THE best recently by Conde Nast). It's a private beach so it is never crowded and you can walk right out to two killer reefs for snorkeling. The place also has two pools, the main one has an open air gym, party area with full bar and multiple BBQs. Super friendly staff and good security. We rented an ocean view unit (1402) with great furniture, a modern chef's kitchen (a must for me) and in-unit washer/dryer. Most of the time the complex was quiet but especially at nigh. Nothing but the relaxing sounds of the ocean. The beachfront boardwalk runs right in front of this complex meaning you are steps away from two luaus, six beaches and four great snorkel points.
After you have done the high rise resort thang a few times in Maui, settle down to this more relaxed was to vacation.
Hit the farmer's market in Kihei, to get fresh fruit and veggies and make your own memorable meals.
We'll definitely be back next year.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were lucky enough to take the place of friends who usually stay at this condo. What a great place. People we met were friendly from the regulars to the grounds keepers. The three pools were clean and quiet. The beach the village enters to is one of the best and the snorkeling here is great and boggie boarding to decent size waves especially in the afternoon. Views of the whales and sunsets fantastic. The condo we stayed in was up near the road so the traffic noise could be heard. In the am the sounds of the birds and the irrigation woke us up, but we thought this was OK. We wanted a place where we could cook our own meals, the kitchen was fully stocked and a BBQ on the patio. Groceries easily procured from the grocery stores in Kehei. The We walked all around Wailea from here, exploring the nearby mall and the ocean walkways by all the big hotels. We were able to rent SUP from the nearby hotel at reasonable prices. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Elua Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Aloha.... Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Wailea Elua Village. Located on Ulua Beach in the heart of Wailea makes it an ideal spot to enjoy a Maui vacation. You might also be interested to know that the first humpback whale was sighted off the Big Island last week. This is earlier than normal so we are looking forward to a very active humpback whale season.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Elua Village in Wailea March of 2012. We're just booking, for March 2013, so I reminded me that I hadn't written a review for this property! It was our 9th trip to Maui, but our 1st stay at the Elua.
The Good:
Excellent, I repeat EXCELLENT location! Walk through the property, to the beach, about 5 mins from any point.
Beautiful grounds! Each cluster of condos are really quite far apart, giving a very spacious feeling. Also, the mature plumeria trees, bird's of paradise, etc are breath-taking! The grounds are meticulously maintained. Just beautiful!
Ulua Beach- IS THE BEST! one of the most calm sections of water, with great snorkeling, but the waves can pick up nicely in the afternoons, so great boogie boarding, or just playilng in the waves! I'm not super brave in the water, and this is my favourite beach for playing! There are other beaches, that should really be seen on the island, but this one is super family friendly and has everything to offer! Also… a public bathroom (not a port a potty!), is just genius!
The long beach front path that takes you everywhere in Wailea, starts right out in front of this complex! So if you want to walk/jog for exercise, or zip down to starbucks without the car, or just take a stroll right at the ocean's edge, this is simply great!
You can also walk over to the Shops at Wailea (mall) in about 10 mins. This is super handy, not to have to get in the car, everytime you want to go somewhere.
THE SUNSETS. Oh my gosh. From our lanai, we had an unobstructed view of the sunset! We were in UNIT 2009, which I highly recommend! The renovation is lovely, the decor is very nice, and the patio furniture is way above average!
THE NOT SO GOOD
Unit 2009 is near the back of the complex, so a bit of a walk to the beach, compared to the units down front. (but with the layout of the buildings, still a beautiful view!)
A little noisy. This being said, MOST of the condo buildings that we've stayed at in Maui, are a little noisy! There's many louvered windows, that let noise in. The birds start singing VERY early! Also, the building is not new, and sound-proofing was not that great back when these were built. We had people above us, that let their little one's thunder around starting about 5:30 am every morning. We should have talked to them about it, or called the management company, but well… we were in Maui, so it's hard to be too grouchy!
AND, to repeat myself, we haven't found one single condo unit that doesn't have noise issues. Maybe some of the very new ones are much better? But I would hope so, based on the prices of the new complexes!
And well, really… that's about it for negatives comments!
I wish we could have rented this unit again for 2013, but we need a 3 bedroom this time.
The Elua Village has just an amazing location! Close to everything!

Room Tip: Currently there is a boutique hotel being built right next door to the grounds. You would want to in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Elua Village, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Aloha...Thank you so much for your review of Walea Elua Village. It is the perfect location for a family vacation and you are so right about Ulua Beach. Plus, if you add Mokapu Beach and Keawakapu Beach, both within walking distance to the right, you have close to a mile of white sand to enjoy. I would also like to thank you for your insight and honest opinion in regards to the noise often associated with vacationing in a condominium.

Mahalo nui loa..
Matt Smith
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was an interesting experience due to the construction project on the next property. We stayed here 2 years ago in #1510; a bit dated, but very comfortable, and we loved the location of that unit and the Elua property. This time we were farther up the hill in #307, which is a beautiful unit with a gorgeous, large lanai. Unfortunately, you could not consistently enjoy the lanai because the construction noise next door would drive you back inside or away from the area entirely. There was blasting one day, water off another day, and jack hammers too many days. We liked the unit, and being up on the hill was not the problem we thought it might be: gave us exercise going back and forth to the beach/pool; the street noise was somewhat noticeable when outside, but barely so when inside. Being ground floor, people were occasionally on the path close to the windows, and they only have very sheer coverings for some reason (no sleeping late and minimal privacy). They have an outdoor sunshade that can be partially lowered over the main living area window, but it was still quite bright, and not pleasant if anyone has to sleep on the sofa bed (the bed itself was comfortable). Why not just put up some real window coverings, which would also help with cooling costs?
We were lucky that no one was in the unit above us, so no noise there. However, the neighboring construction project is just not something you want to deal with on your expensive and hopefully restful, relaxing vacation. We love Elua Village: the grounds are exquisite and meticulously cared for...the beach area is lovely and has nice snorkeling at either end, it's right on the Wailea path convenient to the shopping village, restaurants, hotels, and you can catch parts of the luau shows in the evening from the path. BUT, is the high density, massive project next door going to destroy the tranquility of low density Elua Village and charming Ulua Beach? We hope not, but fear it might, which is a shame, because it was our favorite place to stay on Maui. We will be checking the reviews carefully before staying here again. If you are looking to stay at Elua Village, this is a nice unit, but closer to the construction side of the property. Be sure to ask the wonderful Ali'i staff about the construction before you reserve; maybe the heavy outside work will be done. If not, try for a unit on the other side of the property until things settle down. PS: the Ali'i staff is just fabulous and very responsive to all of your concerns and needs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We rented this condo thru Alli'i Resorts and were so please with the unit. It was the bottom unit but was elevated because the garage was beneath so there are stairs. It has a great view of the ocean albeit, a farther back one. The condo has been not just updated but remodeled, i.e. granite throughout, stainless steel kitchen with every amennity including but not limited to a spice rack! It even had a meat thermo to check our BBQ on the back patio. 60" flat screen in LR and 40" ones in the bedrooms.The master bed was a top of the line foam mattress with white goose down pillows. There was a lighted make up mirror and scales in the bathroom. There was even an ice chest along with 4 beach chairs available to us. About a 5 min. walk to beach.
Enough can't be said about the owners. They thought of everything a vacation traveler could need and they obviously took pride in providing a perfect place to spend our 10 days in Maui.
My only caution is the condo backs up to Wailea-Alanui Dr., a 4 lane road. Although not terrible, you do notice it. The resort seems to be in the process of erecting a soundproofing wall along the back. I am sure it can only be benefical to reducing the noise in the future. I would, without hesitation, stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Our family of 4 rented Wailea Elua 1502 from Destination Resorts Hawaii for 10 days in March 2012. This unit is about 1/2 way between the beach and the road, and as a result is a short 2 minute flat walk to the beach, and is right next to the 'small pool' and hot tub. Nice ocean view from the Lanai, but units in the front of the Elua property (around a block away) block a direct view of the beach. Strategically placed plants on the Lanai make it very private from adjacent Lanais, but like all the units in Wailea Elua, sound travels easily to and from the other nearby units, especially when windows were open. Luckily our neighbours were mostly quiet (I hope they say the same about us!) Amazing landscaping. Maids did a great job at cleaning the place and staying out of our way.

The unit was similar to the photos on the Destination Resorts and VRBO web sites, but we were disappointed in its poor state of repair. Our expectations were high due to the high price of the unit ($595.00 per night with AAA discount) and since it was being rented by a professional property management firm.

The unit came with access to a locker with lots of great beach stuff (chairs, umbrellas beach mats) as well as golf clubs !

Problems included:

Master Bedroom desk with no chair
Master Bedroom, TV in a wardrobe, but wardrobe doors prevented viewing TV from the left hand side of the bed
Master Bedroom, knob missing from closet door
Master Bedroom, part of wodden slat window system broken, some slats could not be opened
Master Bathroom, paint chipping off of vanity handles
Master Bathroom, tub faucet missing trim
Master Bathroom, hair drier broken (GFCI plug made a buzzing sound, and drier didn't work)
Master Bedroom, finish on side table tops worn.
Kitchen, paint chipping off of handles
Kitchen, Microwave broken (turntable didn't turn, make loud buzzing noise)
Kitchen, paint chipping off of ceramic sink (not sure who would paint a sink!)
High def TV's, but no high def boxes or service
Both tables on Lanai had cracked class tops


In general the unit is in need of major renovation of the bathrooms and the kitchen, plus a lot of small things fixed. But the place is not a complete disaster. The main living area furniture was in good shape, and the carpet was high quality and looked recently replaced.

We did bring a couple of issues to Destination Resorts attention during our stay - a shower head hose failed, which they replaced immediately - and we appreciated the fast service, and the problem with the microwave (which the service guy said they would look into replacing, but it wasn't replaced during our stay).

We would stay in Elua Village again, but not in this unit. We have learned that a professional property management firm like Destination Resorts does not guarantee value. Just to reiterate, the unit was not completely unacceptable (we continued to stay there after all, and only reported a few minor things to the property management firm), but we just found it to be a poor value for the price. If the kitchen and baths were in better shape, then it would have been a different story.

One other item of interest to anyone renting a unit in Wailea Elua that has northern exposure (as this one did) before spring of 2013- there is a major construction project going on the adjacent property - (Used to be a Renaisance hotel, sign says will be completed as an Andaz resort in spring 2013). There was loud jackhammering noises Monday through Friday 8 till 5. I didn't find the noise that bad, but my wife did not enjoy. Our unit was a few hundred yards from the construction. North facing units or units on the north side of Wailea Elua might find the noise worse.

We loved Wailea and the beach walk along the shoreline, and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Units in the back of the propery would be quite a hike to the beach, and might have some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Relations Manager at Wailea Elua Village, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Aloha Younger64,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and the things you enjoyed about your visit, but I apologize for those items where we did not meet expectations and for not replacing the microwave or addressing certain issues that could have easily been fixed. Each of our condos are individually owned and we will be proposing improvements to the owner of 1502 so that future guests will not be similarly disappointed.

The property adjacent to us is undergoing renovation and it appears that the noise you experienced during your visit has considerably calmed down. Although it is not a project located on our resort, we have notified all incoming guests so that they will not be surprised.

Mahalo for your comments because it does help us to continue to improve the facilities and service that we offer.

Sincerely,
Matt Smith
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wailea Elua Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Elua Village

Address: 3600 Wailea Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wailea Elua Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Ulua Beach, this private Wailea condo resort spans 24 acres of manicured lawns and gardens. Catering to an adult crowd where peace and relaxation are primary, there is easy access to the Shops at Wailea as well as the Wailea Beach Walk - a 1/2 mile path that wanders Maui's coastline through stunning sandy beaches, Hawaiian cultural sites and gardens, and the luxury seaside homes and resorts of Wailea. Outstanding amenities include two swimming pools, a whirlpool spa, paddle tennis court, putting green and BBQ facilities. Beautifully appointed 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom condos feature a separate living/dining area, fully equipped kitchen, private lanai or patio with barbecue grill and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Wailea Elua Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Elua Village Hotel Wailea
Wailea Elua Village Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Elua Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.