We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, even better Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Fishmarket Maui

Nick's Fishmarket Maui
4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Fairmont Kea Lani Resort, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808 879 7224
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick's Fishmarket Maui is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 43 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kaukahi Street in the Fairmont Kea Lani
Dewey, Arizona
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Great Food, even better Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We tried to get into KO's but it was booked. We tried here and it was booked. Must be a great place I thought. We sat at the bar and ordered dinner. I had 2 lobster tacos for $5 each. That is a deal in Hawaii. They were fantastic. My wife had some terriaki chicken sticks and they were great as well. The best part was the bar-tenders. We ordered a couple of drinks with our meals. The bar-tender was very nice and talkative. When he made to much in a blender, he would pour the left-overs in a small glass and give it to us. He defineltly got a great tip. Great food, great hospitality.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    144
    93
    43
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vassalboro, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Sinewy Ahi" and terrible reaction from servers?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were hoping this was "fine dining." Anything but. Our tuna couldn't be cut cleanly with a steak knife. It was advertised as "sashimi grade." My wife's portion was especially disappointing. I know that tuna sometimes has a strand or two of "sinew" in it. But when I pointed out the poor quality to the server he blew me off saying with condescension in his voice that tuna, of course, comes with sinew in it. NOT AT $42.00 A SERVING AND CAN'T BE CUT WITH A KNIFE. No attempt to get some comment/apology from the maitre d' and no extra attention to us. We couldn't wait to leave without dessert. Won't ever go back given the choices on Maui.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best dinner of trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a great dinner at Nick's Fishmarket. Service was fantastic! Very attentive without being overbearing. Husband had the rack of lamb and I had the Hawaiian Opah with the thai curry sauce and both were prepared perfectly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious meal; confusing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My partner at I dined here the evening of our first night staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani. We opted for Nick's because it seemed to have more variety and a more casual atmosphere, as compared to Ko. We booked through the hotel's concierge.

The menu had lots of options; my partner and I split the caesar salad to start, I had the salmon as my entree, and my partner had the Filet Mignon. The food was excellent, we both loved our dishes. The hint of balsamic in the caesar dressing was amazing!

What confused us about the service (see review's title) was the number of staff that attended to us. There was literally a different person every time someone came to our table - we had no idea who our actual server was! Not exaggerating at all, separate person for: giving us water, asking us our drink order, bringing the drinks, bringing bread, asking if we wanted menus, bringing menus, asking us if we wanted a second round of drinks, bringing our mains... it was odd!

My partner and I would definitely return to Nick's, as the food was outstanding!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location and management/service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very well managed restaurant with excellent food and service. The setting is very romantic and the location is great. We eat here twice on each trip. Expensive but reasonable for the quality and service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Fishmarket Maui also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Fishmarket Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Fishmarket Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.