We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Powder Sand Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oneloa Beach

Oneloa Beach
South Makena, Wailea, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Attractions in Wailea
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Powder Sand Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Also known as Big Beach, the drive from South Kihei takes you through some swanky resorts in Makena then through some forests. Found two parking entrances both with lifeguard stations and portable toilets, The sand is power fine which is nice to walk and lay on but does have a habit of getting into everything. I would not recommend this beach for kids as the waves crash in very close to shore and the riptide from these could be hard for kids to handle. Trees line the back of the beach so you can find shade in the morning hours but bring a beach umbrella for shade in the afternoon. Bring your own water and food if you plan on spending the day as there are only a couple of food vendors in vehicles.
If time allows continue on the road south to Cape Hanamanioa, the drive is beautiful across a lava field and to some old Hawaiian ruins. also a short walk past the end of the road has some blowholes and nice coast line.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We love this beach because it has a long stretch of white sand and is usually not too busy. Also, our teenage boys like that it has some waves.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Worth The Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Although quite a distance from our hotel, it was worth the visit on a recommendation from our parking valet. Beautiful beach with parking, life guards, portable toilets and no charge.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very windy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We arrived here at BIg Beach late in the afternoon and weren't impressed. The beach is long and sandy and was very windy. They just put up a dangerous surf warning when we arrived and there was no real shade - just a vast expanse of sand - so we left. The drive there goes through some rather unattractive landscape; I'd say there are many better choices for beaches on Maui.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent boogieboard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Go there to ride the boogieboard or just watch young - kids - surferdudes risk their life ... Excellent sand but not kid friendly in the south end

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oneloa Beach also viewed

 

Been to Oneloa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oneloa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.