We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Pizza” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Manoli's Pizza Company

Manoli's Pizza Company
100 Wailea Ike Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-874-7499
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Manoli's Pizza Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 43 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wailea Alanui
Transit: Yes, there is a bus stop about 200 feet form the restaurant
Description: Manoli's Pizza Company was created with family in mind. My father, Manoli Placourakis, was born in 1925 and raised on the largest of all the Greek Islands, Crete...where the weather and water are beautiful year- round, where seafood, vegetables, and fruit are plentiful and where the bread, cheese and wine are all handcrafted, the old fashioned way. Rhonda and I are raising our son, named after my father and born on Maui in 2004, on a beautiful island with similar qualities to my father's birthplace. This leads us to Manoli's Pizza Company. Our fare here at Manoli's is centered on fresh, organic, and sustainable products whenever possible in crafting all of our pizzas, salads, and even when choosing the wines on our list. Manoli's is where healthful, flavorful foods and beverages come together in a place where friends and family meet. As 'big Manoli' used to say, "Treat your friends like family and your family like friends".​ Mahalo Aaron Placourakis
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Terrible Pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Burnt, tasteless and poor service. IF you get delivery you DO get a charge, even if the hostess tells you otherwise. Our pizza was burnt, period.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    92
    55
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The bum's rush?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First time we ordered a margarita pizza to go. It was really good and at $16 bucks not a bad deal. Tonight we decided to eat in the restaurant. 6 pm and lots if room to spare. No lineups, no problem. While we appreciate that a restaurant wants to do high customer turnover, I've never been served so fast in my life. Drinks ordered and whammo, they are there. We've barely had time to look at the menu and the waiter wants to take our order. "Give us a minute" we said and that's all we got before he was back to take our order. Ok, so we ordered and the salads were on the table within 3 minutes. No lingering over our cocktails. Lets get busy! We had not finished our salads before the main course was on the table. We commented to ourselves that this was faster than a fast food restaurant . We really didn't get a chance to enjoy or savour our dinner. The table next to us managed to move their family of four in and out the door in no time at all. Hey, if they customers are lined up to get in, the quick turnover is appreciated. If the restaurant is almost empty, what's the rush. I don't blame our waiter. He's just doing what he's told. In fairness, the salads were yummy and by Maui standards generous. The chicken piccata looked a little pale and lost in a beige sauce. My bolognese sauce was average at best. The pizzas are good though with a nice thin crust. But fellas, give us a chance to enjoy the beautiful view and relax a bit. After all,we are supposed to be on Maui time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great casual place for pizza and salads. Pizza is good but the salads are big, fantastic and very reasonably priced. Also great for kids if they like cheese pizza but they also have pasta and non Italian selections if they don't. The pizza crust is very thin and crispy. The service was excellent and friendly. Highly recommend this if you are traveling with kids and need a break from Maui high prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Nice Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

During Restaurant Week in Wailea, Maui, HI we went to Manoli's and enjoyed a meal and enjoyed the ambience of the restaurant. The Greek salad was nice and as was the shrimp the shrimp scampi. I was told that the lasagna was delicious, but it was very unfortunate that one of the two lasagnas ordered for our table was "lost." Since our table's host was the poor guy who had to wait for his entree to show up, I don't think his rating for the evening would have been uneffected. But overall, we enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere, and would definitely go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Nice open air seating, average pizza, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Family of five ate dinner here. We sat outside on a beautiful Maui night. The waiter was friendly but not so attentive. He did save us a few bucks by writing up the order for the kids a certain way, so that was appreciated. Water glasses were not promptly refilled and the pizza was average, at best. There was no visible sauce, the pineapple was canned and it didn't come out all that hot. The waiter recommended the Plack's salad, which was delicious. The kids ate pasta and meatballs.

There are better places to eat, but a family with kids can do ok here. We probably won't return on our next trip to Maui, though. I think it was around $60 total.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manoli's Pizza Company also viewed

 

Been to Manoli's Pizza Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoli's Pizza Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.