We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rent from Destination Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polo Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Polo Beach Club to your Saves list
Polo Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4400 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Maui Condos from $395
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sugar Land, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rent from Destination Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an excellent vacation condo with great location and great price. It has a beach access steps away from your patio. That was the 2nd time we stayed in this location and no complain. Some units are older looking than the others so you might need to look at the pictures to make sure that's what you like. The property is only well behaved children friendly though. On the bright side, it is very quiet and relaxing. Wailea is on the dry side where there is hardly any rain time so you will have every min of beach time. Make sure you rent it from Destination Resort. They provide you with warm and welcoming service. You will not be disappointed if you rent from Destination. We did that twice and looking forward to our third to this same condo in Maui.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures of different units to compare them. Some are newly remodeled and some are older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Aloha...Thank you for your review of Polo Beach Club, and your kind endorsement. We truly appreciate your loyalty and confidence in Destination Resorts Hawaii and look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    21
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had an 8 day stay at this awesome condo. The location and the beach are fabulous and would definitely stay there again. Beautiful grounds, quiet beach with good snorkeling on either end plus some visits by curious turtles when we were swimming. All balconies of this complex have a great view/size. The beach path is right at the condo and we walked it often plus walked to our Luau as well. The beaches close to Polo Beach are within walk-able distance and also had great snorkeling. We rented SUP from the neighboring resort , Fairmont I think.

Unit #609 is exactly as it appears, a bit dated in some decor but clean and well maintained. Our teen daughters really enjoyed having their own lanai for reading. On vrbo we found this unit a fair bit cheaper than other units in the complex. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The best thing about the Polo Beach Club was that we were right on the ocean! Apparently this was built before Maui had made a law that all beach front property needed to be a certain amount of feet away from the beach so its location was grandfathered in. We stayed at this property for 6 nights.
The beds were comfortable, kitchen was functional and the location was excellent! The hot water heater was half the size of a normal water heater which meant short showers (3 minutes each!) for our family of 5 and using the washer and dishwasher only when we knew we would not be taking a shower for at least 6 more hours. Also the internet was not the best internet. At first we could not get on the normal web sites we were accustomed to getting on like Facebook, trip advisor, Amazon, twitter and sites like these unless we were using dial up internet. This was very frustrating but we weren’t in Maui for this purpose so it didn’t ruin our vacation. The management was very nice and eventually got us up to date internet. Also the sheets and blankets on the beds were cheap. It was nice to fall asleep to the crashing waves. We didn’t have any issues with our kids like others did who wrote reviews here and we are a loud family who likes to have fun. The parking could use some improvement but the parking situation in Maui seemed to be the same everywhere (tight!). I liked the towels they provided for the beach. They were large and could soak up a lot of water. They also provided chairs and beach toys. The swimming pool is heated and the spa is hot.
Here’s a tip though- right next door is the Fairmont resort and they will rent you an umbrella with as many chairs as you need, you can use their towels, they provide free sun block and water and all of this costs $45!
We had a great time at the Polo Beach Club and would return here again. I just hope they put in an ideal size water heater and update their wireless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Aloha.....We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Polo Beach Club. The property does have a great location right on the beach and I was so happy to read that you and your children had an enjoyable visit. Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed at Polo Beach club over half a dozen times and several times in unit 602. The only time we do not stay in unit 602 is when it is already in use. The view is amazing, the unit is very well kept and has all the amenities that one could need. The proximity to the beach cannot be beat. There is an outdoor grill for use and even a herb garden. We will continue to come back again and again, and stay in unit 602.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently returned from our 2nd stay at Polo Beach (units 103 and 104). The location is fantastic and is the primary reason we returned this year - it's right on a relatively quiet, uncrowded beach and at the south end of the Wailea beach path. The units we rented are a bit dated and worn but have absolutely outstanding views and access to the beach.

The beach is generally uncrowded, although it gets a bit more use from locals on weekends. There's decent snorkeling right off the point on the south end of the beach and it gets better as you go farther south on the other side of the rocks. It's great for paddleboarding in the mornings before the wind picks up. We saw so many turtles last week that we stopped counting. Access to the beach and the pool is through a locked gate which is a bit annoying but keeps the flow of people through the complex limited to occupants.

The condos we stayed in are nice enough but could use some updating. The beds and furnishings are old and are out of place for units in this price range. But the reality is that you're paying for the location, and we could sit on our lanai with the beach 10-20 yards in front of us.

One difference we noticed between this year and last was the increased presence of 1-2 "busybody" owners/residents who seemed intent on squashing any sort of fun happening on the property. We observed one woman who was admonishing the people upstairs from us for hanging towels on their lanai and gave us dirty looks when walking by our lanai which was filled with beach gear and drying bathing suits/towels. This same woman hassled my father-in-law for allowing my 5 year old to use swim fins in the pool. He wasn't splashing, just learning how to swim. We also got in trouble for kicking a soccer ball on the huge flat lawn - apparently it's meant just to be observed and not used. We heard similar stories from several other renters and it put a bit of a damper on our enjoyment as we felt like we needed to tiptoe around the property worried about breaking some other senseless rule. To be fair, we met several residents who were super-friendly and hinted that they didn't agree with the attitudes of some of their fellow residents and told us that they loved the energy that the several renter families brought to the pool and beach.

Will we return? It's hard to tell. The location is almost enough to account for any other shortcomings the property has, but the attitude of the busybodies and the silly rules may be enough to keep us away next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We recently stayed 10 days at this lovely resort and it,s better than ever. We,ve been coming here for more than a decade and have never been disappointed. The manager Brett has set the bar for high standards and to make your stay as stress free as possible. Polo Beach Club is family friendly and in fact goes out of it,s way to meet even your smallest of needs. Whether it,s to recom;mend dining, snorkeling trips, shopping (groceries or other fun stuff) you feel you have choices based on experience.
Darla and Robin in the office will assist you with all your needs. There,s a variety of condos to rent so read the reviews and choose.
There,s great running paths, restaurants within walking distance, and the herb garden for the
use of all who stay there is fabulous. Trust me..you won,t be sorry.
pattyinportland

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Aloha.... I was so glad to hear that you continue to enjoy Polo Beach Club. It is a fantastic property with a great location, and it is the employees that make it that much more special. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in unit #604 for a week in mid April. I am sure we will return to this condo in the future. the unit is exactly as described and shown in the pictures. In fact, my only issue was that it is unusual not to have any condiments in a rental unit - no oil, no foil, not even a flower vase - just sugar, salt and pepper. However, that is such a small thing compared to the beautiful unit and the amazing view.

As you can see from other reviewers, the Polo Beach Club location cannot be better. We walked to the convenient resorts (Fairmont, Four Seasons and Grand Wailea) for dinners when we didn't feel like cooking. So nice not having to worry about having wine with dinner - then driving back to your hotel. Also, easy access to your rental car is nice. We have stayed in all the above mentioned places and at the big resorts the walk from your room to the front desk can be significant, then the wait for the valet to bring your car and finally the valet tip - at the PBC you are just a few steps from the elevator and your car. Perhaps a minor item - but we appreciated the difference every day.

I agree with one reviewer who thought this place is not "kid friendly". Frankly, given the rules I would agree - but that is also why we (50+ year old professionals) really liked the PBC. We prefer a more adult community and that is what you get here.

We booked through Destination Resorts which is an excellent firm. They were friendly, thorough and professional. I really appreciate the partial daily maid service which is something you don't find in most condo resorts.

I realize that each unit is individually owned (and decorated) so you may or may not have a similiar experience, but we found the bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Polo Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polo Beach Club

Address: 4400 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polo Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hidden gem bordering the Wailea Resort is noted for its prime Maui beachfront location on Polo Beach. A breathtaking, idyllic beach, guests have exclusive access to splash at the ocean's edge or venture further out to challenge the surf. Resorts amenities include a beachfront swimming pool, whirlpool spa, barbecue grills and an herb garden. Enjoy the view and sound of the ocean waves from each deluxe two-bedroom, two-bath suite. Enter through a marbled entryway that leads to a sunken living room with marvelous ocean views. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, living and dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Polo Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polo Beach Club Hotel Wailea
Polo Beach Club Maui
Polo Beach Club Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polo Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.