We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polo Beach Club "No Ka 'Oi" (is the best.)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polo Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Polo Beach Club to your Saves list
Polo Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4400 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Maui Condos from $395
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Polo Beach Club "No Ka 'Oi" (is the best.)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our seventh visit to PBC did not disappoint. Too early for Humpbacks this time, but many Honus (Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles) right off the beach. Speaking of beach, is there any softer, powdery white sand than in Wailea? Plus you can get much closer to the surf than at PBC unless you want to get wet!

We booked directly through an owner this time; but the property is managed by Destination Resorts. Lisa, one of their agents, was extraordinarily personable, friendly, and accommodating; she even remembered our names throughout our week's visit. She really added to our Aloha!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Assistant General Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thanks for posting your review of Polo Beach Club. You're right....you just can't get a suite any closer to the beautiful white sand beach than Polo Beach Club where you get a spectacular view and can hear the sounds of the surf! We'll be sure and let Lisa know you mentioned her by name and are glad that you experienced our "aloha" during your stay.
Sincerely,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    21
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

we were all at a family wedding, and most opted for the fairmont. i was so glad to have this condo...polo beach club 108 to stay for ourselves. the hotels are BUSY and this condo complex was nice and quiet, with lovely grounds.
the condo was well equipped and liked the idea that the 2 bedrooms were separated by the front door, not sharing a wall. the bathrooms were of good size, great tile throughout. the views are amazing.
the only thing i could fault was that the carpets are white, and with kids, i felt badly walking on them!!!
much more peaceful than the hotel next door!!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thanks for posting your review of Polo Beach Club. Most people don't realize that this resort sits right on magnificent Polo Beach where you can actually hear the surf from your condo! We're glad you enjoyed a relaxing vacation with us and congratulations to the bride and groom.
Aloha,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were in rooms 103 and 104. The rooms are ok but for sure are no better than a suite at an old motor hotel like a Best Western or the like. The air conditioner in 104 did.not work and was not fixed for over 12 hours. There were no trash cans in 103. The beach is beautiful but way to crowded and small. If you are a smoker you are not welcome here. You must go to the beach or across the street from the property. They need to have one spot dedicated for smokers! After all it is a legal product. They claim that they tell you on their website about the smoking issues but I took images of the polo beach club site and the destinations website and it says noting about the smoking ban. Nothing was in our rental paperwork either. So if you smoke stay away if you don't then this is an ok place but a little run down. Not worth 4800.00 per week per room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
We were so sorry to hear that you had not been informed that the Polo Beach Club is a completely non-smoking property. Because you had made your reservations through a private owner, we are unable to comment on the communication that you received. The non-smoking policy is set by the Homeowners Association for the entire property and not by any property management firm. Our Destination Resorts Hawaii website does indicate our non-smoking policy on the Polo Beach Club / Amenities page in order to best meet guest’s expectations. We very much appreciate that you have informed potential guests that this is a non-smoking property.
Sincerely,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and kids (8, 11) stayed in Unit #407 for 5 nights. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit was just like the photos. The unit was beautiful and the location was great. On check-in, however, our room was not clean (trash under bed, kitchen floor sticky) which was a bit disturbing. The conscierge wasn't overly helpful the one time we dealt with them, but we've stayed in Maui before so we pretty much knew what we wanted so that wasn’t really much of a problem. The beach location is great and we mostly walked over to the part of Polo Beach in front of the Fairmont (just beware of partially submerged rocks near the shoreline - one got my 8 yr old daughter when she was boogie-boarding). The room came with beach chairs which was great and the balcony was huge (with great views). The only problem I had with the room itself is that there is a large window right next to the unit's entrance door so anyone in the hallway can see right into your unit with no way to block that (we partially blocked it with a boogie board). There was also only one doorknob lock (no deadbolt or any other locking mechanism) which made me slightly uneasy with the kids being in a separate bedroom (maybe crime is negligible, but every other room we had in Hawaii had better locks). The pool was nice and never crowded. Parking is in the basement and very convenient. All in all, the unit met my expectations. My one negative is that it was extremely costly and looking back, I'm not sure I would spend that much again. It was the definitely the nicest room we had on our 2 week trip, but it was also by far the most expensive. We'll be back to Maui in the future, but I'm just not sure we'll be back at this location – especially since we tend to spend a lot of time off-property doing things. But if money is not an issue, this certainly is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank your for taking the time to share your experience at the Polo Beach Club. We were sorry to hear of the service issues you had and will share it with the staff to improve our level of service. With a prime beachfront location on its own excluded beach, the Polo Beach Club can be considered costly. We have 6 additional resorts at lower price ranges so please give us a call for your return visit. We really do appreciate you sharing your experience, since it is so valuable to future guests making their vacation plans. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed in unit 109 with my in- laws & my 5 year old son. We took my Mother-in-Law for her 80th birthday because she has always dreamed of visiting Hawaii.

I agree with the other review of this unit. The laundry door is not working properly & the master bathtub/shower is not easily or safely accessible. The secondary bathroom is accessible for everyone but is not an ensuite so it is mislabeled when saying there are 2 master suites.

And the see through bathroom door in the master is horrible! It was the oddest thing I have ever seen because it is right in front of the toilet.

These things aside, the Polo Beach Club is hands down our favorite property on Maui & we've stayed in many different places. The beach is fantastic & the snorkeling to the north of the hotel has more turtles then we've seen anywhere else on the island.

The grounds are beautifully maintained & the BBQ & pool area are lovely. The boogie boarding is wonderful right in front of the property.

All in all, we will definitely stay here again, especially if we bring our son. With him we loved being on the ground floor but if we go alone we will ask for an updated unit as high as we can get for an even better view.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Destination Resorts Hawaii Management Company at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
While this particular suite (109) is not part of the Destination Resorts Hawaii collection, we do manage a number of suites in this beautiful oceanfront property. Our newly re-designed website allows you to view several pictures of each individual unit along with a detailed description. Should you have any further questions, you can even chat live with a Reservation Sales Agent who will be happy to provide further insight into our tropical island resorts and the many amenities we offer.
Sincerely,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Stayed at Polo Beach Cub, condo #508. Booked thru VBRO and dealt with the owner - she was very friendly, quick to reply and sent us alot of tourist info. As everyone has already described, the beach location is suberb - there were only a few people - mostly those staying at the PBC; the people staying at the adjacent resort used the beach chairs provided for them, so did not really wander into the beach in front of us at ll - it was really very quiet! Snorkelling off the beach was fabulous when the water was calm, HEAPS to see. The condo was clean, comfortable. King size bed was great, spacious ensuite; lotsa towels; left the sliding doors open with blinds down - could hear the ocean all night ... bliss! Kids room down the hall; ceiling fans in both rooms; aircon, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher etc all provided. Kitchen was adequate - the utensils and crockery were a little downmarket, and probably should be upgraded. A few extras had been left (olive oil, some spices, washing powder) - always helps! Big flat-screen TV and several iPod docks also appreciated. The building is arranged with the condos in a step-like patterm and ours was the third line back I think - this means the view was to one side - towards the resort next to us. The sunset was on the other side, so could not be seen from our lanai; none-the-less, we had a lovely view with beach, and palm-trees - I took quite a few photos from the lanai, and the sunset photos from downstairs! The pool was lovely - often with only ourselves or a couple of other people. Kids loved the warm spa too. Beach chairs, esky and umbrella were provided - I would have really appreciated a couple of kids boogie boards tho, as these are a little costly to hire when we only used them a couple of times (additional cost over the snorkelling equipment). Parking underneath in the shade was great - never had a problem finding a spot. I guess the only problem is that Wailea is pretty much a golf-club environment, and to buy anything we had to go to Kihei - a car is a must - around a 10 min drive! Internet included and very useful too!
The only disappointing thing was that I left something behind - I contacted the front desk by email several times, but they never bothered responding - not what one would expect at this level. (Same happened with Mountain Riders cycle tours - had to cancel two booked tickets when my son ended up in hospital with suspected apenecitis - they told me I would get a refund - but several emails later I still haven't heard back at all! BAD way to do business!)
Anyhow - overall - it's a wonderful place to stay - would definitely stay again - would actually love the ground floor unit, as the beach was so quiet (at least in early Dec)!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed in condo#109. It is set toward the front of the building on the ground floor and is farthiest from the beach on this level. However, it is still very close to a beautiful semi-private beach.

Here are the pros and cons we found from this condo:
Pros:
-Great location, close to beach and pool.
-Owner very easy to work with when setting up reservation. Had great suggestions for us, especially for our rental car.
-Rooms were clean and well-kept
-Lots of beach chairs and a few boogie boards.

Cons:
-Online ad (on vrbo.com) made it seem like there were two master suites, which to us meant -- two suites with attached bathrooms. In reality, there is only one master suite. The second bathroom is accessed via the hallway.

-Online pictures and video made the condo seem huge, but in reality it was medium to small sized. It was comfortable, but don't be fooled by the pics.

-Master bedroom sliding doors would not open. Thus, could not sleep with the ocean sounds like we wanted. Sliding doors in living room hard to open and close.

-Master bathroom jacuzzi did not work -- very disappointing. Steep entry into shower via bathtub; not good for elderly.

-European style bathroom door in master. Can't be shy -- the door is all glass and transparent and is right in font of the toilet. We had to hang a sheet to create some privacy.

-No beach towels and not a lot of bath towels provided in general.

-Washer machine door needs to be slammed to get it to shut properly.

-Second lani off guest bedroom is tiny.

Despite the list of cons, we really did enjoy our stay at this condo. These are little things that added up, though, especially with the price that the condo typically rents at (approx. $600, depending on time of year). As long as you know these things in advance this is a really great location and you will have a good time like we did.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Polo Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polo Beach Club

Address: 4400 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polo Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hidden gem bordering the Wailea Resort is noted for its prime Maui beachfront location on Polo Beach. A breathtaking, idyllic beach, guests have exclusive access to splash at the ocean's edge or venture further out to challenge the surf. Resorts amenities include a beachfront swimming pool, whirlpool spa, barbecue grills and an herb garden. Enjoy the view and sound of the ocean waves from each deluxe two-bedroom, two-bath suite. Enter through a marbled entryway that leads to a sunken living room with marvelous ocean views. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, living and dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Polo Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polo Beach Club Hotel Wailea
Polo Beach Club Maui
Polo Beach Club Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polo Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.