We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay once seated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alan Wong's Amasia

Alan Wong's Amasia
3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Waldorf Astoria Grand Wailea, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808 891-3954
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alan Wong's Amasia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 41 restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wailea Ike
Deltona, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Did not stay once seated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our concierge made a reservation for 4 (2 couples celebrating anniversaries). The walk to the restaurant along the ocean path is lovely. Upon arrival the hostess greeted us with "Happy Anniversary" then proceeded by taking us to an awful table in the corner near the bar. She apologized because another customer had reserved an entire room although we could see plenty of open tables in the main dining room. She also commented that if we looked hard enough we might be able to see the Koi pond through the window. When the server arrived she asked if we had been there before. We had not so she went on to explain that the plates were very small, 1-2 bites per plate and that if we selected something over $80 it we be enough for the 4 of us to each get a taste. We had been zip lining all day and were very hungry. They talked us right out of staying and we went over to Tommy Bahamas and had a great meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    98
    55
    29
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very Happy Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited Amasia for happy hour on a recent Saturday evening and discovered that, in addition to the various choices of nibbles on the menu, not to mention all the dishes that you could order off the dinner menu, they were experimenting with a dim sum style offering of little plates, each priced at $6. The plates were presented by staff strolling about with with large trays of temptations. We had three plates apiece and were delighted with the selection and quality. They said they don't do this every evening, so if the style interests you, call ahead to be sure it's on. The regular HH menu is fine but on the pricier side - the plates are in the $10-20 range. The selection of mixed drinks is ok. Oddly, no glasses of wine were offered at a HH rate, only the regular rate. So, you might say that Amasia offers a modified HH that can easily morph into a happy but much pricier dinner when you're not looking. Still, the food was excellent and we look forward to returning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhkahului, Manager at Alan Wong's Amasia, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. Yes, we are currently offering dim sum on Friday and Saturday during happy hour. I hope you will say hello next time you return.

Mahalo,
Brant Holland
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty bites at happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The happy hour menu looked good and we were set to order (did order the somewhat over salted potato chips which came in a bag) when a server brought out a tray of of other bites--sushi, cooked sea bass on a bed of noodles, hamachi crude, spicy chicken on a skewer, a round of the local goat cheese on greens, etc. All were excellent and unexpected and at $6 each, great value. Service was a bit less than it should have been as one friend who didn't order from the tray was left and didn't have the chance to get something from the menu. Also there was no wine at happy hour prices--just cocktails and beer.

We also could have ordered off the full dinner menu too, but we're so delighted with the tray offerings we didn't. Check first as the non-menu items are currently only on the weekends. We'd happily return for another go round!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhkahului, Manager at Alan Wong's Amasia, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your time at Amasia. I also appreciate the feedback on service. Dim Sum is a new experiment for us and people have been very positive about the food. Mahalo again for the service comments.

Brant Holland
Restaurant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food but no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Food is pretty good here. It was sort of Asian Tapas. You have to order a lot because the portions were small. We were a family of four and the portions came in 3. No atmosphere at all but service pretty good. For four of us without dessert or coffee and only one drink the bill came to over $260.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“lovely ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is so cool. The ambiance is amazing...with the bridges, koi fish ponds throughout, and the cool dining (where the table looks like it's on the ground and your feet dangle below). We waited in their lounge for a table, ended up with reservations for 9:30pm. The staff were very accommodating to seat us in the low table rooms so that 3 year old could lie there and sleep. So we ended up getting a date night after all ! ha!

The food was excellent. We started with the potato chips and asian pear salad - i know weird combo but both were excellent! For my main entree I had the Chicken Black Pepper Iwamoto Noodle - made with chopped up tofu instead of chicken. If you order veg be sure to ask them to cook the tofu otherwise they will just give it to you raw. It was delicious! We had the chocolate pudding and shaved ice. Both were excellent but a big serving.

They lost 3 stars because the vegetarian menu sucks! There is really no worthy veg entree. But were awarded back two stars for accommodating the chicken noodle dish with tofu...but the tofu wasn't cooked well.

Overall, we both enjoyed our 'date night' while our children slept! The food ended up being excellent, the ambience super cool, service was great, good for an expensive veg meal ( a rare occurrence in fine dining for me).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alan Wong's Amasia also viewed

 

Been to Alan Wong's Amasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alan Wong's Amasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.