We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Maui's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alan Wong's Amasia

Alan Wong's Amasia
3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Waldorf Astoria Grand Wailea, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808 891-3954
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alan Wong's Amasia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 43 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wailea Ike
Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of Maui's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Amasia was our favourite fine dining experience during a recent visit to Maui. It is tapas style, which is a refreshing change from most local restaurants. Every dish we sampled was a hit, with the Whole Tomato Salad being particularly memorable. We enjoyed noodle, seafood, and meat dishes, and each dish was filled with unique flavours. Service was excellent, with a well thought out wine and cocktail list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    61
    34
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Who would of know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am always a bit skeptical when dining at a restaurant at a hotel. I was talking to a guest by the pool and they mentioned they had a great meal the night before. We were going to go across the island to Mama's for dinner and were both tired from a long day at the pool. We decided to give Amasia a try. Food was outstanding, Mai Tai was the best I ever had. The staff was so nice they made food for my kids back with the nanny to go. Best meal on Maui.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, not that great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

A unfortunate experience overall, not made any better by a seemingly disinterested server, bad music, sushi chefs that were goofing off and giggling amongst themselves throughout our meal, and a view of the bathroom hallway (though we specifically requested a romantic and private table for an anniversary dinner). Some of the food was wonderful (ahi sashimi stack), some was good (Chinese chicken salad, duck bao), but the sushi was nothing to exclaim about and several dishes weren't good at all. With all the better local options, I'd say this one is a definite pass. Bummer- we were really hoping to love it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best short rib ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

13 people in attendance and a love connection for all 13!! The food here was spectacular--the short rib and Chinese Chicken Salad being my personal favorites. The kids said the corn and the cob melted in their mouths. We had a lot of the menu items (nigiri roll, ribeye, tomato salad to name a few) and zero complaints. It's maui and its wailea--so whining about the price isn't allowed. A must go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion Tapas was different but suprisingly good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I went here for dinner on the second night of our honeymoon. We really didn't know what to expect, we figured we would get a few apps and then have a few sushi rolls but that's not what this place is all about. The Menu has so many different choices and are mostly small portions so you can try a lot of different things. We ended up ordering 6 items which were on average $13-$15 each, I ordered a glass of cabernet which was $20 and my wife got a glass of pinot which was $13. The wine was very good which I would expect for $20 a glass and we actually loved everything we selected. The waiter was very helpful and even recommended how many items we should get; six was the perfect amount for us. Overall we really loved it but as you can see things add up quickly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alan Wong's Amasia also viewed

 

Been to Alan Wong's Amasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alan Wong's Amasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.