We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting new appraoch to dining.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alan Wong's Amasia

Alan Wong's Amasia
3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Waldorf Astoria Grand Wailea, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808 891-3954
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alan Wong's Amasia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 43 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wailea Ike
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“interesting new appraoch to dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

this is a new place and a ust ry. The tasting menus are a good value only the service was somewhat off the night we went. We had alot of different food and all good just not sensational for the price but a good learning experience. The service like I said was fair and that took away alot. They are trying and hopefully when we go back next year we will hear that service is together and then might give it another try......

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    61
    34
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, OR
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great food, still needs training”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Fantastic food. There are no views, think garden basement room. Staff is nice but really needs more training. Is expensive, $350 for two adults a 5 and 7 yr old....to be fair our kids eat well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We ate at Amasia near the end of August, 2012 - clearly after they ironed out most of the kinks described by earlier reviewers. Our waiter was great, although his teammate was not as good. Very helpful in interpreting the menu and describing the food - although we had the tasting menu, which I highly recommend. We decided that we need to return later in our trip in order to try more items.
As others mentioned, the ambiance is a little different than most "oceanview" restaurants you're used to in the area - the exterior of the restaurant is actually nicer than the interior! But that's OK, it lets you focus on the food.
Dessert didn't live up to the rest of the meal, for me.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wanted to try everything on the menu...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

but only got to try as much as my stomach could hold. Everything we had was excellent and creative and decently priced given the quality and surroundings. My favorites in were the 'soup & sandwich', miso clam chowder, mamaki ice tea, and cheesecake. Only complaint was that it was freezing, but I was seated right under a vent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kinks in the system”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Food was wonderful. Strongly encourage you to get the tasting menu. Gives you a chance to try a number of different items. All were terrific. My husband did not want the tasting menu, so ordered a similar number of courses, but the kitchen couldn't get the coordination right. One of his dishes would come out and then I'd wait 5-10 minutes for my food. Wait staff were terrific. I think the challenge is they have 3 kitchens, each dedicated to certain foods. Makes the whole thing difficult logistically for them. I'd go back for the food, but would be mindful of what each of us is ordering.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alan Wong's Amasia also viewed

 

Been to Alan Wong's Amasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alan Wong's Amasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.