We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Unit 61” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Grand Champions Villas

Save Saved
You added Wailea Grand Champions Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   155 Wailea Ike Place, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Unit 61”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in the Wailea Grand Champions unit #61 and found it to be perfect in every aspect. The unit is at ground level backs the pool so it is not noisy but convenient to the hot tub and pool area. There is a vast master suite with a King bed and a double walk in shower room, as well as a bathroom ensuite for the other bedroom. I stayed here with my two daughters and we found it a wonderful place to relax after going to the beaches in the south or whale watching. It is not on the ocean, and although you can perceive the ocean, it is about
half a mile away. This didn't bother us at all and every evening we went down to the Ulua beach to watch the sunset.
This unit has been very well renovated and I was quite surprised by some of the other reviews,obviously not all the units are in this pristine condition, so check before you book.
We used http://www.beautifulmauivacationrentals.com/ to book and Kathleen was attentive and very responsive, unfortunately we couldn't spend all our time there because it was booked, but it was so much better than the other rental we had on the West shore, we will certainly come back here as soon as we can.

Everything we needed was provided for, all you need to do is stop in Paia on the way from the airport to buy fresh fruit and vegetables. Other possible shopping areas are in Kihei, Wailea itself does not have any good grocery stores and the restaurants are very pricey, but Kihei has wonderful food and Tripadvisor is your friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    15
    15
    6
See reviews for
70
45
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Having just spent two weeks in a 1 bedroom, 2 bathroom ocean view condo, I was skeptical. But, the studio had a great balcony, and we were "on the edge of a jungle". Very private, just us and the birds and the trees. The single burner hotplate was useless, but the nearby barbecues (2) and superb Safeway strip sirloins solved the problem. Yes, we could occasionally hear our neighbours, but not a problem. The studio had an excellent queen bed, large bathroom, good tv, and we were happy. Ooops - except for the dark ages slow internet connection. Luckily I had my own Virgin Mobile wireless router. Bottom line - would we stay there again? For a week, yes! Maui and Wailes is wonderful. Great location, close to tennis, Wailea beaches.

Room Tip: Great range of locations possible - could be at the pool, on the golf course, or with an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in a studio condo near the office. This is near the area with the huge flock of birds that herald in the sunrise and sunset each day. Beautifully maintained complex away from the noise of the beachside traffic. Walking distance to the Shops of Wailea. Easy drive to beaches. Recommend the condos that face the perimeter of the complex. There are quite a few condos very close to the pools which seemed to be in a noisy area.
Other recommendations: Verify that the washer/dryer is in your condo and not one that is shared with another unit on a lanai. It helps to have a designated parking space rather than hunt for a "guest" slot. Studio units do not have stovetops or ovens. There are usually microwaves and coffee makers. Very little counterspace for food prep. Frig may not be full size. Plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Check the map of the complex to verify that the condo is not next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is my husband and my sixth stay at the Grand Champions Villas and we have had another great stay! The fully equipped kitchen allows us to make our own breakfast and lunches saving us time and money so we can enjoy great Happy Hours and dinners! The proximity to shopping at the Shops at Wailea and the beaches is perfect. The pools are great and the barbecues a nice thing to have for grilling fresh local fish! We can't wait for our next trip back to Wailea!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha.....Thank you for taking the time to review Wailea Grand Champions. It truly does sound like you have found your home away from home in Maui.

Mahalo nui loa,
Matt Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Spent nine nights in a 2 bedroom condo unit. Kitchen was equipped extremely well. Gr8 location, walkable to the Ulua, Mokapu and Wailea beaches. Close by the Shops at Wailea. Easy access to Hwy 31. Overall, fantastic value for money.
The maid service to cleanup could have been better!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha.......I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Wailea Grand Champions Villas. The property does offer an exceptional value for those who prefer to stay in this area and its location is convenient to everything that Wailea has to offer. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was our 3rd time in Maui and our first time staying in Wailea (although we had visited many of the beaches before). We enjoyed the location for its easy access to a variety of beaches including Makena, one of our favorites. We walked to the beach on our first day, but found it a little long (and there were no sidewalks for stretches) and ended up driving thereafter. Easy to drive and park.

We stayed in unit #52 and really enjoyed it. It was very roomy and exceptionally well equipped. We've stayed in many other condo rentals before, but were impressed that this one had a washer/dryer, had great kitchen equipment (including sharp knives!), and included many of the little things that you typically have to run out and get right away such as dish detergent, soap, toilet paper... Felt really well taken care of!

We also enjoyed our balcony with a beautiful view. The birds in the trees, though, are very noisy early in the morning...a slight disadvantage of the back bedroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in unit 142. The unit was clean and spacious but could use some updating. It's a one bedroom unit with a king bed, 2 baths and a full kitchen. It was listed as a partial ocean view, it was extremely partial.

You never know what will be in the kitchen of a condo rental. This unit had the standard amenities as far as cookware (pots, pans, spatula, silverware, plates...etc). There was a full sized 12 cup coffee maker and they even gave you a single pot package of coffee and condiments. There is also dish detergent, paper towels, wash cloths & towel and salt & pepper. There was no oil, Pam, aluminum foil, plastic wrap....etc so be sure and bring those things or pick them up at the local grocery store.

There was conditioning shampoo, body wash and bar soap in both bathrooms. My hair requires conditioner, if your does too you'll need to bring your own. There were plenty of bath towels and 2 pool towels as well.

There is apartment size washer & dryer on the lanai and they provide laundry detergent but not softener so you'll need to provide that if you like softener.

This unit is toward the bottom of the cul de sac so it was quiet but a little bit of a walk to the pool & hot tub. The pool is nothing fancy, 3ft-5ft and rather small in size. Same with the hot tub, it would probably seat 4-6 people. The BBQ grills are located in the pool area so you have to cook there and carry it back to your unit.

All in all, we would stay here again but we didn't find it anything spectacular compared to other condos we've stayed at on Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wailea Grand Champions Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Grand Champions Villas

Address: 155 Wailea Ike Place, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wailea Grand Champions Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Wailea golf resort with a country club feel is centered on 11 acres, amid the 18-hole Wailea Blue Golf Course. Select from garden or ocean view suites or golf front villas along the 6th, 7th and 8th holes, with ultimate views of well maintained fairways and sun-drenched strokes. Within this country club condo resort, you'll also find the world-class Wailea Tennis Center and stadium. The resort features two pools, two whirlpool spas and barbecue grills; and is located near The Shops at Wailea and popular Mokapu and Ulua beaches. Each 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, living/dining room area, private lanai and en-suite washer/dryer. Amenities include in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wailea Grand Champions Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Hotel Wailea
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Grand Champions Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.