We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Stop of Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Grand Champions Villas

Save Saved
You added Wailea Grand Champions Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   155 Wailea Ike Place, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Coral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Third Stop of Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Hi again everyone,
After leaving a picturesque property on the Big Island I was preparing myself for a let down in Maui. BOY WAS I WRONG. The unit we stayed in was a 3 bedroom 2 bath and absolutely breath-taking. Although we were not near the water, the accommodations more than compensated for that. Looking back, it was actually a blessing in disguise because of the peaceful nature of the property. The kids had their own room AND we had the option --with the 3rd bedroom ---of having my teenage daughter have a room of her own. Oddly enough, the girls opted to stay in the same room. Who understands kids? All I can say is that if we ever return to Maui, we will definitely look to book this property. If you have a family it is a MUST.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    15
    15
    6
See reviews for
70
45
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here with family for 5 nights and booked through Expedia. Unfortunately I discovered a mouse in my bedroom on the third night. I informed the management company and they told me it was not their problem, but it was Expedias! The next night a trap was set and 2 more mice were trapped, clearly there was a problem. No compensation from the company or even an apology - Poor!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Manager at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Mark,
We were shocked upon reading your review of Grand Champions and immediately spoke with our Rental Manager and staff who could not confirm that you were a guest of Destination Resorts Hawaii and believe the unit you rented was managed by another management company. Regardless, the incident and the management response were both disheartening and irresponsible and we are sincerely sorry for your unfortunate experience during your Maui vacation.
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks before and after a conference. The condo was very nice and clean. The only thing we were disappointed in was that the pool area was a far ways away from our condo and always very busy

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in unit #146 which is in the most southern(?) building, right on the golf course. Amazing views! The condo was clean and had everything we needed! This was our second stay at the Grand Champions. Such a great property. Easy access to the pools for kids and a great central location to south maui. Makena and big beach in one direction and Kihei and all its family friendly beaches in the other. Not to mention the Shops at Wailea are an easy walk away. You can't beat the value. We will be back and most likely/hopefully to unit #146.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Manager at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for sharing your review of Wailea Grand Champions Villas. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you as our guest on your next visit to Maui.
Sincerely,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had a very good experience staying at Unit nbr. 42. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Supe nice layout especially for my 3 kids. Nice Ocean View from our balcony 3 flat screen tv's, strollers for my kids and we did use the beach chair very handy...so much good things to say. We're definitely stay here again. Jan and Terrie you guys are the best!

Thank you,
Jenny, Lonny, Brendan, Nicole and Justin
Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guyinlosangeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

i thought almost everything was great. had a view of the ocean. nice new travertine floors in common areas. fully equipped kitchen, etc. only complaints were the mattresses. you can feel the coils in the front room king size mattress, the queen size in master is way too soft. the a/.c in the master makes noise and you can't sleep with it on. even with this said, all in all it was a great condo. these things can be easily fixed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed in Unit #40. It was spacious, clean, and well equipped. We had everything we needed for cooking, relaxing in the condo, and going to the beach. There were beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, sand toys, snorkeling gear, a cooler, and boogieboards. We loved the location. Wailea is truly the sunniest spot on the island. You can walk to the beach but the trip back is uphill so we preferred to drive. The pool on the grounds was clean and well maintained, as were the grills. Parking was easy and close, and parking at the nearby beaches was usually available. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Manager at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit with Destination Resorts Hawaii. Our Wailea Grand Champions Villas has been a really popular choice for all the reasons that you have mentioned. We hope that you'll come back and visit us. Mahalo!

Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wailea Grand Champions Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Grand Champions Villas

Address: 155 Wailea Ike Place, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wailea Grand Champions Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Wailea golf resort with a country club feel is centered on 11 acres, amid the 18-hole Wailea Blue Golf Course. Select from garden or ocean view suites or golf front villas along the 6th, 7th and 8th holes, with ultimate views of well maintained fairways and sun-drenched strokes. Within this country club condo resort, you'll also find the world-class Wailea Tennis Center and stadium. The resort features two pools, two whirlpool spas and barbecue grills; and is located near The Shops at Wailea and popular Mokapu and Ulua beaches. Each 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, living/dining room area, private lanai and en-suite washer/dryer. Amenities include in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wailea Grand Champions Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Hotel Wailea
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailea Grand Champions Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.