We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising seclusion & luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wailea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wailea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wailea
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprising seclusion & luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Amazing from the moment you arrive in this boutique hotel. Welcoming & helpful staff. Waterfalls and island views wherever you choose to go. The Makena/ Wailea resort area is a welcome retreat from the hustle & bustle of Maui ... and this hotel at the top of the resort is the best of the best. If you want to truly relax on vacation, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Split level style 4 suite units; all suites either up or down stairs; more secluded units are a ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    198
    63
    26
    9
See reviews for
103
516
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Mahalo to all the wonderful staff at Hotel Wailea! We stayed in a beautiful renovated room with a spectacular view! The grounds were beautiful and you are left with a feeling of balanced paradise. The value and offering of this property is perfect. You don't have to feel like you are in a large hotel hustling to get a poolside chair...instead relax and revel in the perfect size property away from the huslte on the main strip. You can have the beautiful shuttle service take you anywhere in Wailea and bring you back to the relaxing and luxury feel of Hotel Wailea. I can't say enough about the entire staff and management as they were always friendly, always accommodating and willing to do their best to make your stay "just right" We will definitely return!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Iʻve been going to this resort for over a decade. The current management is actually the best overall that Iʻve experienced. They take care of their guests with a personal touch. I appreciate that itʻs small and pretty secluded. Even when the resort is full, it doesnʻt feel crowded at all. Great value for the price

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wonderful little place up in the hill above the golf course in Wailea. If your looking for please and quiet, this is the place.All of the staff is very friendly and helpful.Megan at the front desk was very helpful in giving us ideas on day trips, and Carrie at the pol bar makes wonderful drinks, and she is fun to talk to. The grounds are beautiful, waterfalls and koi ponds and each condo has a wonderful view of the ocean. The Resturant on sight is wonderful. We would most definitely go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful views, some have been remodeled and are beautiful, but they are double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelWailea, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Aloha you two!

It was such a pleasure having your attentive nature to my day-trip suggestions.
I really don't think you needed any help in the fun department though, you seem to enjoy yourselves everywhere you are.

Thank you for mentioning Carrie and I. We feel fortunate to have guests like you who make working in the Hospitality industry a true joy. Please come again, and of course feel free to book directly with us for a repeat guest discount. 808-874-0500 guestservices@hotelwailea.com

Once again, it has been a pleasure serving you.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Meegan Clarke
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Mahalo to the wonderful staff at Hotel Wailea for making our 15th wedding anniversary special. We received one of the renovated rooms which was beautiful. Amazing kitchen (Wolf appliances), shower (waterfall shower and full tub), bed room. The grounds are so tranquil and just a hop, skip and jump to the beach. They are continuing to renovate the rest of the rooms and the spa. I would highly recommend for a couples get-away.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel Wailea is a beautiful hotel. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed that they had a shuttle service, and were able to get around the area easily. It was a quiet place to enjoy our time on Maui. I felt like they knew us personally. We enjoyed sitting out on the lanai every morning to watch the sunrise and to feel the breezes off the ocean. My only downside, is that we stayed in one of the rooms that haven't been remodeled yet, so there were some minor issues in our room (which is why it didn't get an excellent rating). Overall, we would stay again!

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel Wailea is a beautiful, wonderful place to stay. The staff are friendly, professional, kind and very helpful. I took the shuttle at least twice a day and never had to wait, although that would have been fine because there was always something lovely to look at. The rest of my "family" stayed at one of the big hotels down the street. It was a fine place, excellent service, but Hotel Wailea was the place for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wailea

Address: 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
#5 Business Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wailea 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wailea Maui is a 15-acre all-suite boutique resort nestled on the plush hillside overlooking world renowned Wailea with spectacular panoramic ocean views, where you can watch whales breaching in season. Each recently upgraded one-bedroom suite offers ocean views, 900 square feet of spacious accommodations with a separate living area, private lanai and offers the following amenities: in-room WiFi Internet access, daily newspaper, mini-refrigerator, microwave, stove-top, coffeemaker, deep soaking tubs and safe. The resort also features an award winning Italian restaurant, swimming pool, gym, spa and beautifully landscaped grounds with waterfall and koi pond. Other amenities include a daily complimentary Kona Coffee Bar featuring an assortment of fresh local pastries and fruits, access to an off-site Wailea beach with exclusive attendant services and signing privileges at The Grand Wailea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Wailea
Hotel Wailea Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.