We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wailea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wailea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wailea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were very impressed with this hidden hotel. It is just a little tucked away from the touristy portions of Maui, but the quiet and beautiful setting reminded us of why we chose the island for our trip in the first place. The rooms were modern and clean. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. Although many people try to stay in a hotel directly on the beach, the hillside hotel seemed more relaxed and peaceful, and a quick ride to the beach was always available on demand from the hotel. The more of Maui we explored, the happier we were with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    203
    63
    26
    9
See reviews for
105
527
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We couldn't have been happier. The staff made us feel exceptionally welcome and staying in a boutique hotel like Hotel Wailea (free of screaming children and overcrowding in a typical resort) is definitely the way to go. Fantastic views, reasonable pricing. I figured the online photos were probably a little doctored but the place is honestly best viewed in person. I wish we could have stayed more than three or four days. I left thinking I want to make the way I treat people in my everyday life a little more like they made mine. I highly recommend Hotel Wailea and will most likely be back!

Room Tip: Go with the ocean view, upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a first class resort in Wailea. I highly recommend it. The lobby and entire feel of the hotel is open air and very classy. The rooms are spacious and the grounds are well kept. We enjoyed the pool and adjacent restaurant for happy hour drinks. The only detraction is that it's not right on the beach, but it is a 5 minute ride (with free parking) to the main beach, with full amenities, including a lounge chair, umbrella, and towels. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon in April. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was kind and helpful, and the place was very quiet and peaceful. From the balcony of our room (more like a villa) at the Hotel Wailea in Maui, we could see sweeping view of flowering trees, dark blue ocean, and mountains rising into the clouds.

Hotel Wailea is not as ostentatious as the other four-and-five star hotels in Wailea, nor as resort-y feeling. The ambiance is friendly, low-key, and very romantic. It's luxurious but not too fancy.

The beach is about a half mile or mile away, and the staff will drive you down at no charge via the shuttle. The beaches are the ones used by the Grand Wailea and Four Seasons -very nice but not breathtaking. For the awesome beaches rent a car and go a few miles south to Makena and Big Beach.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked this hotel very early in the summer of 2012, and stayed in February 2013. Based on the reviews we were not taken by surprise by location, but were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the grounds.We enjoyed walking the grounds in the evening, and observing the small river, and falls that are located in the center of the property. Within this area you could see the fish, and birds resting. We had a special wake up surprise every morning beside our balcony who would sing a morning greeting. The hen then would resume her day, sometimes looking for or avoiding the rooster. There were many tropical birds flying around, and residing in the numerous vegetation on the grounds. One draw back was the proximately of the road. The road is very busy morning and evening with traffic going to work, and returning. We had read about this from others, but our room location was situated close to the road, and it was noisy. Our days were spent away from the hotel, but in the early morning enjoying a coffee, and in the evening relaxing outside on the baloney the traffic was busy.

Our room was of the older decor, but clean. The bed was comfortable, and the cleaning staff did a good job of refreshing the room every day, with a change of towels. There was a small stove top, this requires upgrading, but it did the job. The bar fridge was quite adequate for our needs. Basically the functionality of the room was good, safe worked, water was always hot.The bath area was a bit cramped and oddly laid out.

The view was good off the balcony. We were aware that the hotel was some distance from the beach, so we sometimes took the shuttle which provided us with transportation to places such as the beach and other places within Wailea. We also had rented a vehicle due to the location. We found the staff providing the drive service were excellent! Also deserving attention to fine service were the staff providing umbrellas, and lounge chairs to guests of the Hotel Wailea.

What we missed was being close to the water. We did a lot of walking, and found the grade a little steep at times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent 5 days at Hotel Wailea in late February. We had an awful experience at Napili Beach Resort on West Maui and Hotel Wailea was just what we needed to adjust and enjoy the rest of our time in Maui. We were traveling with our 20 month old and Hotel Wailea was great about setting us up a crib and finding a nanny so we could have one dinner to ourselves. The property is about a mile from the beach but it's an easy walk down (not up) or drive and they have a beach front area in front of the Grand Wailea. The hotel staff was very friendly and we had a nice time hanging out by the pool. The bartender is excellent and put together a number of great concoctions for us. I highly recommend this resort as long as don't want to walk out your door on to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just got back from Maui and stayed a night at the Hotel Wailea. From the second we pulled up everyone was so nice and helpful. A cool lavender washcloth when we arrived, to fresh lemonade in the lobby, and the most helpful and knowledgeable drivers that took us to shopping and the beach, We had one of the newly renovated rooms and it was BEAUTIFUL! Everything about the room was perfect. WE had dinner at Capische? and it was amazing, The staff was so accommodating and one of the best dinner experiences I have ever had, overlooking the beautiful lit up garden and ocean. Will definatly stay again and again... also would be a beautiful place for a wedding! And do not hesitate to get the filet at the restaurant its INSANE!

Room Tip: Spend the extra for the new renovated suites, great views, beautiful wood and stone everything ... w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wailea

Address: 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Business Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wailea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wailea Maui is a 15-acre all-suite boutique resort nestled on the plush hillside overlooking world renowned Wailea with spectacular panoramic ocean views, where you can watch whales breaching in season. Each recently upgraded one-bedroom suite offers ocean views, 900 square feet of spacious accommodations with a separate living area, private lanai and offers the following amenities: in-room WiFi Internet access, daily newspaper, mini-refrigerator, microwave, stove-top, coffeemaker, deep soaking tubs and safe. The resort also features an award winning Italian restaurant, swimming pool, gym, spa and beautifully landscaped grounds with waterfall and koi pond. Other amenities include a daily complimentary Kona Coffee Bar featuring an assortment of fresh local pastries and fruits, access to an off-site Wailea beach with exclusive attendant services and signing privileges at The Grand Wailea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Wailea
Hotel Wailea Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.