We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value for Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wailea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wailea to your Saves list
Hotel Wailea
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific value for Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a first class resort in Wailea. I highly recommend it. The lobby and entire feel of the hotel is open air and very classy. The rooms are spacious and the grounds are well kept. We enjoyed the pool and adjacent restaurant for happy hour drinks. The only detraction is that it's not right on the beach, but it is a 5 minute ride (with free parking) to the main beach, with full amenities, including a lounge chair, umbrella, and towels. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    216
    70
    27
    9
See reviews for
107
576
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon in April. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was kind and helpful, and the place was very quiet and peaceful. From the balcony of our room (more like a villa) at the Hotel Wailea in Maui, we could see sweeping view of flowering trees, dark blue ocean, and mountains rising into the clouds.

Hotel Wailea is not as ostentatious as the other four-and-five star hotels in Wailea, nor as resort-y feeling. The ambiance is friendly, low-key, and very romantic. It's luxurious but not too fancy.

The beach is about a half mile or mile away, and the staff will drive you down at no charge via the shuttle. The beaches are the ones used by the Grand Wailea and Four Seasons -very nice but not breathtaking. For the awesome beaches rent a car and go a few miles south to Makena and Big Beach.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked this hotel very early in the summer of 2012, and stayed in February 2013. Based on the reviews we were not taken by surprise by location, but were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the grounds.We enjoyed walking the grounds in the evening, and observing the small river, and falls that are located in the center of the property. Within this area you could see the fish, and birds resting. We had a special wake up surprise every morning beside our balcony who would sing a morning greeting. The hen then would resume her day, sometimes looking for or avoiding the rooster. There were many tropical birds flying around, and residing in the numerous vegetation on the grounds. One draw back was the proximately of the road. The road is very busy morning and evening with traffic going to work, and returning. We had read about this from others, but our room location was situated close to the road, and it was noisy. Our days were spent away from the hotel, but in the early morning enjoying a coffee, and in the evening relaxing outside on the baloney the traffic was busy.

Our room was of the older decor, but clean. The bed was comfortable, and the cleaning staff did a good job of refreshing the room every day, with a change of towels. There was a small stove top, this requires upgrading, but it did the job. The bar fridge was quite adequate for our needs. Basically the functionality of the room was good, safe worked, water was always hot.The bath area was a bit cramped and oddly laid out.

The view was good off the balcony. We were aware that the hotel was some distance from the beach, so we sometimes took the shuttle which provided us with transportation to places such as the beach and other places within Wailea. We also had rented a vehicle due to the location. We found the staff providing the drive service were excellent! Also deserving attention to fine service were the staff providing umbrellas, and lounge chairs to guests of the Hotel Wailea.

What we missed was being close to the water. We did a lot of walking, and found the grade a little steep at times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent 5 days at Hotel Wailea in late February. We had an awful experience at Napili Beach Resort on West Maui and Hotel Wailea was just what we needed to adjust and enjoy the rest of our time in Maui. We were traveling with our 20 month old and Hotel Wailea was great about setting us up a crib and finding a nanny so we could have one dinner to ourselves. The property is about a mile from the beach but it's an easy walk down (not up) or drive and they have a beach front area in front of the Grand Wailea. The hotel staff was very friendly and we had a nice time hanging out by the pool. The bartender is excellent and put together a number of great concoctions for us. I highly recommend this resort as long as don't want to walk out your door on to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just got back from Maui and stayed a night at the Hotel Wailea. From the second we pulled up everyone was so nice and helpful. A cool lavender washcloth when we arrived, to fresh lemonade in the lobby, and the most helpful and knowledgeable drivers that took us to shopping and the beach, We had one of the newly renovated rooms and it was BEAUTIFUL! Everything about the room was perfect. WE had dinner at Capische? and it was amazing, The staff was so accommodating and one of the best dinner experiences I have ever had, overlooking the beautiful lit up garden and ocean. Will definatly stay again and again... also would be a beautiful place for a wedding! And do not hesitate to get the filet at the restaurant its INSANE!

Room Tip: Spend the extra for the new renovated suites, great views, beautiful wood and stone everything ... w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked the hotel based on other tripadvisor reviews and we were very happy with what we got. We booked a renovated room and we ended up in room 064 that is not only recently renovated, it also has a magnificent view of the ocean. Sunset from the lanai was a daily highlight.

The new rooms are fantastic. Great decor,2 flat screen tv's, brand new kitchen and great bathroom. You also have WLAN in all rooms, ours had great speed.

The hotel combines the best of both worlds. It is close enough to Wailea to benefit from all the things you can see and do (including a fantastic beach) but it is also far enough away to be away from the hustle and bussle of the big hotels. The hotel offers a shuttle service anywere in Wailea (in a top of the range Mercedes) and you can use complimentary sunbeds at the beach in front of the Grand Wailea.

The grounds are very well maintained, although you can see this is an older property. It is clean and everything is working.

There are also a few, small, opportunties to improve. The breakfast buffet simply does not match the style of the hotel. Self service bagels on paper plates with plastic utensils does not cut it. Either do it well, or don't do it.

Same for the service at the pool. Self service is a better description.The staff does not seem to be very interested in giving service to the guests. At this level I would expect waiting staff to make their rounds and ask guests if they want something to eat/drink. Or hand out refreshment towels. None of that. Also the way the food is served does not match the rest of the experience. If you charge US$ 20 for a sandwich, serving it in a plastic take-away box kills the experience. Doesn't matter how good the sandwich is. It looks like a US$ 5 sandwich from the local take-away.

In summary: great (renovated) rooms, great location, well maintained and clean property that has the potential to become very good. Just kick it up a notch with parts of the service.

Room Tip: I would recommend to spend the extra $$ for a renovated room. If possible stay away from the creek t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelWailea, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Aloha from Hotel Wailea,

And a warm thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Our guest's feedback is our greatest tool for learning about our strengths, as well as any need for improvement.

We are delighted to hear how much you appreciated our newly renovated suites, beautiful nearby beaches, and serene environment.

I would like to take this opportunity to also thank you for suggestions regarding our breakfast and pool service. It is our pleasure to announce we are now in the planning stages of implementing new standards in the food and beverage department, possibly a full service restaurant onsite to compliment our fine dining venue, Capische. Who was just awarded:
Gold (winner) for Most Romantic
Silver (runner up) for Best Italian
Silver (runner up) for Restaurant of the Year
Congratulations Capische! And to you for a wonderful Wailea vacation! We welcome you, your friends and family to contact me directly if I may be of service for any future trips back to Maui.

Sincerely,
Karen Thompson
Front Office Manager
Hotel Wailea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel Wailea is very well located up the hill with wonderful views to the ocean which makes it a very peaceful spot compared to many of the places and hotels in Wailea which seem extremely crowded.

I usually stay by the beach and this hotel is not by the beach but the shuttle service takes you there in two minutes. I never had any issue with the shuttle and they took me to every beach I wanted in the Wailea area, which was extremely helpful

Service is very helpful and smiley. They organised some activities for me, they solved every issue or question I had. Especially the shuttle guys do a great job.

Rooms are big and comfortable. They have a bedroom area, a living room with small kitchen and open shower and toilet. My room was a panoramic ocean front view and view of the ocean was great. Those rooms are not renewed yet and they do indeed need some renovation, as also some of the machinery is noisy. Renovation is already taken place is many rooms so I am sure those would be great afterwards.

There is not mini-bar in the rooms, you can buy your stuff and use the fridge and small kitchen. And I think there was not laundry service but laundry facilities, I did not use any of those.

Breakfast offered is nice and free to have by the pool or the lobby area, it is a simple breakfast. In any case, I think they should offer more options for breakfast (not for free) for guests who would like to have something else than pastries, fruit and coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelWailea, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha from Wailea!

We are thrilled that you chose Hotel Wailea for your Maui vacation. Its sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us.
I thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor . This is our greatest compliment, when a guest shares their positive experience to the travelling public.
We look forward to your next visit when our fully remodeled suites will be ready for your family, and friends as well.

Until we meet again, please feel free to contact me personally with any of your future Maui vacations.

I can be reached anytime by email: mschale@hotelwailea.com or phone: 808-874-0500.

Sincerely,
Markus Schale
Hotel Wailea General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wailea

Address: 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Wailea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of both beach and ocean view worlds-Hotel Wailea is located just 300' above the sea and is considered the most intimate hotel property within the Wailea resort area, with only 72 suites on an expansive 15 acres. Enjoy the Hotel Wailea Beach Club by day, stunning three-island panoramic views in the afternoon, poolside cocktails to a vivid sunset and award-winning dining at night. Then retreat to your one-bedroom suite, designed to feel like your own private luxury beach home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Wailea
Hotel Wailea Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.