We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal & Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wailea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wailea to your Saves list
Hotel Wailea
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
ispeakfoodtooblogger
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Deal & Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My best friend got married on Maui and half of the wedding party stayed here and I must say that it was the best decision we all made. We arrived to find that the hotel was nice and quiet despite us being the funny joking group. Every person on the staff is as friendly as can be, true Hawaiian hospitality. The rooms are spacious, clean and the view was beautiful. My room was on the ground floor that overlooked a koi pond, every morning after grabbing my free breakfast I would watch the beautiful sky from my deck, how awesome is that? Need a ride to the beach? no problem the hotel provides a shuttle to the beach anytime you feel the need to see the ocean, Id hit the pool for a quick dip after a day at the beach.

there's a gym there too, i didn't got but if you like to work out on your vacation then there you go, its right in the hotel too. We enjoyed the bar at the hotel and just everything you can ask for is just a quick request away. my favorite part of my stay was the hammocks that were all over the grounds that you can just stop and take a quick nap in., highly recommended for a fun stay with a couple friends or your love.

Room Tip: Call up to the front to ask when the shuttle will be able to drive you to the beach, sometimes they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    216
    69
    27
    9
See reviews for
106
575
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just returned from a short stay at the Hotel Wailea after visiting Kaanapali and Hana. Firstly, love Wailea, the beaches, restaurants and shopping are hard to beat, but this was the first time we had stayed at a non beach side location. The view from our groundfloor patio was breath taking and the perfect place to sit with coffee in hand in the morning and just enjoy the moment. I also loved that in our newly renovated suite the desk set up to face the view so that even when you needed to check with with work or e mails everytime you looked up you realised you were still very much in Hawaii!

Room Tip: Choose one of the newly renovated suites with ocean views..they are so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnes, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for a week and we loved the location and beautiful landscaping. There are 18 plantation style buildings that each have 4 units and the buildings are spread out all over the entire property. We were however disappointed with how plain the suite itself was. They are in the process of renovating so maybe ours was going to be next.....There were no pictures, the furniture was drabby, and the carpet needed to be replaced. We found the refrigerator was very small as was the sink...kinda felt like camping....Other than that everything else was great, especially the gorgeous amazing view from our lanai! Breathtaking! The pool was quite large, had ample lounge chairs and cabannas, and it was always so quiet. Sometimes we had it all to ourselves! The breakfast was nice to have...saved buying groceries or going out. One thing that we really liked was being affiliated with the Grand Wailea. Because of that we were able to go down to the beach and get chairs, an umbrealla, towels, and water from them. It was so great! They will shuttle you down there as well but we always used our own vehicle. We would love to stay again but only in a remodeled suite.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled suite. They are definitely nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan River, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been reading the reviews on trip advisor prior to booking our long overdue honeymoon at Hotel Wailea and the months since. The negative reviews had me worried about the rooms but let me lay any concerns others may have to rest. The rooms are wonderful!

We arrived quite late (shortly after midnight) so check in was a breeze. We parked in the self parking and walked up to the lobby. We were driven by electric golf cart to our room and helped in with the luggage. We were greeted with a honeymoon gift of chocolate mac nuts and card...a very nice touch.

Despite what I had read in a previous review the room did have air conditioning. The room looked just like we expected from pictures on the hotel's website and others posted on trip advisor. Each room appears to have highspeed Internet as room numbers from surrounding units showed up as available networks for access. The wifi worked very well throughout our 8 day stay.

I was impressed that the cleaning staff even cleaned up our dishes from having in room coffee in the morning. It's those little things that make you feel good about your stay. We never had any concerns with timing of the room cleaning. After venturing out (whether a couple of hours or all day) we returned to a cleaned room.

We loved the grounds and trail system. Intertwining paths, beautiful foliage, and streams, pools and waterfalls all give you the impression you have arrived in paradise.

I concur with other reviewers who mention how quiet the property is. Rare to run into other guests except at the morning complimentary breakfast. We really enjoyed the baked goods, coffee, juice, bagels, breads and they even have hard boiled eggs for those concerned with having some protein in the morning :)

I cannot say enough about the young gentleman who provide shuttle service for the guests. We utilized the free service regularly and had the opportunity to meet and speak with several different drivers. They all were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and Maui in general. They were our main contact with the hotel staff and represented the Hotel Wailea with professionalism.

We did not utilize the pool area but noticed others there enjoying the area. We did check out the spa area on one evening and enjoyed the large pool/hot tub area which we had all to ourselves.

We will recommend the Hotel Wailea to family and friends going forward and look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days after being in Vegas and LA. It was amazing. The staff were fantastic. Great service of transport to the surrounding hotels, restaurants and shops. Arranged a hire car for us to explore the island- the road to Hana is a must if you're staying in Maui. Breakfast was a refreshing change after so many hotel breakfast. Couldn't get enough of the banana bread. The hotel was lovely and quiet. Most days there were only 3 couples around the pool. Wouldn't hesitate to go back here! Paradise!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Everything was so beautiful and clean. The only improvement needed to be the breakfast bar. The coffee was pretty bad and we had to pay for yogurt. Not much to offer for breakfast. We celebrated our anniversary there and had extra special treatment on that day with special treats delivered to our room. The view was outstanding. The grounds are so beautiful, we just walked around and enjoyed the peace and quiet. The pool was great. It was a nice place to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather. The service of the staff was outstanding. What ever our request, they ALL were so willing to make us happy. I would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose a top level. The view is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very nice. Sad to leave. Beautiful setting. Great transportation to the beach. Super room with panoramic view. Can see humpback whales from patio. Breakfast a bit limited for gluten free but they will provide gluten free bread if you all in advance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wailea

Address: 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
#5 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Wailea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of both beach and ocean view worlds-Hotel Wailea is located just 300' above the sea and is considered the most intimate hotel property within the Wailea resort area, with only 72 suites on an expansive 15 acres. Enjoy the Hotel Wailea Beach Club by day, stunning three-island panoramic views in the afternoon, poolside cocktails to a vivid sunset and award-winning dining at night. Then retreat to your one-bedroom suite, designed to feel like your own private luxury beach home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Wailea
Hotel Wailea Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.