We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wailea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wailea to your Saves list
Hotel Wailea
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I just got back from our vacation to Hawaii. We stayed at the Hotel Wailea, and found it absolutely wonderful. It is located in a wonderful area, close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The size of the property was perfect, not huge and overwhelming like some resorts tend to be. Although we don't visit Hawaii very often, we will definitely consider Hotel Wailea the next time we travel to Hawaii.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    237
    72
    28
    9
See reviews for
117
642
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The room was very private and had a great layout. The kitchenette was nice and the bedroom and shower area had a modern feel. The living area was comfortable and opened up to a great little balcony with an awesome view of the ocean, Molokini crater, and Lanai. We stayed here for three nights and it was a good home base for biking down Haleakala, snorkeling Molokini Crater, visiting Makena Beach, and driving to see the rest of the island.

Room Tip: as always, opt for the ocean view and you'll be rewarded with magnificent sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at this beautiful hotel for 7 nights from 10th -17th November as part of our 30th wedding anniversay trip and I cannot rate it highly enough. The room was huge with fantastic views from the lanai ,the grounds stunning with flowers and palm trees in abundance,waterfalls and streams flowing through the gardens made the place feel so peaceful and exotic. The pool area was gorgeous and never busy ,absolutely no problem getting a lounger or one of the luxurious day beds to laze on. The complimentary breakfast in the lobby was an added bonus with fresh fruit,bagels,a selection of fresh local cakes ,coffee and juice was lovely ,with views to die for!
The staff were all so pleasant,friendly and helpful. Not being on the beach was no hardship as the shuttle was available was available to take you to various places ,beach ,shops other hotels as and when you needed it,not a mini bus but a swanky mercedes suv.
We took the shuttle down to the Grand Wailea hotel a few times and while very nice was much bigger and busier than Hotel Wailea ,maybe a better choice if travelling with children as on the beach with more activities and pools to keep the kids amused,we however were pleased we had chosen hotel Wailea to stay at,definitely an oasis of calm.
The staff were all freindly and helpful,in fact there was an initial mix up with our room ,the one assigned was not a panoramic ocean view that we had booked,however this was rectified the following day while we were out and we came back to find our luggage had been moved to the new room and a tray of chocolates left for us,the staff also gave us a microwave and kitchen set (pots,utensils,extra dishes) a nice gesture to make up for the mixup.
As this was week 2 of a 3 week trip the self operating laundry room was a big plus,situated at the edge of the pool area we made use of it a couple of times during our stay and having a swim in the pool and a sunbathe while the laundry was being done was no hardship!
We had a fantastic time on Maui and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or indeed stay there again should we be fortunate enough to visit Maui in the future.

Room Tip: If booking a panoramic ocean view room ensure you are assigned an upper floor as ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights during the first part of our honeymoon and we loved it. The grounds are beautiful and the property is really nice. The first part of our honeymoon was dedicated to doing all the fun outdoor activities in Maui (Haleakalā Sunrise, Road to Hana, ect) so this hotel was a perfect choice as it wasn't too expensive yet it felt exotic. The pool and spa were never busy. We were there Nov3-Nov8. The restaurant on property Capiche had great cocktails, good appetizers and an amazing sunset view. The free daily continental breakfast was really nice and was a great way to save some $ before venturing out for outdoor activities. The hotel staff was really nice and were accommodating. Check out the avocado and mango trees when you are there.

Room Tip: We had a room on the bottom floor. Try to get a room on the top floor (each building only has 2 floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Like a previous reviewer, I almost don't want to write this review so as to keep it my little secret. The place is outstanding. The grounds are well maintained, sprawling, so peaceful, like nothing I've seen before. The rooms are huge, not like a hotel where they pack you into little rooms in a big building, these are like houses with 4 units each - you have your own kitchen, living room, bedroom, bathroom and shower room. They can probably only accomodate 60-80 guests so its never packed or busy. The only thing I'd change is to offer a breakfast that had more protein options but the fresh fruit was tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at a few places around Maui and the big island, but this hotel, which we booked for our wedding night, was by far my favorite. Cute, boutique hotel nestled in the natural landscape. Very lush, secluded, romantic, beautiful views, free yoga. The staff was also very nice and made us feel like special guests. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The staff upgraded our room for free when we told them it was our wedding night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed in 3 places on Maui during my trip: Sheraton Maui, Hotel Wailea, and Hana Maui Kai. Hotel Wailea was by far the most outstanding place to stay - simply beautiful, very relaxing atmosphere, felt very secure, helpful and friendly staff, and close to shore (short drive to a public parking place, with plenty of space), and had shuttle for shopping and restaurants which we simply didn't use due to time constraints. When I return to Maui in the next year or so, I will be staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: We had an oceanview room, 2nd floor - was fine, quiet, and nice view of ocean over the rooftops of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelWailea, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Happy Holiday Season To You & Yours,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It is nice to be among such great resorts, but even better to be voted your favorite above all!

We look forward to your next visit, and please let us know that you are a return guest so we may extend to you our return-guest-discount.

Warm Wishes,

Markus Schale
General Manager
Hotel Wailea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wailea

Address: 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Wailea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of both beach and ocean view worlds-Hotel Wailea is located just 300' above the sea and is considered the most intimate hotel property within the Wailea resort area, with only 72 suites on an expansive 15 acres. Enjoy the Hotel Wailea Beach Club by day, stunning three-island panoramic views in the afternoon, poolside cocktails to a vivid sunset and award-winning dining at night. Then retreat to your one-bedroom suite, designed to feel like your own private luxury beach home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Wailea
Hotel Wailea Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.