We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunset surpassed by even more amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe on the Green - CLOSED

Cafe on the Green
5415 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808-875-5888
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Owned and operated by the Makena Beach & Golf Resort and located above the Makena Tennis Club, the Cafe on the Green Restaurant is South Maui's hidden gem. Featuring fresh and tasty sandwiches, salads, burgers, Hawaiian local favorites and even a full scale bar, this restaurant provides breathtaking panoramic views of the Wailea and Makena area that compliments the restaurant’s great food and drinks. Open Daily for lunch and happy hour, experience live entertainment every evening from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM alongside great sunsets. Come join us where life is always greener at Cafe on the Green!
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing sunset surpassed by even more amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a well deserved EXCELLENT review! Gwen (Food & Beverage Manager) really makes the extra effort to be sure her guests are well taken care of and that comes across through her staff as well. We were staying at the Makena Beach Resort and I had read some of the previous reports so we thought we would try Cafe on the Green for happy hour. We were greeted warmly and enjoyed great food (not your typical happy hour at all) - like Thai style lettuce wraps, and a spinach chicken quesadilla. The drinks were tasty too! What makes a place memorable is the service - and Gwen and her staff made that happen! Kudos too for the sunset! Mahalo for a great time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous wedding reception!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My daughter was married on New Year's Eve on the beach near this beautiful location. We all went there for appetizers and drinks and then dinner following the wedding. Gwen Taft arranged everything for us and made the whole event perfect and effortless for us. The food was fabulous, the drinks were cold and delicious and the setting couldn't have been romantic. We had preordered the steak and lobster meal for everyone and it was served on time to each guest. The steak was so tender we cut them with our butter knives. My daughter had ordered the chocolate mousse cake as her wedding cake and it was a highlight of the meal.
I would recommend this beautiful restaurant to anyone and thank Gwen from my heart for making that night as perfect as it could be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley,Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Mai Tais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I loved the view overlooking Makena, especially at sunset. The mai tais were the best! We had pupus for happy hour/dinner. The chicken skewers were great and also the lettuce wraps! They only serve pupus until 6:30 so go by 5:30 for the view and great food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great happy hour but it's at the Golf Course (not Hotel)!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Their 330-630 happy hour specials for both appetizers and drinks (tap beer and mai tais, I had the blonde beer which I hadn't seen in six packs yet) are a good deal by Wailea standards. Good service & quality food too: we split some lettuce wraps and the mahi sandwich. The view on the patio is fabulous, great place to watch the sunset, but you are a ways up from a golf green and the ocean is a few blocks off. BTW that huge mound of dirt out to the west is actually the cinder cone from the Haleakala volcano, which last erupted in 1790 or earlier.

HOWEVER to get there do NOT drive into the hotel, ie, if you are coming from the north don't take a right, which is what our GPS told us to do (and even the valet parking guy misunderstood what we were trying to do so we wasted 15 minutes). Drive past that entrance and in another block take a LEFT into the golf course entrance and proceed past the tennis courts to park your own car by the golf course. The restaurant is on the right side.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice happy hour, good view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The view here is not as close to the ocean as Gannon's, but here you can actually get a table and food during happy hour. So that's a huge plus. Nice well drink prices. Try the sliders with Maui Onion rings if you can, or if you have to eat gluten free, skip the lettuce wraps and stick to the chicken skewers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Green also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.