We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for early snorkeling ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maluaka Beach

Maluaka Beach
190 Makena Rd, in front of the Makena Beach Resort, Wailea, Maui, HI
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 18 attractions in Wailea
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best for early snorkeling ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Love the snorkeling, go early, water gets a bit choppy later. We saw two turtles the minute we went into the water. Saw a bunch of fishes including two types of needle fish. We parked at the south side entrance and walked 5 mins to the beach. Snorkeling is best south side of the beach near the rocks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    14
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great place for snorkeling. Heard it is amazing place for turtles. We went twice and only saw one turtle once, but beautiful fish.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Go for the turtles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

As others suggest get here early...we were in the water by 800 and actually swam and followed a sea turtle...we thoroughly enjoyed our morning here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
“Loved it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did a lot of travelling about on the island, did a few planned activities, and did a lot of relaxing times too!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good alternative to Wailea Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Parked at the beach access on the south end and stayed on the beach at the very southern-most point. Good snorkeling (at least in the morning) around the rocks to the south. Saw several turtles. Beach is great for our kids ages 13, 11, and 7. Has bathroom and shower right there. We liked Maluaka Beach better than Wailea Beach.

Only better place for snorkeling we found in South Maui than here was at the south end of Po'olenalena Beach. For the best spot there, park in the free beach access in front of the Makena Surf (9 parking spots) and hit the southern-most end of the beach. Snorkel around the rocks to the left (south). We saw no fewer than 5 turtles at the same time, with nobody else around. Rather than trying to snorkel back north to the beach, keep going south around the rocks to the little Chang's beach, where you can get out, take off your flippers, and walk back to the street, then back to where your car is parked and back to your spot on the south end of Po'olenalena Beach (we did this circuit a couple times and there were tons of turtles).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maluaka Beach also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Maluaka Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maluaka Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.