We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monkeypod Kitchen

Monkeypod Kitchen
10 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-891-2322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkeypod Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wailea Ike Drive
Description: Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman is a place where foodies, beer lovers, and families escape the stresses of their day-to-day lives by enjoying an ice-cold beer and a great meal while surrounded by people who consider them honored guests and friends. Our restaurants are founded upon a passion for craft and we are dedicated to mastering the craft of food, drink, and merrymaking...With Aloha! Our menu features fresh island fish, hand tossed pizzas from our kiawe wood-burning oven, and homemade cream pies made from scratch. Thirty-six craft beers are on tap, each served at an optimal twenty-nine degrees. Our culinary cocktails feature unique ingredients such as acai spirit, coconut water, and Kula lavender. Our passion for craft also extends to our diverse wine list, which emphasizes sustainability, drinkability and fun. Come join us at our communal table, with friends old and new, and learn what it's like to share our "Lucky Live Hawaii" story.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Wife and I had dinner here on a recent Maui visit. We wanted someplace casual close to our hotel and found Monkeypod through TA and Yelp reviews. Not sure why some people seem down on this place. We really enjoyed it. We got a table right away and had great service. I had what might be one of the best fish and chips I've ever had. Wife had the pumpkin ravioli appetizer as an entree and loved it. We did have a jalapeno popper appetizer. That was probably the only negative. They were OK, but not great. A little mushy and overcooked so there wasn't much heat to the peppers at all. But still good overall and we'd definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    895
    650
    199
    82
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We tried this restaurant on our third night in the area and we're treated to an excellent meal and great service. My ahi was perfect and the jalapeño mash and crunchy slaw were the perfect sides. My wife had the Mahi Mahi which was terrific and assuming we return on this trip it will be what I will have for dinner next time. We shared the coconut cream pie for dessert. It was creamy and rich and topped with flavourful toasted coconut. Great spot!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food & casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Located just 'up the hill' from the Wailea Shopping Mall, varied menu with interesting/great mix of flavors, Lunches (burgers are tops!) and dinners are worth exploring! Desserts are really, really good, with our favorite being the cheescake (big enough for 2+)...moderate pricing, limited wine list and (a stiff $25 corkage fee) pushed us to settle for a coke, thank you. The dinners were very good. Atmosphere is open and somewhat noisy, so it can be difficult to hear your partner talking at times. Great bar crowd as well. Clean & family friendly too. ate here 3 times in one week, so it obvious wasn't that bad! will visit again next time in maui. write ups mention great ocean views, etc from outdoor seating...don't believe it, go inside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
“Amazing food, amazing server, amazing time!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Today my husband and I went to happy hour. It was a tough week and we were looking to relax. We had the most wonderful Mai Tai's, beer and appetizers. We love Monkey Pod! But, what made our experience exceptional was our server (Shay). Shay was informative, lively, fun, entertaining and interactive. She made our exhausting week disappear! Shay raised the bar when it comes to going the extra mile for her customers. Two words to describe her... She ROCKS!!!
Monkey Pod... We will be back because we love this restaurant!!!! And we will definitely ask for Shay. Thanks for a wonderful afternoon!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

You must must must get the pumpkin ravioli. Holy moly. We went there twice as it was close to our hotel and had some really decent prices compared to what we were up against with the resort restaurants! The food was consistently delicious, the people who served us were great (the girls who were hostesses.... were not. Smile girls, it helps!) and the atmosphere was fun. We sat out on the patio the 2nd time - do that. It's gorgeous and if it's during the day you'll have a view. Oh, and make reservations! Otherwise you could be looking at a 30 minute wait minimum!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkeypod Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Monkeypod Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkeypod Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.