We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excuse me what?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Molokini Bar & Grille

Molokini Bar & Grille
5400 Makena Alanui, Makena Beach & Golf Resort, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8435
+1 808-875-5888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 43 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: American, Asian fusion, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The Molokini Bar & Grille, located at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, is a premier dining experience offering inspired island cuisine at an unmatched value. Under the direction of Chef De Cuisine Kurt Lemeries, the menu takes a non-traditional approach to American comfort food, infusing fresh local ingredients, combining elements of Hawaii regional cuisine and presenting new taste profiles that will both surprise and satisfy. Selections include its popular Cilantro and Macadamia Nut Crusted MahiMahi or the famed Crispy Molokai Potato Wrapped Lobster Salad. Featuring nightly live entertainment, take advantage of the restaurant's happy hour specials, nightly special menus, like Lobster Fest on Tuesdays and Thursday, or famed Sunday Brunch.
Weston, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excuse me what?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Food is ok, not worth the price tag though. Server was telling us about the specials and said "if that is too much for you, there is the menu". The service did improve from that point but first impressions stick, and so can this restaurant, stick it that is!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great speed service while waiting to your tee time. Food was delicious--fresh fish to to die for and the view -amazing

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lobsterfest was good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had the surf and turf special($39). Food was beautiful and cooked perfectly. Entree portions somewhat small, but with salad and creme brulee' (included) was just fine. Service started out good, declined as restaurant got busy. Was told our son's lava cake dessert would take 15 minutes, it took 30. Good for a splurge. View of sunset was nice. Free valet parking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Dinner, Super Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Another great meal. There was even a live singer, delivering soothing music. We went for the Sunday Roast Beef Special, but my husband decided to try instead a caesar salad and the sweet rack of ribs with blue corn bread and beans, which he enjoyed immensely. We started with the Chef's Daily Poke, a large mound of deliciously marinated and seasoned cubes of ahi. Poke is big on Maui, and this was delicious and very filling. My RB Special included salad and dessert. When my large slab of medium-rare roast beef came, I could eat only a little of the very tender and tasty beef and veggies, and none of the dessert. We received excellent service throughout the meal, and when I asked the waiter to pack up my leftovers, he also included a couple of fresh rolls and a plastic knife so I could make sandwiches for lunch today. He put my dessert "bombe" into another container with two spoons. This was a chocolate fudge globe, which we opened back at the condo. We each tried a little taste, and then another, and soon there was nothing left of this fabulous confection. The restaurant is a few miles up from Wailea, where we are staying, but it's worth the drive. We saw the menu for the Friday night Seafood Buffet and the Saturday night Asian Buffet. Both look excellent, so we plan to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sunset Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A great view but took a long time for service; so there, when you are not in a hurry! Views are terriific

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molokini Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Molokini Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molokini Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.