We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunset views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humuhumunukunukuapua'a

Humuhumunukunukuapua'a
3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Waldorf Astoria Grand Wailea Resort, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
800.888.6100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 40 restaurants in Wailea
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great sunset views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a nice dinner at the Humu to celebrate our son's birthday. From the moment we walked in, he was made to feel so special. He was greeted by name, and many people wished him a Happy Birthday throughout the night. We had a lovely table on the end so we had a great view of what was probably the most gorgeous sunset I have ever seen. My son had the "half-price lobster special" which I think is available pretty much all the time. He always enjoys getting to choose his own lobster there. I had the Opah and Hubs had the Mahi Mahi. We were all very happy with our selections. Since I had arranged to have a birthday cake, we had this for dessert. They did a really nice job on the cake. It was a white cake with lillikoi filling and chocolate frosting. Delicious! We were able to take the leftover cake with us, and we enjoyed it for several days. Toward the end of the meal, our server brought my son a little gift. It was a plush dolphin, I believe. It was a thoughtful touch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    259
    146
    93
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This restaurant sits in the middle of a lagoon. Views of the sunset are spectacular, and as you eat you can watch the tarpon swimming in the lagoon. The food is great, and our service was, too. There is also a huge aquarium at the bar with many species of saltwater fish.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Beautiful Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Go at a time when you can catch the sunset and get ready for the view of a lifetime! The food is good, and, if you are staying at the Grand Wailea Resort, you can't get any closer!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kind of garish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

In the excellent Maui Revealed guidebook, Andrew Doughty notes that this restaurant regularly cycles from very good to very bad. Sadly, we caught it at what must have been one of the very bad points:
You do have to enter through the huge Grand Wailea lobby (they give you a map for Pete's sake) and wander through grounds that represent probably the worst combination of Disneyland and Las Vegas styles: mobs of people being herded to various luaus, packs of children splashing their way from one waterfall pool to another, and generally wondering if you are ever going to find the restaurant. When you get there, reception can be fairly brusk, service can be pretty much coffee-shoppy, and food pretty tough (think "ahi harder to chew than a bad steak").
The atmosphere is funky tiki-hut motif, but don't look in; look outwards, and see that you are on a little man-made lagoon amidst landscaping designed for photo-ops. When you get home and share your photos with friends, you may wonder how you could have had such a bad time in such a good-looking place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You gotta eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

No other place with a more special setting. I took photos and showed them at work, people thought I got them from google. Try the Korean fried chicken, it's unreal! Great service, very prompt. Worth the expense.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humuhumunukunukuapua'a also viewed

 

Been to Humuhumunukunukuapua'a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humuhumunukunukuapua'a, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.