We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I could hope for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Luau at Honua'ula

The Grand Luau at Honua'ula
3850 Wailea Alanui Drive, Grand Wailea Resort, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808.875.7710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 21 Activities in Wailea
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted the #1 BEST LUAU in South Maui by the Maui News readers' poll in 2011, THE GRAND LUAU AT HONUA'ULA is a must-see, rich, cultural experience! Located at the award-winning Grand Wailea Resort and Spa, this luxurious setting, just steps from the sea, is truly magical!"HONUA'ULA" means "Sacred Lands" and refers to the Grand Luau's physical setting which is surrounded by the rising slopes of Haleakala and the expansive azure blue of the Pacific Ocean. Gather with your friends and family for an event destined to become the highlight of your island visit. Join in a variety of ancient Hawaiian activities and games. Discover a unique treasure at our island handicraft market. Witness the unearthing of the kalua pig from the "imu", our traditional underground oven. Sip tasty tropical drinks from our premium open bar available throughout the evening. Savor our bountiful buffet of regional cuisine with a generous variety to please everyone's palate. Dine comfortably at our intimate tables while viewing the breathtaking sunset and the star-filled skies above. Enjoy our spectacular show as THE GRAND LUAU AT HONUA'ULA brings to life the ancient stories,songs and dances of the Pacific islands. Feel the genuine touch of Aloha, under the palm trees,caressed by breezes. Experience the GRAND LUAU AT HONUA'ULA and celebrate the true magic of Maui!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“More than I could hope for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

The grounds and setting at the Grand Wailea is breathtaking!

The staff are outstanding!!!
Great service from the banquet staff

The food was varied and tasty. Roasted pig, macadamia but butter, lots of extra's

Then the entertainment... The Master of ceremonies (narrator)shared such a magnificent history of the gods and local cultural experiences.

The hula lessons, performances, fire dancer, as well as the scarf performer made such an memorable evening.

Thank you for sharing your culture and providing such a beautiful evening.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    95
    39
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Must Try Luau when in Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have enjoyed the Luau food and show at the Polynesian Center in Oahu 3 years ago but The Grand Luau at Honua'ula was equally awesome. Paid a total of $322.92 for 2 Adult + 2 Child + 1 Under 5 last Nov 30th (Sat) but it worth it as this is a must try when in the Maui South Shore area. I strongly suggest arriving early from 4:00 - 4:30pm to register and get the best seat in the house, catch the sunset and the roasted pig ceremony. We were late but were lucky to be seated on Premium seating at no charge so save big bucks there. The show was broken into 10 stories about Hawaii's rich and interesting culture so definitely enjoyed it. The Fire Master set was the best and is the highlight of the evening with those exciting moves. My son was lucky to be picked to be part of the show as he lighted one of the male performers but. The show was funnier that the last Luau that I've seen so we all loved it. Our server was very attentive and made sure our needs were met and drinks not empty. At this time of the year, The Grand Wailea Hotel was covered with Christmas lights and the garden was filled with amazing tropical plants so it was a treat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The only luau for our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

As we were planning our Maui spring break trip for 2014 this weekend, I asked the kids what was the best part of our spring break last April. Both replied "The luau"!

The Grand Luau was really great - we got there early as suggested and we were really glad that we did. We went to the pool bar at the Grand Wailea for a libation for mom and dad and virgin drinks for the kids, as we looked out at the pool and then the ocean of course. What a great location for a luau with an amazing sunset. We really liked the knick knacks and shopping with local artists and vendors before the event.

The food was really good - not your typical mass produced luau fare. It was hot, well prepared with a lot of flavor. The drinks were good and not watered down like the luau we went to two years ago in Kaanapali.

And the best part - the performance. Very entertaining cast that really gets the crowd into it. We have pictures of my son next to the hula girls - priceless memories.

Thanks to the Beach Activities of Maui team - they got us in on short notice and during a very busy time. Cant wait to go back in 2014!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Suprizingly great food here. We were a party of ten here had our own table and everyone enjoyed it all. We have all had prior luau experiences soo we expected the usual cattle call dinner style, but there were effieciant keeping fresh food filled for everyone. Not much of a kids style menu but we managed to get enough into them. Our lady waiting on our table was super friendly and nice she kept our wine and mai tai glasses full without us needing to stand at the bar missing the show. The show was nicely broken into an overall story about the history of hawaii and maui. The girls were mezmorized watching the hula dancers. And were very happy when asked to join them on stage and learn. It was very cute. There could be more bathroom facilities on site especially the women's but they were clean at least.
The vendors selling souveniers were super overpriced. Nice products but triple of what you should pay.
You can go to costco and prepay the luau for $79.99 thats about $25 cheaper than reg price. The kids were free being five and under still if they had to pay the $54 it would have been too much for the minimal they eat. If you arrive early you will get a better table but dont be suprized when i was the second in line to get a table but was seated three rows back as they all paid extra $$ to have priority seating. Not worth the extra $$ in my eyes but some people need that. Free valet service was efficient also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good luau and great fire dancer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have been to the Maui Lu and old lahaina luau in the past. This one at the grand wailea was intimate and the show was good. It told a story which I really liked. The fire dancer was amazing!!! We went up to do the hula and that was fun. You can buy some Hawaiian souvenirs. The food was just okay but I don't think I have ever really enjoyed the food at a luau.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Luau at Honua'ula also viewed

 

Been to The Grand Luau at Honua'ula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Luau at Honua'ula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.