We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kai Wailea

Kai Wailea
3750 Wailea Alanui, The Shops of Wailea, Wailea, Maui, HI
808 875 1955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kai Wailea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 41 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Alanui Dr.
Wailea, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Remember the Seinfeld episode: "the soup nazi"? Kai Wailea has a sushi nazi; an angry, intolerant chef who intimidates his kitchen and wait staff. Consequently, the kitchen is understaffed (I am sure they quit after a few days), food comes out slowly (we only received 1/2 of our order before we finally asked for the check), and our very competent waitress was extremely frustrated and apologetic. An unfortunate dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    27
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We really enjoyed both meals we had at Kai. We tried a variety of items between the four of us, two adults and two teens, and they were all delicious and well presented. But I did feel as though I was paying more than I should simply because of the location. Situated at the high end "Shops at Wailea" it was not surprising that it was expensive, just a little annoying given you aren't outdoors or even close to having a water view. But like I said, the food was fantastic and you won't be disappointed in your meal. Just prepare yourself for the price of dining out in Wailea. Live music was nice and service was attentive. I definitely recommend it, especially over some of the other less interesting restaurants at the shops. If I'm paying top dollar, I certainly prefer to spend it on fresh, gourmet food versus a standard but pricey cheeseburger. Bottom line, go and enjoy it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We left”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I so wanted to eat here. We walked in and the place was noisy and very hot. We looked at the menu, even ordered some wine, but we ended up leaving. I cannot comment on the food, but the atmosphere was zero...and did I say how hot it was?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

we tried some of their original dishes, they were awesome. and the "mai kai" drink. the prices were a little too high but the quality was great.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy Grilled Sashimi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The grilled fish for lunch was so delicious, I think maybe it was sashimi grade tuna?? Have gone back several times, just for that entree. Yummy

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Wailea also viewed

 

Been to Kai Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.