We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Must Eat Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ko Restaurant

Ko Restaurant
4100 Wailea Alanui, The Fairmont Kea Lani, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
8088752210
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ko Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian, Portuguese, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kaukahi Street
Transit: The nearest Bus stop is located at the Shops of Wailea Maui.
Description: Executive Chef Tylun Pang leads the culinary masterpiece of Kō, the only fine dining restaurant on Maui to offer cuisine inspired by Maui’s sugarcane plantation era. Located at The Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Kō features island family recipes and includes farm-fresh Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese menu items with a contemporary twist.
Oyster Bay, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You Must Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We ate here 4 nights out our 11 nights at the Fairmont Kea Lani. The food is so fresh and plentiful!! Not cheap but worth every penny. Ask for "Luis" as your server, he is awesome and gave us fabulous "secret spots" to venture out and see. The food is a combination of Hawaiian, South Pacific, Asian and Portuguese. So much to choose from. Must eat here!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    121
    67
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is our 4th dinner at Ko's this year from 2 different trips. We have eaten at every restaurant on Maui the past 5 years. Certainly Lahaina Grill, Ferraros at 4 Seasons, Plantation House are among the finest on the island. Ko's is now our 1st choice when vacationing there. The food is superb, not only the quality but the preparations are to die for. The black bean preparation for the fish of the day is the best we have ever had. Service is equally excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Wow! We’re very proud to know that Ko is your #1 choice on Maui. This is especially rewarding coming from an experienced Maui diner. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed Kō's plantation-era inspired cuisine and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love the Blend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This cuisine takes fusion to a whole new level. Creative and tasteful, Ko has a uniqueness of its own. Pleasant and personable wait staff, delicious drinks. Lunch menu is also quite wonderful.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Ambience was cold, and not welcoming. The seafood soup was too salty, the rest of the food was ok, but nothing spectacular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Aloha. We’re so sorry that your recent dinner at Ko failed to impress. We strive to be anything but mediocre and apologize that you were disappointed. We want our guests to feel welcomed and relaxed, and it sounds like we truly fell short this time. Next time you visit, we hope you will give Ko another chance. Mahalo for your review and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Grove, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Awesome atmosphere. Very good food. Service was ok. I couldn't really hear the waitress. I would go back though.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We’re thrilled that you enjoyed Kō's relaxed ambiance and plantation-era inspired cuisine! Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the entire team. We sure hope to see you again soon. Mahalo and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ko Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ko Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.