We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ko Restaurant

Ko Restaurant
4100 Wailea Alanui, The Fairmont Kea Lani, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
8088752210
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ko Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Filipino, Portuguese, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kaukahi Street
Transit: The nearest Bus stop is located at the Shops of Wailea Maui.
Description: Executive Chef Tylun Pang leads the culinary masterpiece of Kō, the only fine dining restaurant on Maui to offer cuisine inspired by Maui’s sugarcane plantation era. Located at The Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Kō features island family recipes and includes farm-fresh Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese menu items with a contemporary twist.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had heard the food was good & they had a great Kamaaina special so was looking forward to trying it out. Things started off okay, the Oishi Sushi appetizer was good but noticed our waiter took a long time to get back to us. I started wondering if we were getting less service because of the special. Had 2 drinks each, an appetizer & 2 entrees but the wait time in between got longer & longer. The last straw was when he finally dropped off the dessert menu it took him almost 20 minutes to come back to us. We had wanted to order the brûlée but asked for the check instead. We mentioned the wait & he said he had "some other large tables" ( i.e. more $$?) but we had observed him chatting with other servers in the interim. As experienced diners we know this wasn't right, felt ignored & won't be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Please accept our deepest apologies for offering anything less than genuine and attentive service. Our staff is held to a very high level of standards and the wait time/disengaged service you received is unacceptable. Please be assured that your experience was in no way reflective of your Kama'aina status and that we strive to be a restaurant where locals can feel welcome. We hope you will join us again soon so we can provide the service you deserve. Best wishes and aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    103
    59
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Two of us dined at Ko while staying at the Fairmont. I recommend making reservations for a table outdoors. I do not remember which cocktail I had but my friend ordered the Honey Basil Fresh drink and it was somewhat drab. We had the Ahi Tuna on the rock and it was excellent. I had the Macademia Nut Crust fish. My friend had the prawns and scallops which he thought was the best meal he had during our visit to Maui. The service was excellent. I wish I knew our server's name to give him credit because he had so much personality and was a great help in aiding our selection of food. We tried two of the desserts, my friend tried the creme brulee which is flaming when it arrives at the table. I had the Pao Doce Frito which is like a jelly donut and fairly large size.
The hotel at all restaurants offer Gluten Free and Vegan menus as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the Best Surprises in Wailea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you have any food or dietary restrictions, their lunch/dinner menu has a list of creative and delicious choices for vegans, sugar balanced, heart healthy, macrobiotic, and gluten free diets. Right by the pool at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Very relaxing, excellent service, and a beautiful "health conscious" bread tray. We went for lunch and it was very relaxing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We're thrilled that you had such a relaxing and positive experience while dining at Kō for lunch. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed our popular Lifestyle Cuisine Plus menu that offers healthy options for various dietary needs/preferences. We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good, but limited for Gluten Free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Food is good, but the service and limited menu does not compete with Four Seasons. The Fairmont has special diet menu as part of their Lifestyle program but it left us with only one preparation for the daily fish catch and a salad. It is expensive and crowded with families, but the restaurant has won several awards so it must be appealing for the non-food allergy crowd.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for your review. We're so sorry that you were not satisfied with your selection from our Lifestyle Cuisine Plus Menu, which offers multiple three course menus for raw, vegan, gluten-free, heart-healthy and low sugar diets. In the future, please don't hesitate to ask you server for suggestions from the main Kō menu. We recognize how serious food allergies can be and have a very strict allergy program in place to ensure no cross contamination. We appreciate your feedback and truly hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best wishes and aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The food choices were fresh and healthy. We enjoyed our meal surrounded by tropical trees, cool breezes and comfort. Ko has a nice bar area and t.v. to view mainland sports. Their breads and sauces were original and very tasty. The tropical drinks we ordered were made with fresh fruit and the presentation was very pleasing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ko Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ko Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.