We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks and dinner at Mala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mala

Mala
3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea Beach Marriott Resort, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808 875 9394
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mala is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 40 restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Kihei Islander bus line stops in front of the Shops at Wailea, just in front of the Marriott. Mala Restaurant is located on the ocean front of the Marriott, Wailea. Just walk through the main lobby and you'll see our lounge, with the restaurant ramp to your left.
Description: Chef Mark Ellman of Avalon fame and Chef/Owner of Maui Tacos, who also owns the orginal Mala Ocean Tavern in Lahaina, has joined forces with his long time partner Shep Gordon and opened a Southside outpost of Mala. Aptly called Mala Wailea at the Wailea Beach Marriott Resort and Spa Overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the Island of Lanai. Our delightful restaurant offers stunning sunset vistas over the Pacific – every seat has an ocean view. Mark is pleased to continue the Mala tradition of making great food organic, healthy, fresh, and delicious. With an authentic menu of Mediterranean and Pacific Rim cuisine, our beautifully crafted dishes will please the palates of your most revered guests.
Highlands, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Drinks and dinner at Mala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We actually had an opportunity to eat at the original Mala's in La'haina which was just delightful sitting in the marina. And this 2nd restaurant was just as delicious with wonderful sunset views from the bar and outdoor restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    160
    88
    64
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Over priced and unsanitary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The food here was good food but terribly over priced. It cost the same for a full buffet as it did for a bowl of oatmeal and two eggs. Breakfast for two cost nearly $50.

Service is good but I noticed that when the tables were bussed the creamer, which was in an open container was left on the table from one guest to the next. Little birds land on unoccupied tables and peck around for crumbs and can get into open containers so I found this to be unsanitary to not only leave the creamer on the table unprotected, but to allow creamer to be left for another guest to use after another person may have dipped a finger in for a taste or had a small child playing in it! I also noticed the employee checking the silverware to see if they looked used and then putting them into his apron pocket when they appeared clean! If I had seen that before I started eating I would have walked out.

Tables were not thoroughly wiped, nothing moved away to wipe entire surface.

Not going back any time soon even this though the good seemed fine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Poolside Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Hotel and had lunch here poolside on a few occasions. The fish taco's and sweet potatoe fries are worth trying. Service is attentive. Only downside, if you are scared of birds it might get a bit annoying as they tend to try and flock around the table to get any stray crumbs (but no different to most outside eating venues in Maui).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Food was good, but seems both menu and service have gone a little more formal and upscale since our last visit in 2011. Very nice views.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food with million dollar view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent food and service; the seafood was very good; try to make a reservation in order to sit facing the ocean

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mala also viewed

 

Been to Mala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.