We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance great! Food- hardly Italian, tiny, teeny portions.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Capische

Capische
Hotel Wailea, 555 Kaukahi Road, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808•879•2224
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capische is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 41 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kalai Waa
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ambiance great! Food- hardly Italian, tiny, teeny portions.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Liked nothing. Overpriced meals, over cooked 2.5 inch piece of fish drowning in some kind of vinegar purée!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Manager at Capische, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Mahalo for dining with us and sharing these comments. Obviously we are disappointed that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Our menu is designed to provide a traditional Italian multi-course meal while featuring creative interpretations of Italian classics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    68
    64
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Great service
Foods was small plate but very very good
Staff was very attentive and friendly
Romantic place for date nite

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Owner at Capische, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your great words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yyc
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointed during restaurant week”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had high expectations, as we were celebrating a special occasion, that were let down unfortunately.

On the plus side, service was fine although brisk, ambience was nice, albeit dark, but private.

On the negative side, we both ended up sick in the night through to the next day and this was the only meal we had eaten (had a banana for breakfast so we knew it was to blame).

The food was overpriced and we may have been overcharged on our bill but were too embarrassed to ask. My spouse's beef entree said $50 on the menu and he was charged $65. I had a simple non alcoholic drink and was charged $9. The price-fixe menu while tasty had small portions for $49.

I did not appreciate having the gratuity charged automatically at 18% for the two of us. We almost didn't notice and would have tipped twice! They should trust their customers to tip appropriately. If the service is good, then people will tip well. You don't need to force people to give you a good tip.
We spent well over $200 on our meal (no alcoholic drinks) and felt that our meal was over priced for what we received, particularly when the food made us sick.

Not a very romantic evening I'm afraid!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Manager at Capische, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We strive to deliver a world-class dining experience for all our guests so regret hearing that your high expectations were not met. Further, we are concerned that your bill may have been incorrect. Please don’t ever feel embarrassed about asking for an explanation of charges on a bill at Capische.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice dinner here and sat at one of the garden tables below that was very private and unique. I am sure the ocean views from the hilltop are incredible yet as we were dining at night the view was darkness. They have a very extensive menu and also offer a 3 or 7 course menu. We took the 3 course and still left food on our plates. We had lobster salad, black kale salad, pasta carbonara, mussels with pasta, tuna, and wagu. It was enjoyable and I would also think a great place for lunch with the views. If you go just remember you are on holiday and the $$ on the menu are insignificant to life in general as it is on the high side (our most expensive meal in Maui). We recommend!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This restaurant is overrated and definitely not worth the price. Don't waste your time or money! Spen $200 for two and was stillnhungry. My idea of a good meal is not to fill up on bread because there was nothing to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capische also viewed

 

Been to Capische? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capische, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.