We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capische

Capische
Hotel Wailea, 555 Kaukahi Road, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808•879•2224
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capische is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 41 Restaurants in Wailea
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kalai Waa
Gresham, OR
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Fabulous terrace view. The most attentive service that anyone could ask for or expect. Unusual entree items with absolutely unique presentation. Fresh herbs used in drinks from bar and in the kitchen. Serene setting. Beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    68
    64
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a dinner for 12 at Capische after our wedding on White Rock beach. It was a beautiful setting, and Marina was extremely helpful in planning the dinner. The food was also very good! However, DO NOT get your wedding cake here. Order one from a bakery and pay the slice fee. Our cake looked awful! It looked nothing like the picture I'd been told that they could duplicate. It was 2 tiers, and it looked like the top tier was melting into the bottom one. The red velvet cake was extremely dry and was not good at all. The restaurant charged me $322.00 for this debacle. I've paid $30 for birthday cakes from the grocery store that were better than this was! It was a very big disappointment and such a shame that this was the best they could do for a once in a lifetime cake...our wedding cake.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Very nice but really pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The portions are small and the prices are high. The quail was excellent the risotto was not good. The risotto was like mushroom rice soup and the portion was tiny for $22. The service was excellent and the location is lovely. Overall it was good but not worth the price in my opinion.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunset Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just a 5 minute drive hotel, this was some of the best food we ate in Maui. The food was scrumptious, and 5 star quality as well. I had the veal, and it was the best I ever had. The atmosphere was superb, it is both inside and outside, and since the hotel was on a hill, you could see the beach and Hawaiian sunset as far as the eye could see. The service was simply amazing, all the wait staff were professional, helpful, and overall friendly people. This was a fantastic dinner, and I can't wait to go back one day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country, north of San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It Could be Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Well we have been to our fair share of pricy restaurants on this island and we read the mix reviews on TA. We decided to brave Wailea and see for ourselves. We are blue collar working folks but do not mind spending hard earned dollars on a really good meal. We started with a shared order of Risotto appetizer and it was the best we had ever tasted. We also shared an order of their Augular salad. I had the Cioppino becase I was told it was incredible. It was very good, definitely near the top in freshness and quality but the amount you were served for $54 was liken to a French cuisine portion. In addition the overly generous use of the rice shaped Orzo pasta pretty much came with every spoonful and thus dominated or altered the taste of this otherwise wonderful dish. I tasted more of the pasta and less of the seafood dish. My wife’s filet steak was very good and cooked to order. The wine choices are pretty good and pretty pricy. What surprised us was the “standard pour” was about two ounces less than the standard we normally experience. Their signature Caramel Tart dessert was very good. In conclusion I am a little conflicted with Capische. No doubt the location is grand and you catch some cool evening breezes from the terraced dinning. The lower level dinning is superbly arranged for privacy with flowers and vegetation separating individual tables. The service was very attentive and the young staff very accommodating. However, for a shared appetizer of risotto, shared side of salad, three glasses of wine, two entrees, and a shared dessert, the total came to $217 with taxes included. The bottom line for us is this place is very nice and has potential but not the best value unless you have money to burn.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capische also viewed

 

Been to Capische? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capische, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.