We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love burgers...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeseburger Island Style

Cheeseburger Island Style
3750 Wailea Alanui Dr., Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
808 874-8990
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 41 Restaurants in Wailea
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“If you love burgers...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you are a health conscious non-burger eater then I wouldn't recommend this as an optimal place to eat. However, if you like a big juicy piece of meat between buns then you'd be in heaven. My husband enjoyed the restaurant and so did many of his male colleagues. I found my shrimp salad to be on the bland side and a little over-priced. Happy hour in the afternoons offers cocktails at half price so its a good place to wind down. The service was fine. Its a rustic restaurant so don't go expecting anything fancy.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    173
    168
    89
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Mediocre attempt to be a Red Robin”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Went to Cheeseburger Island style in Wailea for lunch. They weren't that busy when we arrived, and the menu looked good. The Menu is very similar to something you'd see at Red Robin, which if executed well, is a good thing. I ordered the Kahlua Pork Sandwich, my wife ordered the BLT-A(BLT w/Avocado). Couple things stood out.
#1), their prices for burgers and such initially look good for Wailea, about $12 average. But then if you read the fine print, you realize it's an additional $2.99 just to get fries with your burger. So now your Burger or Sandwich w/Fries is $15. That might be OK if it was really good, but it's not.
#2), My bet is that my "roasted Kahlua pig" came out of a can, and was just slap directly onto a bun with no sauce or attempt to make it look homemade. it was not very warm, and my sweet potatoes fries were not warm either.
#3)The service was very slow, and my first bill was incorrect(billed me an additional $10). Luckily the mistake was obvious to me, so disappointing our server did not see it first.
However, my wife thought the BLT-A was good, and it did have a lot of avocado.
There are so many good places to eat in the Wailea/Kehei area, with similar prices but better food and service. I would not go here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrible food and tacky restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had the "It's all good" hamburger, bun was soggy and wasn't that great. My girlfriend had the Chinese salad which wasn't that good either. In the salad they had like styrofoam noodles, she had to scrap them off of her salad to eat.

Waitresses really didn't seem to care about anything.

The drinks were decent though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, CI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Burger for Breakfast...oh alright then!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've never had anything like it, coming from Britain, but when we went to Cheeseburger Island Style one morning for breakfast we just had to try the scrambled burger, which was basically a cut up burger patty, scrambled eggs, onion and cheese! Crazy, but my goodness it worked, we didn't need to eat until evening time either, so great value!

Service was also great, very fast and friendly! Plus, the football was on, so great entertainment!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hit the spot food, horrible hostess!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We are at the Grand Wailea for a week and really had been craving beef. A standard, greasy burger seemed to be perfect! We went in on Sunday, Jan 12th about 4pm. We had a great table and enjoyed our server very much. Food hit the spot and drinks were half price. What's not to love? The HOSTESS!! Atilla the Hun was nicer!! My husband dropped a tiny piece of bread to a poo bird that had a missing tail and only one leg and this girl came over and rudely yelled at him. I understand they do not want a million birds flocking into their dining area but come on. She did not have to be completely rude to us AND there were no signs posted about bird feeding ....? There are ways to be polite to customers without acting psyco. So because of one rude CHILD hostess, we will not be back. Wonder what Edna would think of that employee? Lol.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheeseburger Island Style also viewed

 

Been to Cheeseburger Island Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeseburger Island Style, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.