We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Makena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Makena Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Makena Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Limited Time Offer
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fernie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical Makena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed 12 nights in February. Our 4th trip to Hawaii and would say this was our favourite trip so far. Makena is not for everyone to be sure. If you're going for the pool, this isn't the place for you. If you want a great beach, comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff you would do well to check it out. I've put off writing a review because I'd like to keep Makena a secret! Thanks to everyone at the resort for making our trip special. Hope to see you all again next winter.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room and were very happy with it. We came to go to the beach and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,760
    689
    141
    59
    19
See reviews for
594
1,589
78
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We truly enjoyed our down time at the Makena Resort. The location is a bit more rustic and less crowded than other resorts which was perfect for us. The staff was extremely pleasant and took care to ensure that our visit was lovely. We would be happy to book a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Another great stay here. The views are great the beach is awesome and the service is excellent. Valet is free and if you book with the continental breakfast option you will be full every morning. There are just a few things I had a problem with, the food is priced just a little high, the ocean front rooms also include rooms that most would consider ocean view or some hotels call premium ocean view. And the room color should be updated. But factor everything else in and throw in free high speed internet this place is a gem. Hopefully we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: If you really want ocean front, confirm before you get there that the room is the closest to the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Us
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a great staycation at Makena Beach & Golf Resort. The staff is so nice, the rooms so comfortable. We LOVE the "Kama'aina rate"!!! So nice to have a hotel that really enjoys and encourages us locals to come and stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just returned from a 6 night stay at the Makena. Everything mentioned in the other 5-star reviews is spot on. One night we had dinner at Spago's at the Four Seasons, and while it's a beautiful resort, it lacked the peace and quiet at the Makena. it's also in one of the most beautiful parts of Maui. I would definitely go back someday. We did hear rumors of some future renovations to the pool area, but the staff seemed a little tight lipped about that.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean front and south side have nicer views. On the north side there are 4 houses bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

It is always great to be back at the Makena Resort. Feels like home. No better place to rest, relax and enjoy Maui. The best value in Wailea/Makena too. Pool cabanas are comfortable plentiful and FREE. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I decided to spend three nights in Lahiana and three nights in the Wailea area at the Makena. We knew after leaving Lahiana we'd be ready for some relaxation and Makena was perfect for that! I agree with some of the other reviews that Makena is not a high-end resort, but more of a mid-level hotel that certainly still gives a nice and hawaiian feel. For us it was exactly what we were looking for and we felt so relaxed and away from the crowds while we were here. The beach was very nice and we loved that it wasn't too crowded and provided a lot of sandy area to lay out. They also provide FREE lounge chairs and water while you lay out.

The pool is certainly nothing special but we still liked laying by the pools. The main pool is heated which was nice so that we could actually get in. The food at the pool was great. We got their signature pizza two days in a row and loved it! The drinks were also very good. My one complaint is the wait time at the pool. We loved big C, but man was he slow. They really need to either add staff or get them to move faster because it was annoying to wait 15-20 minutes for a drink. Overall though we loved that there were few kids and a more relaxed feel in the pool area.

We ate at the breakfast buffet and the main restaurant and loved both. Again, both had a relaxed feel and great food! We also loved the grounds and all the beautiful flowers and trees inside the hotel. We also love that they provide a hospitality room for those folks that are checking out but want to enjoy the beach/pool before they need to leave. We got to use the room for free and shower before our flight.

Overall, we would recommend Makena to everyone and would certainly come back.

Room Tip: We had a view of the construction and it wasn't bad at all! We still had a view of the ocean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakenaResortMaui, Public Relations Manager at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are proud to have be able to provide the relaxing stay you were looking for. We are happy that our Pool Bar and Grill was to your liking. We have also taken your comments regarding our pool service to heart and forwarded them to our food and beverage team for further review and necessary action. We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of our our hospitality rooms. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Makena sometime in the near future. Till then we wish you a warm Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Makena Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located on Maui's southern coast, the family friendly beach front resort, formerly known as the Maui Prince, offers guestrooms and suites complete with private lanais and ocean views, tennis club, convenience to Wailea Golf, an inviting white sand beach and a aloha-spirited staff; it is the Maui vacation you have been waiting to have in luxury style beach resort. Makena Resort is a great value with no resort fee, no parking charges (valet or self) and complimentary Internet throughout the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Makena Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel Makena
Makena Beach And Golf Resort
Prince Hotel Maui
Maui Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Wailea
Wailea Prince Hotel
Makena Beach & Golf Resort Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.