We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would really deserves a 6th star !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Makena Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Makena Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Limited Time Offer
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would really deserves a 6th star !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

So relaxing to start with not to have to pay for a resort fee. Everything here is included, as valet parking and wi-fi in the room (good speed). Of our island hopping experience, this is the only place to do so. Kids also feel welcome with goodies especially for them.
Welcoming was great (thanks to Sally and her great colleague !): check-in was smooth and quick. For a while, we thought the fireworks on the beach was for us (we arrived on July 14, which is our National day) but we herad it was a special occasion and not for the Frenchies. The room was spatious (king bed + sofa for the kids), and a big balcony with an amazing view on the ocean. Our friends in Minneapolis who highly recommended the resort (thanks Annie !) had told us about a construction going on on the north side. We realized this only after a few days, as they made no noise, and did not block our view at all.
Food was good also (we tried the breakfast buffet, the main restaurant and the pool restaurant), but what really makes a difference in this hotel is the quality of service. From the valet parking (thanks Richard), to the umbrella guys, everybody was smiling, nice and helpful always. And never did we feel this was fake or not sincere. Unfortunately, we spent only six days at the Makena, and can't wait to be back. Thanks Diane (our concierge) for your tour advice, thanks Faiz and your French colleague (sorry i forgot your name) for your great and warm welcoming, and incredible advice on touring the island.
Only one thing we believe could be improved is the old-style swimming pool area, although there again people are amazing (thanks Big C. !). But to those who think of booking here, be aware the beach is also a great place for snorkeling (we saw six or seven green see turtles one meter from the shore !).

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,814
    700
    147
    59
    19
See reviews for
608
1,639
79
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We wanted a quiet honeymoon and found the perfect spot at the Makena Beach and Golf Resort. We were there for two weeks. A few family members who came out for the wedding also said it was the best place they stayed during their island-hopping. We had an oceanfront room and went to sleep by the sound of the surf, albeit on a very soft mattress. Our package included the breakfast buffet each morning. It was excellent but expensive if not part of the room rate. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner once. The portions are huge and the food was delicious. One dinner by the pool, expensive but we share the chicken quesadilla. Their golf course was closed for renovation but we got the guest rate a the Wailea courses. We rented a beach umbrella for $25/day and used free beach lounge chairs. We took our own snorkel gear and were glad because that area is known as "Turtle Town" and it was! We also had a couples massage the day after the wedding. There was an issue with a small electric vanity mirror that housekeeping broke, but Sally at the front desk sent emails on our behalf and we were not asked to pay for the damage. There was excellent service everywhere. Within a few days the valets knew our name. They have complimentary bottles of cold water for you anytime. If you want a relaxing vacation with lots of options for excursions, this is the place. If you want lots of shops and sidewalk action Lahaina and Kaanapali.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The last hotel in South Maui... it's incredibly beautiful, and very luxurious. The service was wonderful, and the property was so classy. The interior courtyard has a koi pond, and small waterfalls, and there are pieces of local made art all over. Small boutique shops line one floor, with the rooms tucked away from view. We had the breakfast buffet one morning which had a great variety of food, and it was all freshly prepared and constantly replenished. They have fresh squeezed orange juice on the buffet which is awesome!

The beach is on the smaller side, but has very calm waters. There is excellent snorkeling on both sides, as well as a turtle who lives right in the waters off the beach! The stars are incredibly beautiful at night, as the property isn't surrounded by a lot of lights. They have plenty of planned activities all throughout the week, such as lei-making, and nighttime telescope gatherings around a fire.

The hotel also lies about 10 minutes away from one of the best beaches on the island - Big (and Little) Beach, and about 15 minutes away from the town of Kihei. The drive to Kihei is also beautiful, especially if you drive through Wailea with all the luxury condos.

All in all, stay here! It was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you are going Maui for the first time and want beach, golf and serenity Makena Beach Resort is the place. The beach is uncrowded with great snorkeling. A catamaran pulls right up on the resorts beach for morning and afternoon snorkeling trips which means you can sleep in an hour longer and avoid the mega boats out of Ma'alea for a Molakini trip.
On an island where excellent customer care and exceptional service is the standard Makena Beach Resort staff exceed the rest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our first visit to Maui, and we lucked out to land at the Makena Beach Resort. This is the last resort at the end of the road south from Wailea, and it's the place to go. Get a package (on their website, or...) and the rate is about HALF of the Wailea-resort rates. Very friendly staff, great breakfast buffet, excellent beach, saw turtles right there, the dive-boat came to us, etc. OK, it's also got free self-park & free valet parking and NO 'RESORT FEE!'

Room Tip: Get a room in the south wing, it has a much better view. Note:The rooms get smaller above the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Quiet and beautiful. Not as crowded as any other resort areas of Maui. Hope I can keep this a "secret." The beach is as good as any in Wailea but the resort does not feel like a big, busy mega-resort even though it's a good-sized resort. Free shuttle (Lincoln Navigators!) between the resort and the Makena Golf Course. Lunch at a Golf Course restaurant with an expansive view of the course and ocean is quite a treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've stayed here twice and both times were great. Excellent services throughout the hotel, friendly staff. I will be back! This will be my place to go when I am in Maui for now on. The resort is not over crowed it is just right. I love it!

Room Tip: I've stayed on both sides - poolside is just a little further away from ocean, but you have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Makena Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located on Maui's southern coast, the family friendly beach front resort, formerly known as the Maui Prince, offers guestrooms and suites complete with private lanais and ocean views, tennis club, convenience to Wailea Golf, an inviting white sand beach and a aloha-spirited staff; it is the Maui vacation you have been waiting to have in luxury style beach resort. Makena Resort is a great value with no resort fee, no parking charges (valet or self) and complimentary Internet throughout the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Makena Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel Makena
Makena Beach And Golf Resort
Prince Hotel Maui
Maui Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Wailea
Wailea Prince Hotel
Makena Beach & Golf Resort Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.