We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Makena Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Makena Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save25% Breakfast Package
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We wanted a quiet honeymoon and found the perfect spot at the Makena Beach and Golf Resort. We were there for two weeks. A few family members who came out for the wedding also said it was the best place they stayed during their island-hopping. We had an oceanfront room and went to sleep by the sound of the surf, albeit on a very soft mattress. Our package included the breakfast buffet each morning. It was excellent but expensive if not part of the room rate. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner once. The portions are huge and the food was delicious. One dinner by the pool, expensive but we share the chicken quesadilla. Their golf course was closed for renovation but we got the guest rate a the Wailea courses. We rented a beach umbrella for $25/day and used free beach lounge chairs. We took our own snorkel gear and were glad because that area is known as "Turtle Town" and it was! We also had a couples massage the day after the wedding. There was an issue with a small electric vanity mirror that housekeeping broke, but Sally at the front desk sent emails on our behalf and we were not asked to pay for the damage. There was excellent service everywhere. Within a few days the valets knew our name. They have complimentary bottles of cold water for you anytime. If you want a relaxing vacation with lots of options for excursions, this is the place. If you want lots of shops and sidewalk action Lahaina and Kaanapali.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    734
    155
    63
    23
See reviews for
677
1,725
82
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The last hotel in South Maui... it's incredibly beautiful, and very luxurious. The service was wonderful, and the property was so classy. The interior courtyard has a koi pond, and small waterfalls, and there are pieces of local made art all over. Small boutique shops line one floor, with the rooms tucked away from view. We had the breakfast buffet one morning which had a great variety of food, and it was all freshly prepared and constantly replenished. They have fresh squeezed orange juice on the buffet which is awesome!

The beach is on the smaller side, but has very calm waters. There is excellent snorkeling on both sides, as well as a turtle who lives right in the waters off the beach! The stars are incredibly beautiful at night, as the property isn't surrounded by a lot of lights. They have plenty of planned activities all throughout the week, such as lei-making, and nighttime telescope gatherings around a fire.

The hotel also lies about 10 minutes away from one of the best beaches on the island - Big (and Little) Beach, and about 15 minutes away from the town of Kihei. The drive to Kihei is also beautiful, especially if you drive through Wailea with all the luxury condos.

All in all, stay here! It was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you are going Maui for the first time and want beach, golf and serenity Makena Beach Resort is the place. The beach is uncrowded with great snorkeling. A catamaran pulls right up on the resorts beach for morning and afternoon snorkeling trips which means you can sleep in an hour longer and avoid the mega boats out of Ma'alea for a Molakini trip.
On an island where excellent customer care and exceptional service is the standard Makena Beach Resort staff exceed the rest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our first visit to Maui, and we lucked out to land at the Makena Beach Resort. This is the last resort at the end of the road south from Wailea, and it's the place to go. Get a package (on their website, or...) and the rate is about HALF of the Wailea-resort rates. Very friendly staff, great breakfast buffet, excellent beach, saw turtles right there, the dive-boat came to us, etc. OK, it's also got free self-park & free valet parking and NO 'RESORT FEE!'

Room Tip: Get a room in the south wing, it has a much better view. Note:The rooms get smaller above the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Quiet and beautiful. Not as crowded as any other resort areas of Maui. Hope I can keep this a "secret." The beach is as good as any in Wailea but the resort does not feel like a big, busy mega-resort even though it's a good-sized resort. Free shuttle (Lincoln Navigators!) between the resort and the Makena Golf Course. Lunch at a Golf Course restaurant with an expansive view of the course and ocean is quite a treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've stayed here twice and both times were great. Excellent services throughout the hotel, friendly staff. I will be back! This will be my place to go when I am in Maui for now on. The resort is not over crowed it is just right. I love it!

Room Tip: I've stayed on both sides - poolside is just a little further away from ocean, but you have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This resort is fantastic. I stayed at a few in Maui and this was the best. The service was remarkable as was the caring for each patron. A beautiful property and great location away from the other very crowded resorts. Serene and laid back with a great beach with good snorkeling. The best was that they did not have a resort charge. Most resorts in Maui have additional charges of $25-$30 for water, internet and parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
2.0 mi away
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
28.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
26.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
2.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makena Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located on Maui's southern coast, the family friendly beach front resort, formerly known as the Maui Prince, offers guestrooms and suites complete with private lanais and ocean views, tennis club, convenience to Wailea Golf, an inviting white sand beach and a aloha-spirited staff; it is the Maui vacation you have been waiting to have in luxury style beach resort. Makena Resort is a great value with no resort fee, no parking charges (valet or self) and complimentary Internet throughout the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Makena Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel Makena
Makena Beach And Golf Resort
Prince Hotel Maui
Maui Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Wailea
Wailea Prince Hotel
Makena Beach & Golf Resort Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.