We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay if you want to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Makena Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Makena Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$239 & No Resort Fee!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Southern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The place to stay if you want to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our stay here was very relaxing. The rooms are comfortable and the location is ideal. The beach has everything you need. You can swim, snorkel or lay out. Watching the sunset from above the beach is also wonderful.

We rented a kayak from the hotel. We had kayaked on other Hawaiian islands in the past, but the process was never easy. At Makena, you simply walk up to the kiosk near the beach, let them know your room number, and they will help you launch right there.

The hotel has an excellent buffet for breakfast. I highly recommend getting the buffet included with your stay. It is an excellent value. We primarily ate dinners at the restaurants nearby. There are several places with happy hours that make the price reasonable.

The rooms were clean. Starbucks coffee was provided complimentary for brewing in your room. The beds were comfortable. The view from the balcony was perfect.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They accommodated all of our needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    927
    399
    88
    38
    10
See reviews for
308
879
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here and everything was just perfect. The entire resort is just first class, and the staff is wonderful. Beach access is the best, and a very nice beach at that. We came on the "breakfast package" with an ocean view room, and this is an excellent Maui value. The breakfasts are truly sumptuous, and are varied every day, with so much to choose from. Anytime I am staying on the south shore, I would always come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the makena beach & golf resort last august and are already booked again for this september. we stayed at the fairmont kea lani before, and thought our budget decision to stay at the makena might be regretted later, but we actually preferred the chill atmosphere of the makena resort. the views are lovely, the staff friendly and helpful, the beach is amazing (I loved my daily snorkeling with turtles), and the rooms are nice with comfy beds, flat screen tv's with hookups for your devices (we watched breaking bad via netflix & didn't have connection issues), lanais for enjoying sunset dinners in your room and a mini kitchen area with a coffee maker and empty fridge for snacks and beverages. we did the breakfast buffet as part of our package and, honestly, it was not good compared to the kea lani - especially if you are a vegetarian, but it wasn't terrible either... just could use some improving, especially in the fresh fruit area. it was available, but not the tastiest I've had on the island. note: if you like peanut butter on your toast, you can have a server bring it to you, and it is fun to sit near the pond where the server can bring you food for the koi fish - they go crazy! yes, the pool is small, but it's perfect for lounging around when you want umbrella-style cocktail service from super nice staff (including frozen fruit and water that they bring everyone from time to time) and a break from the sandy beach, which is gorgeous. they also have a few resort cats that hang out near the pool and we'd get our animal fix when needed - we miss our own kitties while on vacation. the grounds are lovely and there are activities to keep you busy if you prefer that to reading by the pool and floating with the fishes at the beach. we went on the snorkel trip that leaves right from the beach (love that!) and will be doing that again too! everything we wanted from our vacation was packed into this budget-friendly hotel - we had a wonderful time and cannot wait to go back. p.s. you will either love or hate the tommy bahama toiletries which smell like piña coladas.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in a "Partial Ocean-view Suite". It was essentially a 1-BR/2-BA apartment with a wet bar instead of a kitchen. Very comfortable furnishings. One bathroom had a tub and the other had a shower. The ocean view was only from the bedroom lanai, but that was compensated for by the fact that all of these suites are at the very ends of the building, so there is no other room on one side of you and no one walking past your door. Outside, you couldn't see any signs of humanity - no people, no cars, no buildings, no roads, nothing. In fact, it looked like nothing but wilderness. It felt very private. This hotel is the furthest south of all the hotels on Maui. Quiet and secluded. There was a small lanai off the living room, but the bedroom lanai was about 10' by 12'. We moved the table and chairs out of the way and had enough room to ballroom dance under the moonlight. The alarm clock had an iPod dock so we could play dance music from my phone. Very romantic.

But the true joy was the way we were treated by the staff. Everyone from the Bell Desk to the Check-in Desk to the beach staff was so friendly. They made us believe that they were overjoyed to see us, and would do anything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. That leads me to the story of the best part of our stay. Dinner in the Molokini Bar and Grille.

My girlfriend has numerous food allergies and dietary restrictions. She very seldom finds good things that she can eat on a regular restaurant menu - and has to settle for something like a plain salad with special dressing that she brought herself from home. So I called their Executive Chef, Mark McDowell, a few days in advance of our visit and explained to him the limitations that she has. He created a special menu of slightly altered regular menu items all of which she could eat. She had multiple choices of appetizer and multiple choices of entree. That is a luxury that she almost never sees. To top it off, the menu was titled with her name - so she knew that this had been created just for her. The hostess had been alerted to watch out for us, and the special treatment that we received from the entire staff was absolutely fabulous! He went above and beyond any expectation. And he did it like it was just a normal occurrence in his restaurant.

We will be going back.

Room Tip: Ocean-view suites are in the center of the building, facing the ocean full on. But the partial ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

To begin, my bias is against large resort hotels, which describes the character of this resort. It is neither charming or romantic, in my view. On the plus side, the rooms are very nice and it does not have the usual resort trappings of a huge pool and running screaming children (yes, ours are grown up now and thus we can avoid such places and, in time, so will yours and so likely will you). That said, if you have kids, this would probably be a good alternative, as there are lots of places to run around, but it does not have a large pool and slides, like many of the alternatives in the area. Also, it appears to be the last hotel in the chain of hotels along Wailea's hotel row, so perhaps that is the reason for fewer guests. The beach and its amenities are quite nice as are the large grounds of the hotel. The "golf resort" is a bit of a misnomer, as Makena currently has both of its courses being renovated, but guests of the Makena Beach may play the Wailea courses at the same price that they would normally pay for Makena. Personally, I prefer the Makena courses, but at least they are providing a good alternative.

Room Tip: Our "ocean view room" was to the side of the hotel. As the hotel is in a curved shape, fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our second time on Maui, tried the south side this time and stayed seven nights at Makena. The hotel itself is beautiful with a great staff. Upon a late afternoon arrival from the east coast, we were greeted by hotel staff immediately and made welcome. However, disappointed in the "ocean view" room we paid for which actually overlooked construction in a dirt filled lot and the only ocean we could see was standing in the corner of the lanai. Our AC was not working and the room stuffy. We complained to the staff and were given an upgrade the following day. Front desk customer service Ron was very accomodating to our needs. This hotel is more laid back, off the beaten path and away from alot of the attractions. Very quiet and relaxing. If you like a fast pace, night life, fancy frills and activities this is not for you. The grounds, lobby and gardens are beautiful, the hotel room clean and comfortable. Valet service is outstanding and we found "Thomas" to be our favorite. They offer free shuttle service to area hotels, restaurants and activities. Hotel dining is expensive with a limited menu, but has excellent service. There is a breakfast bistro in the lobby that sells fresh fruits, pastries and Starbuck's coffee. The pool area is quite small as is the pool itself. My only complaint here would be the pool service was slow and many times it took ten-twenty minutes for a beverage to arrive even on slow days. The beach is a small walking distance and is clean, quiet with nice views and sunsets. We were able to see sea turtles and whales the last day we were here. This hotel is great for couples, retirees, young families with small children and those who enjoy quiet time and wants to relax. Great value for the service we received and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Tip: Best Dining options we found #1 MonkeyPod, #2 Tommy Bahama, #3 Mulligan's on the Blue all within 5-10 minutes driving. Great food and service.

Room Tip: Side overlooking the pools has the best views to the ocean as the other side has recent construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for my honeymoon. We wanted to stay at a more elegant hotel like the Waldorf or Ritz but found the price to good to pass up. Wow, are we happy we did. The hotel is beautiful and truly low key. Rooms are a good size and the lobby is beautiful. The staff is very friendly for the most part, especially the bell desk. We would stay here again if we weren't looking into a house/condo rental next time. Dinning out in Maui is a lot on the pricey side, so a home cooked meal a few times during the stay would save $250+ based on dinner/lunch prices. There is construction on one side of the hotel, luckily we didn't get it, instead we overlooked the golf course. We didn't have breakfast so I can't rate it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makena Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Also Known As:
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel
Makena Beach And Golf Resort
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel Makena
Prince Hotel Maui
Maui Prince Hotel
Maui Prince
Prince Hotel Wailea
Wailea Prince Hotel
Makena Beach & Golf Resort Wailea, Maui
Address: 5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,800 acres on Maui’s southern coast, the newly beautified resort, formerly known as the Maui Prince, offers updated guestrooms and suites complete with private lanais and ocean views, tennis club, convenience to Wailea Golf, an inviting white sand beach and a aloha-spirited staff; it is the Maui vacation you have been waiting to have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Makena Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.