We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makena Beach Resort is beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Makena Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makena Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$130 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Makena Beach Resort is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just finished a seven night stay at Makena Beach and had an excellent experience. The property is beautiful and well maintained, the staff is friendly and professional and the food is outstanding. Makena is a perfect choice for a relaxing vacation experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,084
    465
    101
    40
    11
See reviews for
374
1009
45
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

this time i brought a friend along and every thing about the place just blow her away, i was also very happy to be back all the changes that the hotel was working on on my last visit had been completed and every thing look great . The staff at the pool bar even remembered me from last time the service was the best all over the hotel and very helpful . My friend really enjoy her spa treatment. I had for got how great the beach there was, and the snokle trip was a lot of fun. I lok forward to coming back later in the year.

Room Tip: i like the ocean view side the waves help relax me and i sleep really well and its a great view earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We just spent 10 days at this resort and loved it. So many of the resorts charge resort fees, wifi charges, valet parking charges. This hotel does not. It is totally refreshing. The best staff that we have had at many of our 5 star resorts. If you want to go to Hawaii and still feel the Aloha spirit. This is your choice. If you are looking for a pool with splash and water slide, this is not for you. The pool was perfect for us. It is at the end of Makena so it is away from the other hotels and mall. If you are looking for a tranquil, relaxing, welcoming resort this one is for you

Room Tip: We chose ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wow-Was I happy we took the time to do this. The Makena Beach and Golf Resort is the only hotel in the Wailea/Makena Beach area offering a Stargazing Lecture. We had the Stargazing Dinner at the Grill (which was excellent). They had a special menu, live authentic Hawaiian music and we received a "Smore" making kit for dessert. Following we walked to the lecture on the lawn. It was so popular, that they had to get extra seats. The lecturer was excellent, using a laser pointer to show us the important constellations and the features of the Milky Way Galaxy. As someone who regularly watches the Discovery Channel, this was totally cool and completely worth our time. The staff at the hotel was friendly, helpful and we had free valet parking. What a great idea-

Room Tip: Didn't stey here-had dinner and startgazing lecture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's not perfect and probably not for everyone but we loved the view of whales jumping from our lanai. We liked the fact that it was removed from the developed area but its a 15 minute bike ride. There is construction starting on the north side that might be an issue in some rooms.
The bed was kinda soft, but slept well to the sound of surf. The staff are all really helpful and nice, free bikes and fast Internet, are perks

. The food smells institutional and we only ate fruit there. Go to the four seasons for food and massage and pat yourself on the back for saving $400 a day. A fantastic snorkel and whale watching boat kai kalani leaves from the beach in front of hotel directly to molokini I can still hear the whales.......

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent 7 days at this resort, beginning 1/29/2013. Very well maintained, clean, and private resort. Enjoyed not being in a resort area where there is resort, after resort. after resort. The employees at this resort have to be the friendliest and most professional of any hotel or vacation spot we have been to. The oceanfront rooms are well worth the price, we saw whales daily from our balcony. Great beach. We would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013


First let me start off by saying I'm not a whiner, I'm an old-school partier from Whistler that understands that you get what you pay for. My reviews are centered on giving others the chance to appreciate the great places I have visited and avoid the ones where my time was wasted. I'm not here to cry about a lumpy bed in an $80 hotel room.

The Makena Beach & Golf Resort is a great property staffed by helpful happy people. They have recently upgraded their rooms which all have large balconies and face the ocean (some more than others). There is plenty of complimentary activities including a 9 hole putting course, croquet, shuffleboard, volleyball, free beach yoga and now free bike rentals. As with everything free it's first come first serve but to be honest most of the stuff is usually available.
The breakfast buffet is so amazing that I recommend you don't have it included with your room price or you will nap every afternoon and gain 20lbs on your visit. The other restaurants are slightly above average and the only complaint I can come up with is the almost too attentive staff. In a regular meal you will be visited by 3or 4 different people asking if everything is to your liking and if you don't pick up your fork for 60 seconds someone wi be looking to take your plate away.
Makena is a little off the popular strip of Kihei but that also allows for quick bike trips to big beach and other secluded spots down that end.
The snorkeling out front is adequate and getting in and out is a breeze via the beautiful sandy beach.

Plus
Free bikes - When we visited they had between 3and 6 bikes available with plans to add to the fleet. Some have gears, some don't. Only down side is they want you to return them by 6:30pm but not all of us wear a watch ;)

Free activities - Mentioned above. The morning yoga with whales breaching just off shore is a must do.

Beautiful property - There is a ton of beach and shady lawn spots to enjoy with no one sitting right on top of you.

Huge balconies - You came to Hawaii to be outside right?

Free self and valet parking - Hey it all adds up in the end.

TV's have a USB port - Seems like you might be able to watch movies you bring with you on the decent sized flat screens although I couldn't get it to work (wouldn't surprise me if it was banned somehow). We had to spend the $17.


Minus
Kayak rentals - The main reason we stayed at this end of the island is that we previously had an amazing experience kayaking with the whales just off shore. We were very excited to see that the hotel has singles and doubles for rent. That was until we actually went to access them. We were told that the swell was too large for kayaks even though there were dozens of people already out there, the ocean was dead calm in between minor swell and they were letting severely amature people go out on stand up paddle boards. We were told that if we walked up the beach 8 minutes there would be some for rent at makena landing. Not the case. To get a kayak from there you have to reserve one 24 hours in advance and be there at 6:45am to get it. (we called tiki team @ 808-875-4848, $65 for a double). Morning wasted.

Construction - as of February 2013 it looks like there is a decent sized bit of construction ramping up on the property beside the resort to the north. A few days we were treated to the relaxing sounds of heavy machinery right until sunset. Beware.

Internet - I know it's supposed to be a vacation and your not supposed to spend all your time online but in today's cyber-environment we use the internet for everything from making dinner reservations or plans with friends nearby (since using a cellphone in any country other than your own is the last cash grab for the greedy cellphone companies). the wireless was ok in the lobby and by the pool but barely usable in the rooms. I usually travel with an airport express to share the ethernet in the room as it's sometimes better but forgot it this trip.

Showers - Minor thing but the temperature fluctuated all the time and the head gave off a spray about the diameter of a coffee cup.

Ants - Again minor as they seem to come with almost all rooms in warm climates but worth mentioning if this bugs you. There were mini ants crawling around the coffee maker/fridge area.

Tip: ask for a room on the south side but maybe not right above the pool if you really require serenity.

Tip: Always ask the property directly about nearby construction as it isn't wont show up on Expedia or the property website.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonilla_makena, Public Relations Coordinator at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Mahalo! We thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of the property. We truly appreciate it when people provide such thorough accounts of their vacation time with us. We are glad that overall you had a great stay with us and are glad that you appreciate the many free and complimentary services and activities available for guests.

We are sorry to hear that the attentiveness of our staff at our restaurants was bothersome, your comments have been forwarded to our Food & Beverage team for consideration.

Please know that our number one concern is the safety and security of our guests. We request that our Our complimentary bikes be returned by 6:30 PM to ensure that our guests have returned before the sunset period, the roads of Makena Alanui be dark for some and it is in the interest of our guest's safety to have our bikes off the road before this time. As for our kayaks our, we are sorry to hear that you felt our Beach Activity staff concerns regarding the swells were not warranted. Our staff is out on the beach everyday and are experienced with the swells and how they interact with the different rental equipments we provide, the issue of the kayaks was simply out of the concerns for safety. We are sorry to hear that you were having problems with the internet in the rooms, we are working with our internet service provider to resolve such issues. Unfortunately a family home is currently being built on the small area adjacent to the property. Fortunately, the resort expects a short project period and offers many unaffected rooms throughout the property.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the property sometime in the near future, and on behalf of the Makena Ohana, we wish you our warmest Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makena Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located on Maui's southern coast, the family friendly beach front resort, formerly known as the Maui Prince, offers guestrooms and suites complete with private lanais and ocean views, tennis club, convenience to Wailea Golf, an inviting white sand beach and a aloha-spirited staff; it is the Maui vacation you have been waiting to have in luxury style beach resort. Makena Resort is a great value with no resort fee, no parking charges (valet or self) and complimentary Internet throughout the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Makena Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel Makena
Makena Beach And Golf Resort
Prince Hotel Maui
Maui Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Wailea
Wailea Prince Hotel
Makena Beach & Golf Resort Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.