We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't actually stay here but "visited"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Makena Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makena Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Wailea
wellington, fl
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Didn't actually stay here but "visited"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

next time, I vote for staying here. We were booked at one of the large Wailea hotels & had a sweet deal (combo of points & actual free days + $100 meal credit) but if/when we return to Maui, this is the Maui location for us!

The valet parkers were not only efficient, they were gracious & fun to talk with.

The concierge, Diane, who assisted me on-line in booking our ocean-side massages was a joy to meet in person and the embodiment of helpful. Even though this hotel is much smaller than the one we stayed at, the concierge desk had 2 people...sometimes 3, staffing it at all times...no waiting like where we stayed!

Grounds were beautiful and relaxing,,,the beach looked sooo inviting & beautiful...there was scuba & I think snorkeling gear/lessons available right there.

We were so relaxed after our amazing lomi lomi massages, we just drove over to their golf course-view restaurant, Cafe on the Green for an incredibly good and very relaxing lunch...the view is worth going for if nothing else!

I'll review the massages in another post, but you seriously must book a massage by the beach...the sound of waves & little children's giggles, the smell of plumeria...perfection. Laura Lynn was my massuse and she was phenominal and has been doing this a long time, and her expertise and aloha shined. Renee was my DH's massuse and he really loved his massage too & she gave him some exercise tips for his golf-strained back. We felt we were saying goodbye to friends when we left. Mahalo to everyone we met there...wishing you a great New Year.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,199
    509
    112
    42
    15
See reviews for
433
1094
52
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We absolutely love this resort and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When we checked in, I asked for a complimentary upgrade and was pleasantly surprised to be told that we were already upgraded to an ocean view room. The room had a spectacular view and was quite spacious. As others have said, the resort is a few miles away from restaurants and shopping but that is what we loved about it. Quiet, peaceful and serene – expansive manicured lawns. The beach was wonderful, not crowded at all and the snorkeling off the beach was really good. We are looking for to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

OK, if you are into Maui, paying big bucks, you might be just like me 'a beach lover'. If so, this is the perfect hotel for you. The beach is just fantastic. Small, but large enough, and secluded and
very clean (as hotel staff is overseeing the use, even so it is a public beach).
The hotel is great. Renovated in 2009, I could actually sleep in beds that are new and comfortable. Rooms are large, have refrigerator but not kitchenette, and bathrooms are nice, but not high end. There is a balcony in each room, and that is super helpful with wet swimming suits, and beach gear. We also ate at their pool grill and were happy with hamburgers and calzones.
I would come back as it is the most inexpensive hotel on the beach in Wailea area.
Also the hotel staff is super friendly and helpful. Great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'll start with the negatives, which don't apply to most visitors. The resort has LONG walks from lobby to rooms, rooms to dining, lobby to pool,etc. I walk with a cane, and with the humid heat, I find those distances daunting.

We arrived at the resort at midnight. There were no Valets to park our car,no bell captain to schlep our bags and not even a luggage cart available. imagine this handicapped senior hauling 2 bags down long corridors and then finding our room's A/C wasn't working!

Then, the room was spacious but pretty much devoid of Island charm! Might as well have been in Peoria!

However, waking up with an ocean view did a lot to improve matters!

Finding a Starbucks in the lobby didn't hurt, either.

As other T.A. Members have said, the staff is extremely friendly, although the young women at the front desk hadn't a clue about the details of my husband's meeting when asked.

All this aside, we like the fact that the resort is not in a very busy area. It's peaceful! The ground are attractive and the restaurant and lobby areas are nicely appointed.

Food? Good, not excellent.

Would we stay here again? I would if I had an electric conveyance to get me around!

Room Tip: We requested an ocean view room, which we got. We also asked to be close to the elevator We were fai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a Great hotel, which we have stayed at before, in a quiet area of Maui, with wonderful views, very clean and friendly staff, set in lovely well kept grounds and lots of amenities on site to keep you busy, together with its own private beach, otherwise close to shops, did not check out everything here as so much to see and do. Great shops on the grounds too, with discounts for people staying which I thought was a nice idea too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcadia, california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the resort in celebration of our 25th anniversary and we both couldn't be more pleased with the choice. Many resorts charge various fees for different services, but at Makena many services are complimentary and the staff was exceptional. The valet parking crew was friendly and helpful, always offering bottled water and happy to assist in any way. We enjoyed a wonderful ride on two complimentary mountain bikes offered to us and there was always a focus on detail as they added a bike lock so we could walk the beach and detailed instructions. When traveling outside the resort the staff was exceptional in their instructions, bookings and care. A simple question about seeing the sunrise on Haleakala produced a map, a call to the front desk for an appropriate wake up call and instructions to housekeeping to bring blankets for our early morning excursion; which was really appreciated. We loved our room, the sunsets and the fact that by simply opening the glass doors, we could hear the surf below. All in all it was a trip that produced many fond memories and many of those were the result of a wonderful place to stay for five nights in paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were put up at this hotel resort because our United flight to San Francisco was cancelled (along with about 160 other passengers). This place ended up being a few miles further than the resort we had been staying at in Wailea.

It's a fairly large property but wasn't crowded (which is probably why an airline can book a large number of people i with short notice). It was clean and apparently updated.....they even gave us an ocean view. The pools were generic (no water slides, etc.). But the lounge chairs were clean and comfortable Their main restaurant was open for dinner and the food was tasty. Also as important was that the staff was very welcoming and friendly....especially knowing that we were only "temporary" guests. But they made a point of welcoming us back as a future option.

We just might consider returning on another trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makena Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located on Maui's southern coast, the family friendly beach front resort, formerly known as the Maui Prince, offers guestrooms and suites complete with private lanais and ocean views, tennis club, convenience to Wailea Golf, an inviting white sand beach and a aloha-spirited staff; it is the Maui vacation you have been waiting to have in luxury style beach resort. Makena Resort is a great value with no resort fee, no parking charges (valet or self) and complimentary Internet throughout the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Makena Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Beach And Golf Resort
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel Makena
Prince Hotel Maui
Maui Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Wailea
Wailea Prince Hotel
Makena Beach & Golf Resort Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.