We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vey nice with a lot of freebies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Makena Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makena Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Maribor, Slovenia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Vey nice with a lot of freebies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our first stop on Hawaii islands and it turns out it was the best one. We arrived very late at 10:30pm and thus no leis for us (all other guests get them on arrival). Checkin was very neutral, nothing special.

Arriving to the room we were pleasantly surprised as the room was very spacious with large bathroom (shower+bathtub) and we had two queen beds (we are three). Also you get free two bottles of water, starbucks filter coffee with proper cream and internet and not to forget free valet parking! VERY NICE!

Also if you hangout in room for long time, you will get a notice that they did oblige to your "do not disturb" and please call reception for prompt cleaning of you room - again very nice gesture!

People on the resort are very friendly and keen to help, since valet parking is free make sure you tip the friendly guys as they deserve it.

Pool area is nothing to write home about, very plain and dull, but there is plenty of stretchers and shade available, water is maybe a little on the colder side, I think it was colder than sea.

Beach is nice and sandy, stretchers available, but you have to pay for umbrella...I think it was something like $20/day....come on....who can hang out on the beach with kids without shade!?

Be sure to go snorkling on the left side of the beach, turtle town! I meet plenty of turtles there every day, but be sure to go far left, you will see turist boats there every day, go there!

We did not eat anything at the resort as prices are very high....

Also very nice is the putting range by the pools, fun fun fun! Again free...

All in all it is a very nice place to stay a little out of town, but not too far....would come again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,204
    511
    112
    43
    15
See reviews for
434
1100
52
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for two nights on a mini vacation over the weekend. Makena has beautiful views and scenery. The grounds are well kept and lots of quiet places to sit and read or relax on the large property. The staff provide excellent service and were all really friendly and pleasant. The hotel itself is definitely showing its age - the rooms are clean, but tired. Shower stall is small and the hot water was lukewarm at best (I was able to completely shower without even turning on the cold) and only got really hot the 2nd night after running for 20+ minutes. The bathroom also had lots of tiny ants and a few gnats. Flatscreen TV was nice, when the reception worked. Complimentary in-room wireless & wired internet is also a good +. The room door is extremely heavy and thick - great for keeping noise out, but not so great for the elderly to open. Our rooms were on the 1st floor, left wing, which meant we were right above the delivery dock and had a lovely smell of garbage just outside the room and woke up by the garbage & delivery trucks early each morning. Overall, this property is great location, beautiful grounds, quiet and excellent staff and service hampered by aging rooms that need to be refreshed. Good value, if you get it at the right price.

Room Tip: Get a room on the right (north) side of the hotel, opposite from the loading dock to avoid the smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I believed the Aloha spirit was a myth until I met the employees at this resort. They truly welcome you and are such a pleasure to talk with, they are this hotels biggest asset.
Or maybe it was the view in our oceanfront room, or the breakfast buffet included in our package, or the lush tropical grounds,or the location on a sandy beach great for swimming and snorkeling,or the room service and restaurant, or the great value without resort fees.
I would recommend this resort without hesitation and did to several people we met that were dissatisfied in their current hotels or condos.
My only negative was that the property was undergoing some maintenance- tree trimming and the concrete in the pool area. I would suggest to the management to have the landscapers run the wood chipper off the property after they collected the palms, this was quite noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in early November and it was wonderful. Very friendly and attentive staff. Enjoyed the quiet setting that's pretty much at the end of the road. The beach is one of the nicest you'll find anywhere. Great snorkelling, saw lot's of fish and swam with green sea turtles just about every day. Catamaran trips to Molokini crater left from our beach twice daily. On our trip we got to see a pod of apprx. 100 Dolphins swim alongside the boat. Amazing. Contrary to other posts, the breakfast buffet (included in our package) was outstanding. Everything from cereals yogurts, hugh variety of fresh fruit, omelet bar, waffles, bacon & sausage etc. Food quality was also first rate. Enjoying a glass of wine on our Lanai, listening to the ocean was a special way to end the day. We'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: The extra $$ for partial or full ocean view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Today is our last day and we simply couldn't be more happy with our stay. I confess that I am a horrible skeptic (I probably should seek help for it). So when I read all the wonderful reviews before booking our trip I figured there was no way this place would live up to all the great reviews. I have never been happier to say I was completely wrong. From the very start, the staff is amazing. Immediate "Aloha's" and friendly smiles greet you from the valet to the front desk to cleaning room services. Our bags were taken up to our room and arrived within minutes of us getting to our room. Our bellman Lawrence gave us the lay of the land, all the information about restaurants, the breakfast buffet (which was included in our package and is nothing short of fantastic).

The room we had was ocean front and the view couldn't be better. Clean room (standard size for a hotel room) with small fridge, safe, free daily water, beach towels and other items. Perhaps for me the best part is having a Starbucks right here in the lobby. So it's not a franchise store but they do 99% of what the franchise stores do. It's great to walk down at 6, stand in no line and get my Starbucks.

The golf course is great and the price of $99 for resort guests which includes free rentals if you need them is fantastic.

If you're a skeptic like me, take from a fellow skeptic that this place is everything everyone else says it is. It's the best deal in Hawaii and you get way way more than you pay for.

Thanks Makena staff, you made our trip fantastic.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are very good for view, but to pay a little more for ocean front is worth the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonilla_makena, Public Relations Manager at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for the review of Makena. We are so glad to hear that you had such a great stay with us and are glad that you got to take advantage of our great golf course rates for guests with complimentary shoe and club rentals. We are also happy that our lobby Starbucks was to your liking as well. We hope that you will come visit us again soon, til then we wish you an Aloha A Hui Ho (Aloha til we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

from the moment we arrived..... our doors opened, luggage taken care of, car valet parked, given a shell necklace, n a refreshing face cloth. for a four star resort it truly had 5star service. staff so friendly always welcomed us back after venturing out. buffet was the only let down as not too much variety and birds flying around the place landing on the food spoons but i guess that cant be helped. setting amazing and it was away from the busy parts of maui. golf coursr has gorgeous views and great value for resort guests 99 bux including cart,shoe hire,round of golf,and golf clubs. and the staff really looked after you throughout the course. massages were amazing. and was nice to have own private beach. cannot say enough nice things about this place. as i have stayed at a few 5star establishments only to be disappointed by the service given to us. so thank you makena for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonilla_makena, Public Relations Manager at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Aloha, thank you for the review of the resort. We so happy that you overall had a wonderful stay with the Makena Ohana. We are sorry to hear that you did not like our breakfast buffet, we do offer quite a variety that provide can provide a different breakfast each morning to your stay. The buffet includes seasonal fruit like papaya, melons and berries, we offer ready made yogurt, fruit and granola parfaits, include an omelet station, a wide selection of breakfast cereals and oatmeal, plus breakfast favorites like bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles pancake, plus such specialties like poached eggs served over corn beef hash, crispy potatoes tossed with caramelized onions and bell peppers or even miso soup. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our golf course at our great guest rate. We are also glad that our service was supreme compared to other five star hotels you have stayed in the past. We hope to welcome you back to Maui sometime in the near future. Aloha A Hui Ho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a lovely 7 night stay at Makena.
Positives: beautiful property, friendly staff. Reasonable price for the location. Free wifi. Provided water daily. Excellent breakfast buffet. Quiet. Loved the lobster fest and star gazing nights.

Negatives: one of the two pools were closed. Both pools were small and the available one was full of children. Spa was below average.

All in all, beautiful property for a reasonable price and we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makena Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located on Maui's southern coast, the family friendly beach front resort, formerly known as the Maui Prince, offers guestrooms and suites complete with private lanais and ocean views, tennis club, convenience to Wailea Golf, an inviting white sand beach and a aloha-spirited staff; it is the Maui vacation you have been waiting to have in luxury style beach resort. Makena Resort is a great value with no resort fee, no parking charges (valet or self) and complimentary Internet throughout the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Makena Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Beach And Golf Resort
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel Makena
Prince Hotel Maui
Maui Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Wailea
Wailea Prince Hotel
Makena Beach & Golf Resort Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.