We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahalo Makena!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Makena Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Makena Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Nite FREE & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mahalo Makena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I believed the Aloha spirit was a myth until I met the employees at this resort. They truly welcome you and are such a pleasure to talk with, they are this hotels biggest asset.
Or maybe it was the view in our oceanfront room, or the breakfast buffet included in our package, or the lush tropical grounds,or the location on a sandy beach great for swimming and snorkeling,or the room service and restaurant, or the great value without resort fees.
I would recommend this resort without hesitation and did to several people we met that were dissatisfied in their current hotels or condos.
My only negative was that the property was undergoing some maintenance- tree trimming and the concrete in the pool area. I would suggest to the management to have the landscapers run the wood chipper off the property after they collected the palms, this was quite noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    595
    120
    49
    17
See reviews for
482
1,328
64
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in early November and it was wonderful. Very friendly and attentive staff. Enjoyed the quiet setting that's pretty much at the end of the road. The beach is one of the nicest you'll find anywhere. Great snorkelling, saw lot's of fish and swam with green sea turtles just about every day. Catamaran trips to Molokini crater left from our beach twice daily. On our trip we got to see a pod of apprx. 100 Dolphins swim alongside the boat. Amazing. Contrary to other posts, the breakfast buffet (included in our package) was outstanding. Everything from cereals yogurts, hugh variety of fresh fruit, omelet bar, waffles, bacon & sausage etc. Food quality was also first rate. Enjoying a glass of wine on our Lanai, listening to the ocean was a special way to end the day. We'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: The extra $$ for partial or full ocean view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Today is our last day and we simply couldn't be more happy with our stay. I confess that I am a horrible skeptic (I probably should seek help for it). So when I read all the wonderful reviews before booking our trip I figured there was no way this place would live up to all the great reviews. I have never been happier to say I was completely wrong. From the very start, the staff is amazing. Immediate "Aloha's" and friendly smiles greet you from the valet to the front desk to cleaning room services. Our bags were taken up to our room and arrived within minutes of us getting to our room. Our bellman Lawrence gave us the lay of the land, all the information about restaurants, the breakfast buffet (which was included in our package and is nothing short of fantastic).

The room we had was ocean front and the view couldn't be better. Clean room (standard size for a hotel room) with small fridge, safe, free daily water, beach towels and other items. Perhaps for me the best part is having a Starbucks right here in the lobby. So it's not a franchise store but they do 99% of what the franchise stores do. It's great to walk down at 6, stand in no line and get my Starbucks.

The golf course is great and the price of $99 for resort guests which includes free rentals if you need them is fantastic.

If you're a skeptic like me, take from a fellow skeptic that this place is everything everyone else says it is. It's the best deal in Hawaii and you get way way more than you pay for.

Thanks Makena staff, you made our trip fantastic.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are very good for view, but to pay a little more for ocean front is worth the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonilla_makena, Public Relations Manager at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for the review of Makena. We are so glad to hear that you had such a great stay with us and are glad that you got to take advantage of our great golf course rates for guests with complimentary shoe and club rentals. We are also happy that our lobby Starbucks was to your liking as well. We hope that you will come visit us again soon, til then we wish you an Aloha A Hui Ho (Aloha til we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

from the moment we arrived..... our doors opened, luggage taken care of, car valet parked, given a shell necklace, n a refreshing face cloth. for a four star resort it truly had 5star service. staff so friendly always welcomed us back after venturing out. buffet was the only let down as not too much variety and birds flying around the place landing on the food spoons but i guess that cant be helped. setting amazing and it was away from the busy parts of maui. golf coursr has gorgeous views and great value for resort guests 99 bux including cart,shoe hire,round of golf,and golf clubs. and the staff really looked after you throughout the course. massages were amazing. and was nice to have own private beach. cannot say enough nice things about this place. as i have stayed at a few 5star establishments only to be disappointed by the service given to us. so thank you makena for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonilla_makena, Public Relations Manager at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Aloha, thank you for the review of the resort. We so happy that you overall had a wonderful stay with the Makena Ohana. We are sorry to hear that you did not like our breakfast buffet, we do offer quite a variety that provide can provide a different breakfast each morning to your stay. The buffet includes seasonal fruit like papaya, melons and berries, we offer ready made yogurt, fruit and granola parfaits, include an omelet station, a wide selection of breakfast cereals and oatmeal, plus breakfast favorites like bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles pancake, plus such specialties like poached eggs served over corn beef hash, crispy potatoes tossed with caramelized onions and bell peppers or even miso soup. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our golf course at our great guest rate. We are also glad that our service was supreme compared to other five star hotels you have stayed in the past. We hope to welcome you back to Maui sometime in the near future. Aloha A Hui Ho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a lovely 7 night stay at Makena.
Positives: beautiful property, friendly staff. Reasonable price for the location. Free wifi. Provided water daily. Excellent breakfast buffet. Quiet. Loved the lobster fest and star gazing nights.

Negatives: one of the two pools were closed. Both pools were small and the available one was full of children. Spa was below average.

All in all, beautiful property for a reasonable price and we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Went here for a destination wedding in our family...and glad we did. Not as upscale as the Four Seasons or The Fairmont, but still a wonderful experience and very reasonably priced for what you get. We had a wonderful ocean view on the 5th floor with a small terrace to drink wine on as the sun set or coffee on in the mornings to the sounds of the surf. The beach behind the hotel is more private that many beaches and has the feel of almost a private beach. The snorkeling is fun, saw a couple of sea turtles up close without even trying to find them. The pools are small and not particularly kid friendly, for that, try the Marriott if you have deep pockets. The hotel provides transportation for free within about a 5 mile radius, a definite plus if you plan on dining at restaurants at nearby hotels, local shopping or even local beaches. Looking forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: Let the staff know if you are going here for a special occasion they will try to give you absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a great stay at Makena. Everything seemed to be included in the price except lunch and dinner - this seemed to be different than most places we stayed in Hawaii. We wish we could have stayed longer. From the moment we checked in the staff was very courteous and helpful. The woman that checked us in told us about all the great things that came with our hotel stay including valet parking, the breakfast buffet, discounts in the hotel stores, free WI-FI and towels for the beach. It seemed to us at many of the places we stayed in Hawaii most of these items had an extra charge.

Some things I loved about the resort.

- The snorkeling just off the beach was wonderful! You just have to know where to go. At first it seems like there isn't much out there but then you start seeing a little patch of coral here and a little patch there and then bam full coral reef. If you swim out a ways then and then head for the right or left rocky outcropping you will find the reefs and they are teaming with fish, urchins, octopus, sea cucumbers, starfish and other sea life. Not quite as good as Molokini but close. Watch out for the sea turtles. We saw one swimming just off the beach and if you head to the right and swim out past some of the coral reefs you will find a nice sea turtle viewing area. We saw at least five in this area. Including one being cleaned by yellow tangs. It was really cool and memorable. Just remember not to touch the coral - not only because it can sting you and cut you but because the oils in your skin can make it susceptible to disease or you may break off chunks and it grows very slowly. Also don't touch the sea life for the same reason. The fine for touching a sea turtle is very expensive so just keep your hands to yourself and enjoy the show!

- Our room was very nice with a great view. We had a pool, partial ocean, cinder cone and party space view. One night a company was having a reception and we got to sit and listen to their band on our deck. It was a great view and wonderful band. The only thing that would have made it better was tasting the food too.

- The hotel itself is very beautiful. In the center they had two waterfalls with a number of fountains and a nice garden area. In the pond there were a number of koi (beautiful fish). If you ask the hostess at the breakfast counter she will give you a small bag of fish food to feed to them. Great for kids and adults alike.

- The only thing that would have been nicer would have been larger pools. There were two pools (one was being resurfaced and was closed). They are fairly small and round. The snorkeling was so wonderful we never used them but I tend to like large pools with varied shapes. Something I thought was a nice touch however was that each morning they offered guests free snorkeling and scuba diving lessons in the pool.

- My husband and I went on a snorkeling trip the day we were checking out and did not get back until after check out. The bell desk held our baggage and we were given a hospitality room to take showers and freshen up before continuing on our way.

It was just a great hotel - our favorite of all six we stayed at during our trip to Hawaii. We would highly recommend it to others!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor right next to the elevators and never heard them. I think I only heard v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Makena Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located on Maui's southern coast, the family friendly beach front resort, formerly known as the Maui Prince, offers guestrooms and suites complete with private lanais and ocean views, tennis club, convenience to Wailea Golf, an inviting white sand beach and a aloha-spirited staff; it is the Maui vacation you have been waiting to have in luxury style beach resort. Makena Resort is a great value with no resort fee, no parking charges (valet or self) and complimentary Internet throughout the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Makena Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel Makena
Makena Beach And Golf Resort
Prince Hotel Maui
Maui Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Wailea
Wailea Prince Hotel
Makena Beach & Golf Resort Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.