We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, the staff genuinely care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Makena Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Makena Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ADD A FREE $50 CREDIT
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, the staff genuinely care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The entire hotel is showing its age, but they are now doing more upkeep.
Pros - quiet, "removed" location that feels much more serene than Wailea or anything in northern Maui. Staff is fantastic, genuine aloha spirit. The layout of the hotel is open, airy, and it's not overcrowded or glitzy, just comfortable. Beach is great. Service overall is very friendly and comfortable, the staff really like being there and it shows. The pricing has become quite competitive. Room upgrade was given from Scenic View up to Ocean View without even asking. Breakfast is a really pleasant ritual and included in many packages, which I suggest booking. Short drive to Wailea shops or restaurants, or to eat at other hotels.
Cons - smallish pool, but it will be okay for laying around! It is not a hip clientele, if that matters to you (doesn't to me) - average age is 40s or early 50s. Restaurant selection is a bit poor except for breakfast buffet. I really can't think of many cons to Makena, it's just a special place.
Bottom line, if you ran across this and are wondering if you should try a stay here - yes, it will surprise you positively at every turn, it is even much better than some bargain prices might indicate (yes, that means it is a smart choice).

Room Tip: If you're a gambler, review the number of rooms of various types available. Then if you see plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    540
    113
    45
    16
See reviews for
446
1,161
54
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Let me preface this by saying while I love to read reviews, I never write them, but my husband and I fell in love with this resort and I was inspired.

I will not bore you with the details, but needless to say my husband and I were not having the best day after arriving at the Honolulu Airport at 10 a.m. Wednesday morning to find out our flight had been cancelled to San Francisco. It was a very LONG day gettting rebooked. We were eventually sent to Maui to stay overnight and fly out to San Francisco Thursday. Since United was paying for our overnight stay, I honestly was expecting to get placed into a cheap airport hotel (which I was not looking forward to after our beautiful accommodations at Oahu's Turtle Bay Resort). Well, we were very pleasantly surprised...

Although this short trip to Maui was unexpected and unplanned, it was my fourth stay in Maui. We had previously stayed in Kehei and Kaanapali, both of which I like for different reasons. Had it not been for our cancelled flight, we never would have discovered this gem of a resort. What is not to like? I will say if you like the hustle and bustle of a downtown area, this is not the place for you. If you are like us and like a beautiful beachfront, calm, relaxing resort with attentive, friendly service, then I believe you will really enjoy this resort.

After a harrowing day at the airport, we finally arrived at 6:30 p.m. We were greeted very warmly with shell leis, a great bellman, and the front desk attendant was very sweet, regardless of the fact that United had neglected to tell them they were sending over quite a few stranded passengers. She placed us in a beautiful ocean-view room. The rooms are a bit small, but they are tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable and inviting.

We then went to the bar and grill for dinner and received wonderful service from our server. We both voted our dinner there the best of our entire 7-day trip (though had we not been so tired, we would have loved to have made the trek over to our beloved Mama's Fish House!). We woke early Thursday so we could enjoy the beach before our 12:45 flight. The beach is just lovely. As far as I could tell, no other hotels share this beach. It seemed fairly private. The pool area is small, but lovely. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with, again, great service.

Thank you, Makena Beach & Golf Resort, for making us feel welcome and turning what started out as a very unpleasant day into one of the best of our trip. Our "forced" extra day of vacation turned out to be a wonderful experience. My husband and I were making plans to return with our family before we left. What a wonderful, unexpected surprise. We shall return!

Mahalo,
M & J

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel is great. We stayed April 21st -May 2nd. The hotel grounds are very nice, beach is great, and rooms are nice. The Hotel is a bit of a drive to go anywhere but for us that was the appeal. It is about a 10 minute drive to wailea and 20 minutes to kihei. We had the package that included the breakfast buffet, which was amazing. We never had to wait in line and there was always something new to try everyday that we were there. They had made to order omelettes everyday. The pool was small but the comfy loungers and cabanas made up for it. The service was quick at the pool and we never had a problem finding a place to sit. The beach was also really nice and large with plenty of lounge chairs.
Everytime we passed an employee they always greeted us with a smile and aloha.
We loved this hotel and would highly recommend this quiet beautiful hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. The rooms are of average size and clean, but appears old but newly painted over. Airconditioning was not working very well. We had to ask someone to come over and take a look. It improved a little bit after that, but not by much. Breakfast was a bit of a hassle. There were only a few tables, and the line to get in was long. It took us about 30 minutes for our turn. Food was average, nothing spectacular. There is a Starbucks in the lobby if you don't want to wait. The beach was nice, very wide and not crowded. You could see whales jumping in the distance even from shore. The pool needs to be upgraded. It was very small and dated. All in all, it was a pleasant stay but nothing to rave about at all.

Room Tip: If you can, request for a room nearer the elevators. My room was at the end of the hall and quite f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We loved every minute of our stay at Makena. Everyone we met there, from bell hops, to valets, to waiters, were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful, and you will not find a better beach in Maui for swimming or snorkeling. We saw turtles every time we went into the water. The breakfast buffet is so amazing, we only needed to eat two meals a day while we were there! South Maui is defintely the place to be...much more beautiful and less crowded than any other. The only bad part about Makena was having to leave it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We spent 4 nights here, and loved the relaxed and peaceful atmosphere.
Our room was fine - decorated nicely enough, and clean enough, with a great view of the ocean. We loved leaving the sliding doors open and listening to the waves crashing on the shore. The only negative was that the bed was very soft (not in a good way - it sagged a bit in the middle), but that being said, we still slept well.
The breakfast as many have said was amazing, and it was so great to enjoy it outside in the gardens beside the pond.
The beach is fantastic, and the hotel provides towels and lounge chairs. We also rented an unbrella each day....the beach staff were friendly and helpful.
We also spent a couple of hours one day by the pool, and I am not sure what people are unhappy about....it is big enough, and the surrounding area is nicely done with cabanas and comfy loungers and umbrellas, and we found the bar service friendly and efficient.

Everything you need is here to have a wonderful vacation - great location by the beach and golf course with excellent jogging paths, close proximity to so many of the south maui sites, and all the amenities that a resort has to offer, including snorkeling and scuba lessons, and a concierge to book excursions.

We had the package that included valet parking and breakfast, and no resort fee, which made it a terrific value.

We highly recommend this place, and would be glad to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Makena May 4-11 and we absolutely fell in love with it! It was our first visit to Maui and before we booked our stay at Makena, we seriously thought about staying at the Sheraton. The free breakfast buffet, the waived resort and parking fees swayed us to pick Makena and we were so glad we did! We loved the fact that it was at the quieter and more secluded part of the island. The grounds were beautiful, our room was very clean and ocean view was amazing, the breakfast buffet was absolutely wonderful, and the beach was awesome. Prior to our visit, I read some reviews that the pool was too small, but we found it to be just fine. We found the pool area to be very peaceful and relaxing. The only thing we weren't too impressed with was the service at the pool area and Tiki Bar...just a little slow...otherwise I really can't complaint about a thing. However, the service throughout the rest of the hotel was outstanding. We took advantage of a free snorkeling lesson at the pool, and the instructor, Brandon, was great! We snorkeled our last two mornings and wished we had taken it up sooner. The beach is fantastic for snorkeling. My husband took advantage of the $99 golf fee and I went along to take pictures. The golf course had many breathtaking views. Our time spent at Makena was very special and memorable. We celebrated my birthday during our stay and it made for a very special birthday..best one yet...and I have had many! We saved and planned for this vacation with the thought that this may be our one and only time to visit Hawaii...but by the time we got back to New Mexico we were already talking about a future visit. We hope to return one day and make more special memories. Thank you, Makena, for an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with a fourth floor ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonilla_makena, Public Relations Manager at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Aloha Lori, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Makena. Makena's rates with free breakfast buffet, waive resort fees and no parking fees are really some of the best rates on the island. We are glad that you found our pools to be more than adequate and we will be sure to forward the comments regarding service at the pool to our F&B department to ensure better experiences in the future. We are glad that you found the rest of the staff to be superior in providing service and hospitality. We hope that you were able to make some great memories snorkeling in front of the resort and playing golf at the Makena Golf Course. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our free snorkel lessons and great in-house golf rate. Happy to have help make such a memorable birthday at Makena and hope that we will be able to share more birthdays with you in the future. Warmest Aloha on behalf of the Makena Ohana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makena Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 5400 Makena Alanui, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly Maui Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Green Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located on Maui's southern coast, the family friendly beach front resort, formerly known as the Maui Prince, offers guestrooms and suites complete with private lanais and ocean views, tennis club, convenience to Wailea Golf, an inviting white sand beach and a aloha-spirited staff; it is the Maui vacation you have been waiting to have in luxury style beach resort. Makena Resort is a great value with no resort fee, no parking charges (valet or self) and complimentary Internet throughout the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Amex, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Makena Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Beach And Golf Resort
Makena Beach & Golf Hotel Makena
Prince Hotel Maui
Maui Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Wailea
Wailea Prince Hotel
Makena Beach & Golf Resort Wailea, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.