We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrival and Departure a Disaster” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Gold Canyon, AZ, United States
1 review
“Arrival and Departure a Disaster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Three failed attempts by concierges to pick me up at airport. On departure, bell hop held my one bag for 30 minutes and lost it! Super deluxe garden room lanai view was 30-40% blocked by the roof top of Amasia restaurant. Room interior, restaurants - all of them, Botero bar, Spa, and other staff members are all 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    867
    431
    251
    163
See reviews for
1,316
1,257
42
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Yes the rooms are a little tired, but it's still a great hotel. Having stayed at the Westin in Kanapali a few days earlier, made us really appreciate this place. The service is awesome. Everyone was very friendly and addressed us by name. The pool and beach only seemed overly crowded one day, Saturday. The other days Tuesday-Sunday it was not crowded at all. The pool is fun, even for adults with all of the water slides and swim up bar. There were never any kids in the adult pool, a problem we ran into at the Westin. Wailea has the nicest weather on the island and the nicest beach, so unless you want to pay $900/night for the Four Seasons, the Grand Wailea is the best thing going! Plus, the four seasons is small. The grounds were immaculate and beautiful, they provide you with chairs and an umbrella on the beach, plus unlimited towels with no annoying towel card. The restaurants are all pricy, but it's a 5 minute walk to the Wailea shops down the street with other options to eat. They give you a real lei when you check in too, unlike some other places that give you a cheap crappy shell necklace.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

What an excellent hotel, there is nothing you can fault about this hotel. We stayed 3 nights at the Grand and my kids were sad to leave. The pool facilities were excellent, with the highlight having to be the slides all around. The weather seemed to be better at Wailea than other parts of Maui. The only negative i could say is if you have friends or family at other resorts, they can not use the pool unless you are prepared to pay, the cost was minimum $95 per person.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Truly paradise. Wedding planner Ashley arranged it all and it was so awesome, romantic, stunning beach wedding. Spa staff outstanding, my entire bridal party was transformed and pampered. The sunset cabana dinner is not to be missed! Incredible room, beach awesome, close to shopping, tennis, golf and restaurants.
M

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Having a membership at this hotel is worthless now. Black out dates, mandatory valet parking is s rip off, rude guests smoking at the beach. Don't go on spring break or any other mass vacation times! Too crowded, can't get a chair at the beach unless you are up at crack of dawn! Not enough beach chairs for guests, chairs are on top of others who are rudely smoking in your face, despite request to put out their poison! Time to sell my membership at this once magical place that feels like Disneyland now. Overpriced for everything!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This used to be my most favorite hotel in the world with my kids. The grounds were pristine, and the workers were warm and friendly years ago. This hotel used to draw celebrities, and it was obvious why. It had a very classy luxurious atmosphere. Now with the huge increase in rooms, the pool area is a ridiculous mess. Old Lounge chairs are side by side in endless rows, with hardly any room to walk. The number of people that the hotel can accommodate grossly overloads the pool area. Everywhere I went in the pool, I am bumping into people because it's so crowded. The tiles on the pool are coming off everywhere and is in severe need of cleaning and re-tiling. My kids thought it was fun to pick up the pretty blue tiles off the pool floor. The once spectacular landscaping is neglected. Not far from the chapel, between the pool and the ocean is a newly installed giant hamster ball. This place has just become a weird mix of luxury and trash. Unfortunately, we will not return. Even my 3 kids don't want to return. They said, it was fun, but it's too crowded and the people aren't nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This property is stunning - a bit overwhelming at times (size wise) but overall beautiful and memorable. Our kids love the myriad of pool slides, rivers and poolside amusements. The room we had was lovely. Everything is expensive, which is to be expected, but the resort fee, valet parking and poolside cabana ($450 per day!) charges seemed over the top to me. We were there Easter week and the pool was packed. I hated the stress of feeling that I had to run to the pool to claim chairs at 6am or be out of luck for the day. The pool staff did a lousy job of enforcing the 'you cannot hold a chair more than an hour' rules...every day the same people would go out at the crack of dawn and take the best chairs by throwing a towel, magazine or coffee cup on them...and then not show up for ages. It drove me crazy so I ended up paying $450 a day for a cabana - a lot of money to pay to secure a comfortable place for my family on top of the expensive room rates. We ate at two of the restaurants and food the food to be just OK. Overall, the service staff was very helpful, friendly and attentive. The beach and views are wonderful. The "vibe" in the lobby with nightly music was great. It's a very nice spot and we hope to return during a less crowded time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Family Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.