We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, massive resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, massive resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Grand Wailea is beautiful and well kept. The rooms are nice, large, and clean. The beach was beautiful, clean, perfect for families with small children. The resort offers beach chairs and umbrellas which is a bonus. The little deli/store is convenient and pricey. Cute little shopping stores. The property is massive. Plan on lots of walking to and from the beach.
We visited at Christmas time so the entire resort was decorated for the holiday which was beautiful. The restaurants are very pricey, especially with kids. We found a few places up the road which were perfect and reasonable.
We could see the whales right from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,630
    765
    386
    223
    151
See reviews for
1172
1109
36
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Another great stay at the Grand Wailea!, This property is very large and impressive. Beautiful kept grounds, great staff, incredible pools, beach front with chair and umbrella service. Although this is a very pricy resort, rooms, food, drinks, tipping, we have loved our visits here.

Cons-The valet is 30$ a day and 25$ a day resort fee, so your vacation adds up quickly.

The rooms are in need of some upgrading, our room this time was nicer and sunny, last year our room was closer to the pools but a bit run down looking with shabby looking carpet, scratched furniture and it was dark. Which did surprise me for such a pricy resort. The internet was not very good this year either, spotty connection and quite slow.

I found they were also not great with watching for those people that take the best pool chairs in the morning and then don't come back for hours, which was annoying.

Overall though we love this place and will definitely go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my second time there, and it continues to be a spectacular, beautiful and well-managed resort. Grounds are meticulously groomed, restaurants are top-notch, beach is pristine, and the Japanese spa is unlike any other spa experience I've had. Take your time experiencing all the various baths, then get literally scrubbed-down before your massage! If you want a one-in-a-lifetime romantic experience (honeymoon, wedding, anniversary, etc), this is one of those places to keep on your list of possibilities. Not to mention, of course, the wonderful fun-filled island of Maui where this resort is located!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester county
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

GW is a big place with many wings and a zillion rooms. Meeting space is extensive and available in all sizes.

Strengths- It almost never rains in Wailea, so vacations are about as safe as can be found. Big place.Nice restaurant (Amasia) and OK restaurant (opakapakakaka). Grand architecture. Great pool for kids. Nice but small beach. Near other good hotels.

Weaknesses- Big place. One can be far from the action in this big resort. Rooms need some upgrading.

Al in all, its not cheap, but a terrific value if you are burning Hilton points

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was our first time to this beautiful hotel I cannot speak more higher ,but just to say it was magical the beach ,the rooms the facilities it's gardens .the only thing I would say that as it's room only everything else is extra, and bills do add up!!! They charge a daily resort fee per room which is $21 and if you want to use the cabanas at the beach they also are extra fee so beware of this bt other than that we can't complain my husband had a conference there and we did have some time together too which was really nice . And to top it all we did have an ocean view room and we also saw the whales from the sea most days jumping out of the water amazing

Room Tip: The higher the better and chose an ocean view great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We attended a meeting here, without kids. The hotel is tired and showing its age. The staff were generally very good but it was hard to get service at both the pool and main bar. After diner Irish coffee order was met with "we don"t have coffee" after waiting for a server for 10 mins, I went to the bar to order. We handled our own bags but were still charged for porter service, $20. You pay 25$ resort fee,$25 valet parking, $3 housekeeping fees and have to wait to get your wrist band so you can spend the next 30 mins trying to find a place to sit by the pool. Get up early and stake your claim because if you don't, you cannot find a decent place to sit around the pool and spend $18 for a Mai Tai. Great place if you like crowds, lineups, obscene food and drink prices and paying double for what the accomodations are worth. Beautiful location, great climate but when I spend 5 - 600 per niight, I expect much more than they deliver. The internet service was awful, the free service you get is included in the "resort" fee. If you want to upgrade for another $15 - $25 you have to do it for each device. We had 2 ipads 2 cell phones and a laptop. I have never written a review before and the fact I feel compelled to write this is telling.
Give one inclusive price, decent internet service and address the crowding issues at the pool and update the property and you would meed the brand reputation we all expect.

Room Tip: Dont waste you money on an upgraded room, it is not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Mahalo for sharing your comments on your personal experience at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. As a luxury resort, we strive to provide quality and varied amenities and experiences for our guests. It is just as important that we provide value and that we deliver at a level of what is expected of our guests. With many options in the resort, we are delighted that you have chosen to experience our activities, restaurants or shops. Please know that your concerns are heard, and feel free to call me personally to speak in more detail at 808 874 2426. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Let me start by saying my husband and I are a young couple who are fortunate enough to do a lot of traveling. So this is not our first vacation! We had a much more pleasant experience than other reviewers here.

I was there for a conference and our rooms rates were great because of that (less than $300/night). I liked the resort, but would NEVER pay full price to stay here. Just not worth it.

We spent 2 days at the pool and didn't have trouble getting chairs. And we certainly didn't get up before sunrise to do so. We went there around 12 one day and 8:30 on the other, and got chairs at the hibiscus pool.

We ate at 3 restaurants and had delicious food at all of them.

Service was also good everywhere. No bad experiences with check in etc like others have had.

We had an awesome time there but as I mentioned, I would not stay here if paying full price!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Business Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.