We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting even Grander” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kihei, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Getting even Grander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We've lived in South Maui for 10 years and have had countless family and friends visit us since. Although we have room at our house for guests, we insist that they spend at least a few days at The Grand Wailea. Yes, the grounds, rooms, and pools are second-to-none, but it's the employees that make a visit to this magnificent resort special. Our most recent visit was with family -- including my mother-in-law who has terminal cancer. The care, concern, and hospitality the entire staff gave her was absolutely heart warming. Thank you so much once again.

Room Tip: We've stayed in several rooms, and never had a complaint about any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,975
    922
    470
    267
    176
See reviews for
1,425
1,333
50
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is is very ornate with exquisite decor - in excellent taste!
Spectacular view from room - front and center located on top floor with panoramic ocean view!
Property location right on a great family friendly beach with snorkeling.
The pool is amazing complete with nine slides, swinging rope, volleyball net, sandy beach pool, swim up pool bar, jacuzzies galore, lagoon to float around the entire acres of pool, and an ELEVATOR!!! FUN FOR EVERY AGE!!!
The grounds are immaculate and beautifully cared for.
The Spa Grande is AMAZING!!! The baths representing the different islands with their special island blends was wonderful.
Staff friendly and professional.
A bit pricey for the daily parking rate, but no other option if you have a car.
Would stay again next time in Maui!!!

Room Tip: Top Floors Front and Center Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is fantastic, especially if you have kids. Many different areas for pools, slides, play areas, etc. Even though there were tons of kids there, our room was quiet. We had a garden view room in building 4, but from our lanai, we had an amazing view of the ocean. The hotel is valet parking only. Restaurant food is great, beach is awesome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

the staff is kind and friendly, the rooms are beautiful and super clean, they have free bicycles, lots of classes to participate in, the grounds are gorgeous, the restaurants were really yummy, this hotel was a dream vacation in every way.

Room Tip: You may want to stop at Costco, it is very expensive to eat and drink 3 meals a day here otherwise e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

A wonderful relaxing island experience with all the frills. Down side, Did not provide self park option. nickled and dimed with a $30 valet service per day. Should provide self park option, free valet, or simply build parking fee into room rate not as an add on. left bad taste of experience at the end. Not clearly specified. Dave's dive shop very helpful and great people. Except when it came to providing further Junior diving classifications/certification. Spent over $1000 in dive experience for son then they would not sign off on dive adventures even though diver log was presented on the first day for their review and to update. They get a little overwhelmed by numbers of divers and forget to further the young divers qualifications. Dive masters should respect the ocean life more. " it appears to be an attempt to gain higher tips by poking and handling marine life a bit much for comfort . "Observe not disturb" is what i teach

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The grounds are very lush, stunning and very well kept. The beach is great and the chairs and umbrellas are complimentary.The staff is very friendly and polite. The guest rooms are dated, but would have been fab in their day. We at at bbbb, the service was great but the food was terrible, I do not recommend.
Very family friendly, with kiddie pools and slides for children.
Overall our stay was pleasant, but I most likely would not go back, as I enjoy more modern amenities, and less kids. (which is easy to find at the rates you will pay)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay with us at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. We strive to offer every guest a genuine Waldorf Astoria luxury experience, and we will use your comments to ensure that our processes are in place to achieve that. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and ask that you call me personally to speak in more detail at 808 874 2426. I hope to impress upon you our sincerest care for your comfort. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Amazing pools. Main reason to come here, plus the beach is perfect. Waves Not to rough, not too weak.
Off season so rates were lower but pools still very crowded, I would never want to stay during peak season.
Valet sucks- tbey scratched up our rental pretty bad

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#6 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.