We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed during this stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Spring, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed during this stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are frequent visitors to the Grand Wailea and love our trips there. We were disappointed in this trip due to several reasons. Construction was being done at the front of the resort when we checked in. Then about 5 days into our stay they started emptying out the main lobby fountains and jackhammering the tiles out. The entire ambience of the hotel was gone and we didn't find it too relaxing. One thing is we would have expected to have been given a heads up they were doing the work. I guess they decided to disrupt people's holidays and ask for forgiveness instead of being upfront about it. We also had a bit of an issue with our cabana rental - which was resolved but basically we had requested certain cabanas - months in advance - told we had a certain cabana but upon check in and after getting situated they tried to move us to a cabana at the back of the pool to accommodate a c-list star and some of their friends. Their first stay at the resort - our 8th time visiting. I guess it doesn't pay to be a loyal guest. We left 5 days early and went back to Honolulu to stay at Aulani Disney Resort. The kids love the pool at the Grand Wailea and the staff at the Kids Camp is amazing. We do love it there - but after this last visit we are not sure if we will go back. We may try the Four Seasons next door.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are sorry to have disappointed you regarding the construction and saddened to read that you left early. We did not anticipate having the repairs take place during this time. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We'd really love to have you return one day and give us another chance to provide you with outstanding Waldorf Astoria service.

Again, we are sorry we let you down and disappointed you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,820
    861
    428
    250
    163
See reviews for
1,309
1,249
42
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Maui is paradise! It is by far the best vacation spot. December 2012 was our fourth trip to the beautiful island of Maui. We have stayed at multiple resorts. We prefer the Wailea area and for our hotel, The Grand Wailea is the new winner!

We stayed here using my wife's years of Hilton Honors points (LOTS of points!). The front desk immediately recognized us as Hilton Honors members and thanked us for using our hard earned points at their property. We were than surprisingly upgraded to one of their suites - it was perfect!

The property is HUGE and if something more boutique is your taste - than Hotel Wailea or Four Seasons is my recommendation. However - if you looking for FUN, FAMILY-FRIENDLY and LUXURY - The Grand Wailea has the full package.

FUN - Best pools among all Maui properties. The slides - the Tarzan swing - it was almost like a mini water park.

SPA - My wife still brags to all her friends about the spa. Voted among the best in the U.S. - its a MUST experience.

FOOD - We did try Amasia (Alan Wong's spot). It was obvious that the outlet was still new - but very promising.

SERVICE - Top notch. Great front desk staff - housekeeping - concierge - and valet team.

Since it was our fourth trip to Maui - along with highly recommending Grand Wailea - here is a list of our favorite restaurants:

Capishe - Best choice for Italian & Any of the restaurants at Four Seasons.

----

We do Maui every two years and will be back next Winter. Without a doubt Grand Wailea is our pick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
WOW! Thank you very much for the great review. We are honored to be your new winner and delighted to read that you will be back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
draper, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

the pool and water slides were great for the kids. the beach right next to the pool was also amazing. only issue was the cost of the food...too high. the deal for us was the free breakfast buffet with our stay, which saved a lot of money of food expenses. look for the free benefits offered by the hotel as it definitely makes a huge difference in the cost of staying at the resort, especially if you have kids that love the pool and ocean and just want to stay at the grounds

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My Family and I just return home from a week short vacation at the Grand Wailea. We loved it!!! My husband and I stayed in Nov. 2012 and started planning immediately after for our whole family to visit. We stayed in two rooms in the Napua Tower, one the my husband and I, the other for our 4 girls (19,19,16,14) You see the reason forM two rooms. lol. The rooms are spacious, beautiful, clean, with beautiful view. The kids loved the beach and all the activities paddle boarding, kayaking, Snorkeling, sunbathing. We bought the unlimited beach gear for the week $99. The swim up bar is a blast...shout out to our bartender Richie and Wayne! We can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha,

thanks for the great review! I am glad that your whole family found something that they loved about their stay. We really do have something for everyone!

Richie was tickled to be mentioned in a Trip Advisor review. You really made his day. We hope you will come back and see him and Wayne again one day. The are truely the best bartenders we have! We are very lucky to have them!

Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I spent ten days at this property. The entire time we were there we were constantly saying, "The kids would just love this". As a result, we decided to return the next summer...this time with our 13 year old son and 15 year old daughter. We stayed for ten days again, and it was every bit as wonderful as the year before. Each time we left the property in our car, our valet placed ice cold water in the cup holders, and our kids were amazed at this level of service! The water slides, the "blob" float, scuba lessons, paddle boarding, snorkeling, running each morning on the path along the ocean...it was a perfect family vacation, and yes, we can't wait to do it again! Waldorf does it right. The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are spacious, and best of all, the staff was friendly, and their service? It was perfection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thanks for the thoughtful review. Your kind compliments regarding service and staff, particularly the valet team is very much appreciated. We hope to see you and your family here again one day!

Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having spent a wonderful week in Kauai, prior to going to Maui, we had high expectations for the Grand Wailea. We were unpleasantly surprised at how poor our experience was. The valet charged $30 a day, and expected tips every chance they got, and if you failed to tip them, they had bad attitudes (not to mention having to wait atleast 30 minutes for your car). The front desk clerk we had, was rude and unhelpful. We had to wait in a 20 person deep line for wrist bands to use the pool, then another 20 person line to sign up for a beach chair, at which point we were then placed on a waiting list for a beach chair - which was unfortunate, because once you actually got a beach chair, you were on a crowded beach, on top of neighboring guests and could barely see the water. On top of these things, the resort was overrun by families, and children taking over the pool - and it was next to impossible to get a chair at the adult pool, unless you showed up at 7 am (which didnt help, because you had to wait in line to get a towel before you could hold a chair).

After walking to the Four Seasons for a drink, we were in awe at how wonderful their service was and how personal of an experience we had and instantly regretted our decision to stay at the grand wailea. I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend it. Very disappointing honeymoon experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. We regret that you were disappointed and we are very sorry for the service you received. There is no excuse for rude service and we are looking into how we are being perceived. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as this allows us an opportunity to address these cncerns.

Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and hope that you will give us another chance to show you how we've improved.

Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely looking resort with great beach location, Food, service very good. We had a beach view double room which was very spacious with great views. Pools very crowded with Kids but luckily there is an adult only pool. Drinks expensive

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.