We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Wailea
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Relaxing, beautiful, breath taking. This is a must see location with great service and a wonderful spa! Golf course beautiful but pricey. Restaurants offer good variety and exceptional quality. A beautiful walking path along the beach area that was good for walking, jogging or sitting on a bench and enjoying the view. Just far enough from the action to make it a perfect vacation for a couple or a family. Staff willing to direct us to the lesser know, but beautiful, and uncrowded spots to visit. Do not miss a sunset cruise!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,628
    765
    385
    223
    151
See reviews for
1170
1109
36
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

An excellent place for family vacation. All the amenities. wonderful beachfront, and good choice of restaurants. The pool is fantastic. The property is exquisite to look at and palatial!!!

Only challenge is the price. Best option is to get a cabana by the pool for best pool and beach views and best service. That said, you pay for it.

The restaurants are market rates (expensive because you are in Hawaii), and the hotel is situated right by a mall, so good for shopping too.

The gym is pretty good, and even tried a spin class which left me and my wife drenched!!!

Rooms are top notch. staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Incredible service, property is stunning.. golf course nearby..pools and the grounds are immaculate, friendly staff and service ..so beautiful words do not do it justice would highly recommend if visiting maui

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I just returned from 4 nights at the Grand Wailea. This is the fifth time I have stayed at the hotel. I am also a GW Member which helps on the room rates and other services at the hotel. I have been to a number of other resorts but I keep coming back here.

Many of the other reviews have said it but I will say it as well - the grounds are immaculate. The rooms are very nice. I had a deluxe ocean view room and spent a very relaxing amount of time on my balcony looking at the ocean and the beautiful courtyard below.

The service I experienced was outstanding from making the reservation to checking in, the spa, the restaurant, everyone I encountered went above and beyond what I expected. The breakfast buffet is tremendous. The food was very good, service was excellent and the view was fantastic.

I couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable stay. I walked next door to the Four Seasons and it was very nice but I can't envision what they could do to better the experience I had at the Grand Wailea. For what I am looking for in terms of the value I receive for my money there really is nowhere else I would rather go. I look forward to my next stay at the GW.

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view rooms are worth the extra money if you plan to spend any time in your room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the very nice review and we are looking forward to providing you that same service again soon!

A hui hou and mahalo nui loa for the compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

So many reviews, I don't have too much to add, but let me give you some background...

Probably my tenth or so visit to GW in last fifteen years, so I have noticed a number of changes over the years. I am HH DIamond and an Elite resort member.

Last time I stayed was about three years ago and they were shooting a movie which made the hotel miserable for myself and it seemed almost every other guest staying there who wasn't part of the production. For that reason, I stayed away until now and decided to give GW another chance.

Stayed in Napua tower and booked Napua room. Note that you will not likely (never?) get an upgrade from a Napua room - they won't give out the suites, just FYI.

This past week was relatively quiet for GW evidenced by lower room rates than usual and a little quiter - somewhat offset by all the maintenance work they were doing (i.e. number of elevators out of service for maintenance made for excruciating waits!).

Napua Tower
All rooms have ocean view from the side, further along towards the front, the better the view. Had a room close to lounge which was convenient.
Breakfast had decent spread - hot food was hit and miss, likely depending on how long it was sitting out. They have switched to a cheaper coffee in the hotel - Island Paradise from Starbucks, wasn't very good.

Afternoon service with cocktails was great with fantastic service, a bit of hot food, and lots of other things to choose from. Note to other guests - just because they don't have a tip jar at the bar doesn't mean you shouldn't recognize amazing service they provide!!

Room
I believe the amenities are slightly upgraded in tower - same as what is sold in Spa Grande - note however they have changed suppliers. The new ones are made in China and not the same quality as previously, but still quite nice.
Like many hotels, they have removed the mini bar but left the fridge, they have also removed all the excess for sale sun tan lotions etc.
For some weird reason, they give you two bottles of water for your entire stay, not a big deal in the lounge, but cheap for a five star hotel.
This room was fine, but clearly the hotel needs some TLC and maintenance. We had an issue that resulted in the bathroom being flooded the second day.
Maintenance left a note assuring us it had been fixed - it hadn't, recurred two days later, and was obvious to anyone this wasn't fixed.
Housekeeping - first full day there, left the room early in the morning, and returned after 2 p.m. to find our room had not been serviced. Called housekeeping and was told staff are only onsite until 4 p.m., so they could clean our room at 3, or leave it until tomorrow - unacceptable. We planned to have a nap before dinner etc., but instead spent an hour and some $ at the bar waiting.
I was told we should specify what time we wanted our room cleaned, but to be given a one hour window is a bit crazy. We asked for a.m. for rest of stay and was never an issue again.
Had people smoking below us - called security several times, not sure what was done, but eventually stopped (can't fault the hotel).

Grounds/Pool
Not much to add, chairs on the beach with umbrellas free but hard to come by, chairs at pool hard to come by, no enforcement at all of 1 hr rule at pool, no staff, closed Hibiscus pool deck to get towels, so long wait and trek down to kids pool - more staff cuts I presume.

Grounds are gorgeous as already stated.

Luau
I have been to several and this was the best I have ever been to, great show, reasonable price, premium seating was worth it. Food was decent for buffet style, drinks from bar were fine, wine was drinkable.

Restaurants
Only ate at Amasia (formerly Kincha), and sat at Sushi bar, love the space which they left almost the same. Food was good and fresh, not amazing, one of the "chefs" clearly wasn't sure how to make anything and was new having come from fast food recently, strange to have him behind the sushi bar!
Had drinks at Humu, no other food there.

Spa
Spa remains in great shape, great treatment with massage, highly recommend. Can save a few $$ by using SpaFinder gift cards from any Costco.
They couldn't sort out my bill, so after several tries, and noticing it still hadn't been corrected upon checkout, had to go see Spa manager.

Valet
Excellent service, ask for beach towels, always put water in the car.

In summary:
Staff were excellent throughout resort with the exception of the MOD Aaron. When I was upset second day with flooding, other issues, he offered no apology, in fact, seemed rather disinterested and annoyed. Other manager Shane took fair steps to rectify and compensate.

As a Diamond, received a 20% off one time coupon for Spa (receive 20% off as elite member anyways), $40 off a meal at resort, and two free drinks during Happy Hour at Humhumu.

If they can start to invest in some of the maintenance issues, I think they will continue to improve over time. For me, the overall feeling is not a five star resort - little things like the nickel and diming, the switch to Chinese amenities, the cheesy plastic pineapples for drinks when they used to use real ones make it hard for me to compare to a St. Regis, or other top tier brands, including other WA properties.

Room Tip: Be aware of where you are booking, nothing is truly ocean front, ocean view usually means partial, N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel for any person, any occasion. This hotel has a beautiful entrance to the valet/front desk reception area. Nice waterfalls off to the right when you drive in. Lots of giant sculptures, arts, and unique shops throughout the hotel. Friendly staff and excellent service. Hotel has a huge pool with slides, bungee swing, volleyball net, man made beach, kiddie pool, Jacuzzis, diving lessons, and an under water bar you can swim up to and order cocktails charged to your room. Seating is available at the bar. The whole pool is about 4'6" deep throughout, except for the diving lesson pool which is much deeper.
Getting tired of the pool and wanna ride some waves? The beach is only steps away at the bottom of the pool area. They have an activity desk where you can rent snorkel gear, stand up paddle boards, kayaks, boogie boards, surfboards, tube floats, and also receive basic instructions from the many workers on duty. Great thing is that everything can be charged to the room so you don't need to bring cash.
The grand wailea resort is ranked #3 for the best landscaped hotel in the world!
Free wifi is available throughout the hotel as well!
They have an excellent restaurant between the hotel and pool area called "humu'humu'nuku'nuku'apua'a". It's named after the hawaii state fish (a trigger fish). Expensive, but good atmosphere and very tasty food. Well worth the price!
The hotel has a spa that has great reviews, racket ball room, and a fitness center.
The room I had included a glass stand up shower, a bath tub with jacuzzi, bathrobes, phone in the toilet room, flat screen tv, safe, coffee/tea maker, and a small refrigerator.
It's a walking distance to the "shops at wailea" where they have gucci, Louis vuitton, bottega vendetta, tommy bahama, tiffany's, etc.
They also have restaurants. Tommy Bahamas, luigi's, and Ruth' s Chris steakhouse.
Enjoy your stay on Maui!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was traveling here for business and staying 4 nights. A quick Internet search turned up that this was the best resort in Maui.
After the first day I found my way around the many arms of the hotel and around the pool and the beach.
There is so much floral and plants and waterfalls that the design has taken decades to grow to how it is so beautiful.
The bathroom was very high class with marble everywhere and great lighting. a glass walled shower, a bathtub.
my room was on the first floor and i had 2 chairs where there would have been a terrace.
If you can find this place for $460. like i did when i checked the price to stay on I would recommend.
The room service was expensive but it is Hawaii.
The breakfast had local pineapple and local other fruit. Really this has got to be the best breakfast I've ever had at any hotel.
The open air windows everywhere in this hotel shows it is paradise.
I did get to swim in the pool a little and lounge on a chair in the sun. I would love to come back with my fiance.
I was here at an off time but there were families here in March as well as couples.
Actually I never went off the property while I was in on the island.
It's about a 40-50 minute ride from the airport depending upon traffic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Business Hotel in Wailea
#6 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.