We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property and Grounds BUT!!>>>...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Property and Grounds BUT!!>>>...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had just come from a week in Kauai at the Grand Hyatt. The Grand Hyatt has been completely renovated within the past two years and it shows. When we got to the Grand Wailea we loved the grounds. They are beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are another story. They are tired and small especially for the money. They need to be redone ASAP to compete with the surrounding properties. There are definitely choices within walking distance. The Four Seasons and The Fairmont. The property was very crowded and because of that the service was lacking. They should be able to handle this. It was spring break so they knew they would be full. On a positive note the pool setup for kids is amazing. 6 levels of pools all connected by slides. There is even a water elevator(worlds only one I think). Our kids were in heaven. There is a huge problem with the pool chairs though. There are not enough chairs. If you are not in line to get some chairs at about 6:30 am you will not get ANY! This is not our idea of a vacation. There were even some scuffles that we saw for chairs right near the rope swing. My kids don't need to see that. Who needs that?!!? This is Hawaii and all should be relaxed. We wanted to support the on property restaurants and we tried them all. Bistro Molokini we would not return to. We ordered a couple of appetizers and four mains. Our Apps never showed up at all and our waiter never checked on our table once or said a word when our entrees arrived. All he did was bring us our bill and of course our apps were on the bill. When we said we never got our appetizers he said "Oh you didn't? I will just take them off the bill then" Gee thanks! No apology no offer of anything. They need to change their hospitality training model. We also ate at Amasia which is an Alan Wong restaurant. He has a flagship restaurant in Honolulu that is amazing. If he knew what was sent out from his kitchen here he would not be pleased. There must have not been an expeditor(hmm... have I worked in the industry?) this evening. The first thing we ordered was a surf and turf maki roll which was $27.00. The price would have been just fine if the dish was executed properly. It was supposed to contain some frites as part of the maki. When we got the dish my wife and I independent of each other could not bite into the roll. The frites that were in the roll must have been a week old they were completely petrified. My wife literally said I think there are bones in this roll. The waiter took it back to the kitchen and the chef on duty(definitely not Wong this evening) actually threw a fit that his staff sent out the dish or so we were told by the manager...expeditor please! We live in Chicago and we have amazing restaurants and a great restaurant culture, here if something goes wrong it is always taken care of or at least addressed. Not so much here. A bit of a disappointment to say the least. On our last night in Maui we had decided to eat at Humuhumunukunukuapua'a in celebration of my sons 10th birthday. We had booked our reservation months in advance. We had met another family and wanted to change our reservation so we could eat with them. We inquired about this change and were told that they were fully committed. We kept checking back and were told the same. On the day of our reservation our friend constantly called about the prospect of joining us and spoke to Maria, the hostess. Even up to 20 minutes before our reservation she was told the same. When we got to the restaurant for our reservation it WAS LITERALLY HALF EMPTY. Made no sense. You are not creating demand by saying that you are fully committed when you are not you are missing out on revenue. I spoke to the manager Anthony when were leaving. He said they had some no shows. Cmon half of your restaurant. At 6:40 when our friends called they could have definitely accommodated them. He actually agreed with us. There are SO many choices again in walking distance from the hotel like Duo's, Ferraro's and Spago which are all at the Four Seasons and also Ko and Nick's fish market at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Monkey Pod is a good spot and the shops at Wailea also have restaurants. On another note Shane one of the guest services manager was great. Our original room kept getting cigarette smoke through our air vent. We thought it is illegal to smoke in rooms. They sent up security and he confirmed that it was indeed smoke and would tell Shane. It ended up being the guy in the room above us. Shane was able to move our room the next day which was great. We are also Diamond with Hilton and high speed internet is a global benefit of being Diamond. The front desk told us that at the Grand Wailea that is not the case. If so they need to voice that loss of benefit on the Diamond page. It still reflects high speed internet being a global Diamond benefit.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,824
    867
    431
    251
    163
See reviews for
1,315
1,256
42
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A family trip with many happy memories! This is our third stay at the Grand Wailea but with different family members this time. Our vacation was from April 3rd to April 10th. We had requested early check-in, but the hotel was unable to accommodate due to their high occupancy rate. Instead, they were able to give us adjoining rooms, which made the cousins happy to be close to each other during the week. The warm and friendly aloha spirit was felt throughout the hotel from valet, Liz at the Front Desk, Theresa from Housekeeping, Paige from the Executive Office and the staff at the pool/cabana counters. With all the pool amenities and beautiful beach access, the family did not want to or need to leave the resort the entire trip. An additional perk staying at the resort was the chair set-up service on the beach. Besides bringing a towel and snacks, I was hands-free. Tip to future travelers: place your name on the waiting list and they will call your cell phone when your chairs are ready. My longest wait time for the week was 15 minutes. While I waited, I strolled the beautiful, tropical grounds or sat on the beach and enjoyed the magnificent beach views. Time flies by when your not looking at your watch. The gym facility was another bonus with many different workout equipment. It was not crowded and offered fruits and cold towels...even working out in the gym felt like paradise! All in all, it was a relaxing trip. The 3 kids aged 15, 13 and 12 did not want to go home. They all, including the adults, are looking forward to the next grand vacation at the Grand Wailea! Mahalo....M. Nguyen

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 8th floor. It was a quiet building with a gorgeous view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This property is in serious need of updating. They sell themselves as luxurious and exclusive but it is just old. Good location and great promise but they need to renovate. The pools were overcrowded and not relaxing at all (even the adult pool). The service was great everywhere but humuhumunukunukuapua's. That place was old looking and the bar tenders and hostess were rude.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Wialea. We are sorry that we disappointed you. We do appreicate the feedback on the service and I'd like to assure you that these reviews help us to recognize areas on which we can and will improve upon. There is never any excuse for our staff to be rude to our guests and we are sorry that this was your expereince. We'd be honored if you returned and gave us another chance to show you True Waldorf Astoria service.

Warmest aloha,

Grand Wailea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broomfield,co
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

When you pay $550 + per night for a standard room you expect luxury 5 star. The hotel was fully booked the week we stayed (March 26-April2nd) yet they were selling day passes to people not staying at the hotel as if they were booking a trip to a water park for the day. Finding a chair was ridiculous. Expect to get in line by 6:30 AM and then if you leave to go grab a bit to eat someone will take your chair. Definitely not relaxing.

To make matters worse, Haley Berry was at the hotel one day so paparazzi were everywhere and regular guests were being hassled if they got too close or took a picture. She was not even staying at the hotel (again day pass) but for those staying there we were treated like 2nd class citizens.

They will offer people not staying at the hotel free valet when you come to the pool or a restaurant but if you are staying at the hotel you will be charged $30 daily.

The really do seem to care more about bringing in people not staying at the hotel then taking care of the guests that are.

The food at the restaurants was really bad (except the breakfast buffet). We did the chef tasting at the Bistro Molokai and was literally inedible except for the 1st soup course. The waitress never came back to even check how our other courses were because I think she knew how bad it was. Super bland and I have never met a dessert I could not eat until this place. Bill was $480 for 9 of us and left hungry, sad. If you stay here walk up the road to MonkeyPod where the food is amazing.

Our room was small and cramped (not a $500 + night room) and our toilet ran constantly. Had to call maintenance 4 times.

Overall, felt like we WAY overpaid for terrible food and really crowded unrelaxing atmosphere. If you are looking at this place for the pool, stay at the 4 Seasons next door and get a day pass for the pool.

We are members and this was our 2nd trip. Last year (same time frame) was not like this. Seems like maybe it is under new management. We will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience at Bistro Molokini. We are taking your feedback into consideration as we work to continually improve our food and beverage offerings. We work hard to provide our guests with a singular Waldorf luxury experience in every aspect of their stays, and you help us to do just that by sharing your honest feedback with us. I hope you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent part of spring break here after hearing all about the water slides and pools for kids. We usually stay near Napili. The Grand Wailea is very impressive upon arrival and the service is warm and friendly. The pools and slides were definitely all that they were cracked up to be. Our kids could not get enough of them.

However, the rest of it is definitely not up to par. Our room felt old and very dated. Everything from the carpet to the tiles in the bathroom just seemed weathered and in desperate need of an update. The place is huge and certainly does not have a relaxing vibe. There was a big corporate convention going on during our stay. Instead of listening to the ocean on the lanai after the kids were in bed, we were treated to the noise of corporate party, with loud music and cheering . Overall, not worth the cost and certainly did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks on Maui and we spent our second week at the Grand Wailea. The resort is beautiful, tons of flowers and gardens, rooms was wonderful - maid, valet and restaurant service great. However lack of chairs at the pool and beach meant getting up at 6am to stand in line to fight for chairs - yes it was easter week - but this was crazy. We spent 1 day on the front lawn - ugh. There were more cabanas and reserved seating at the copst of $350 a day - wasn't willing to sheel out that type of money to sit. Front desk staff and pool staff were miserable - no smiles and no interest. Checking out - not even greeted, thanked or asked how my stay was - we'll never go back - not worth the money.

Room Tip: Just not worth the money - stay at the Ritz or Marriott and save yourself the headaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to consistently provide our guests extraordinary experiences in every facet of their stay, and we have reported your concerns to our team to ensure that this issue is appropriately reviewed. We hope you will give us a second chance to demonstrate our commitment to timeless luxury and unparalleled service the next time you are in Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We returned to Grand Wailea for my husbands 60th birthday..we had been here for our first trip 4 years ago, and as before, we ignored the negative reviews here on Tripadvisor and had a great time. We absolutely adore the hotel lobby and we spent almost all of our time either at the beach or the adult pool. It was crowed, but managable, We never had problems with beach chair availability, but we are early risers and we navigated the wrist bands at 7am. I did notice some wear and tear on the resort since our last visit, but nothing was a deal breaker to me. I keep thinking about the negative reviews about the 6inch tiles and I have to laugh! I think you can spot the people at the resort who would be upset in paradise about a 6 inch bathroom tile!!!! Anyway, to be helpful for those who are planning a trip here, here are some positives, neutrals, and negatives:
Positives -- the staff is wonderful. Treat them nicely, especially at check in and be glad that you are there...you will be surprised at how far some happiness and love go, even after 11 hours on an airplane. Spend time just enjoying the beautiful lobby..great place to get your East Coast time lag figured out. Don't complain about the 30.00 valet fee...that really bugged me at first, but the valet service was incredible. We got more great island information from the valet staff than we could have ever hoped for from the concierge. Glad to have a nice sized fridge in the room. Stop at Safeway on the way to the resort from the airport. Pick up some beers, breakfast staples, munchies, juice and fruit. Enjoy breakfast or lunch on your patio! The beds are outrageously comfortable. The rooms are really quiet.
Neutral: I remembered having higher end bath supplies and a really fine body lotion the last time we were there. This time they were okay, nothing great. The walls in the hotel room and bathroom could use a little touch up paint.
Negatives - I only have two, but one of them is really important to me. I don't know why this resort can't have a nice complimentary morning coffee area for the guests. I have stayed at all kinds of really beautiful properties, and it seems like compliementary morning java is a gracious offering. When I got up early here at the Grand Wailea, the front desk staff would get me a cup of coffee until the coffee shop opened. Once the coffee shop opened, the front desk stopped the service and said that you would have do go down and purchase coffee. Doesn't really make sense to be so stingy about coffee. Theres a coffee maker in your room, but sometimes you don't want to wake up your bunkmates. I solved this issue by just walking down the beach a ways and having my morning coffee from a little beach vendor. I just couldn't on principal purchase a cup of coffee at the Grand....and my little beach fellow made a really nice Cafe Latte. Good place to chat with other walkers and watch for whales. The only other negative was if you wanted to go to the beach later in the afternoon, it was difficult to find available chairs. There is beach staff there, but they were not helpful in this instance. Thank goodness my son was with me and he didn't mind waiting like a vulture for someone to leave their chairs! There was plenty of room to put up a few more chaise lounges.....perhaps purchasing a few more lounges and chairs would be a good idea.
Even with my negatives and neutrals, I would return to this resort again in a heartbeat. None of my negatives are deal breakers...just things that would be nice.
PS - the spa was wonderful!!!!! I did the water treatments alone a few times because I enjoyed them so much!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#5 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.